Rihannsu
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 388
# 1 Optional Maps?
08-20-2013, 01:27 PM
I'm a fan of putting in optional things but is it possible to create separate maps that aren't part of the mission's objective like optional holodeck simulations?
Lieutenant
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 83
# 2
08-20-2013, 01:32 PM
Never been able to find it and i've seen it where there's been sequences of different maps (One time without loading) on at least one foundry mission. So to have it optional there could be a trigger put into the map for it. But that's all i've got.
Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 516
# 3
08-20-2013, 01:33 PM
The 'overt' answer is no, you cannot create optional maps


The more advanced answer is, sorta

By that I mean you can have a non objective item a player can interact with that will change aspect of your current map. This would be done via hidden>visible and visible>hidden state triggers. You would be able to (within the scope of the object limit) completely change the layout of a map based on this interaction.

The only thing is though, you would still need to be able to progress your main story no matter which map you are showing, so that is the limitation.
Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 516
# 4
08-20-2013, 01:35 PM
A good example of this sort of thing is some of what is dome in the spirits of ramok nor
Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,120
# 5
08-20-2013, 01:38 PM
It is not possible to have an actual map that is entirely optional, but...

... A trick some of the more experienced authors will ocassionally use it having multiple maps in one map. The way this works is you have all the assets for both maps on a single map. You start out with all the assets of the first map visible and the assets of the second map invivisible. When you get to the point that you want to transition, you seap it and make all the second map assets visible while making the first invisible. This can be taken further and two different maps on one map and control which becomes visible based on dialog/interaction choices.

If this sounds horribly complicated, it is. All the maps are basicly built on the same space and share the same resource limits. It also only works (for the most part) with custom maps.

@greendragoon
Rihannsu
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 10,664
# 6
08-20-2013, 03:35 PM
Also the double-map trick causes you to run into the object limit REALLY fast if you're not careful.
HAIL HYDRA!

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
I can haz joystick!
MMOs aren't charities. Corporations are supposed to make a profit. It's what they do.
Rihannsu
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 388
# 7
08-20-2013, 04:55 PM
Thanks for the answers guys, however all things said and done I'm just going to shelf that idea - I'm not one of the great Foundry authors so I'll stick to the basics
Rihannsu
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 10,664
# 8
08-20-2013, 07:46 PM
Maybe some day? I never tried building a complete custom interior until I did "The Beta Rana Incident". (currently down for repairs)
HAIL HYDRA!

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
I can haz joystick!
MMOs aren't charities. Corporations are supposed to make a profit. It's what they do.
Captain
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 985
# 9
08-23-2013, 03:15 PM
I Dabbled with this but so far only with a space map, as practice i found it simpler due to fewer objects

i couldnlt even consioder a ground map of the same type at the moment

During this Foundry Bonus Weekend, don't just choose the shortest missions, choose to play the best missions. Have more fun, get more marks!

List of great missions: http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/sh...d.php?t=286621
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:58 PM.