Former PWE Community Team Lead
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 9,046
# 1 Downloading Arc
07-16-2013, 12:00 PM
We are excited to announce the next testing phase for Arc, our incredible, easy-to-use platform that has been created for you! Read more for details.


Click here to read more.
Brandon "BranFlakes" Felczer | Former Community Team Lead for Perfect World Entertainment
Rihannsu
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,455
# 2
07-16-2013, 12:09 PM
For me? Really? Oh, you didn't have to... Especially since I don't want it...

I really hope this won't end up being yet another useless client that runs in the background in addition to running the game, resulting in more computer memory usage...

And what about Steam users? Will they have to use Steam client to run an Arc client to play the game...? Oh god forbids they use some kind of Raptr app on top of that as well...

*sigh*
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 998
# 3
07-16-2013, 12:10 PM
Will Arc be updated to be the client through Steam? I already play most PWE games through the STO client (show all games option), through Steam.
Hi, my name is: Elim Garak, Former Cardassian Oppressor

LTS, here since...when did this game launch again?
Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 320
# 4
07-16-2013, 12:10 PM
Arc is almost certainly coming now...
Well I can't forget a face but I won't remember y'all.
Bleed Green and Gold
Rihannsu
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 511
# 5
07-16-2013, 12:15 PM
Call me a noob. But can arc work on my Kindle Fire HD?

__________________________________________________ _______________
I like pie.
__________________________________________________ _______________
Career Officer
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 245
# 6
07-16-2013, 12:23 PM
"...starting this Thursday, July 18th, new players registering to play STO will be downloading the Arc client first before jumping in-game."

So they must download Arc first, before a new user can play STO? Correct?

From this forum thread(page two namely)....it's was optional.....I'm not holding Brandon's feet to the fire on this one, because things change, and he's just the messenger....

Now if the post from today(16 July 2013)reads as plainly as it appears - now new users must download Arc first.....

Step 1) Completely Optional
Step 2) Optional for everybody pre 18 July 2013

And what's the logical conclusion I wonder?*eyeroll*......All users must start using this?...Eventually?

Edit: The above made sense in my head.....train of thought kinda thing......
Edit 2: Also went back and read the first Arc thread people are confirming the above conclusion
Sound of Interstellar Space

Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe.

Last edited by thumpyecho; 07-16-2013 at 12:31 PM.
Career Officer
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 883
# 7
07-16-2013, 12:26 PM
Boo. I don't need any more bloatware on my PC.

Porthos is not amused.
Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 79
# 8
07-16-2013, 12:27 PM
I reject this move. I already have the desktop launcher client for patching my game (and neverwinter), why would I want or have to download a steam-ish client before I can play STO?

Players could already download it and play it via Steam. this is enough or many of us. I'm therefore against the Arc Client. Don't need it, don't like it, don't want it. I'll update and play STO from the desktop patcher/launcher that I've been using since 2012, thanks.
Lieutenant
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 85
# 9
07-16-2013, 12:28 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by collegepark2151 View Post
Boo. I don't need any more bloatware on my PC.
Agree, 1 more thing that could go wrong.
first impression, looks like steam client.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 523
# 10
07-16-2013, 12:30 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by suaveks View Post
For me? Really? Oh, you didn't have to... Especially since I don't want it...

I really hope this won't end up being yet another useless client that runs in the background in addition to running the game, resulting in more computer memory usage...

And what about Steam users? Will they have to use Steam client to run an Arc client to play the game...? Oh god forbids they use some kind of Raptr app on top of that as well...

*sigh*
"O hai, I heard you don't like launchers. So we put a launcher in your launcher, so you can run a launcher while you're running a launcher in a launcher in a launcher"

Sigh. Is this a contest, PWE? To see how much more out-of-touch you can get with your player base? WHO ARE YOU COMPETING AGAINST?!
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:16 AM.