Ensign
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 26
# 531
08-30-2013, 04:30 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by tongi02 View Post
Nope I'm quite wired, but for some reason it always say that it needs to update the launcher then after it does it would stop in the middle of the launch after I click the engage button...But the tribble and CO account work normal, I can access them with no problem, soo I think the problem is on PW side....
I am still having the same problems and I also have tried everything I have found suggested on the forum - with no change. I also know it is not my connection (I am on a cable modem which works fine for my son's computer and has worked smoothly for a year and a half).

Could this be a problem with the identity validation software not thinking I am on the correct computer for some reason? The mobile app did happen to tell me to type in the validation code from the email within a day or so of this happening.

I have been out for about a week and am very anxious to get back to playing again! Crazy suggestions welcome, but keep in mind I have already tried spinning three times and barking at the moon to no avail.
Ensign
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 6
# 532 Launch Fails
09-03-2013, 06:29 PM
I have STO on a mac using wineskin, And the login works, and the patch works, but when I click "engage" the window disappears and nothing happens. I have let it sit there for hours, still nothing, I have restarted it, still nothing, could someone help me please!!!

Last edited by technocube0; 09-03-2013 at 06:32 PM.
Lieutenant
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 34
# 533
09-04-2013, 05:31 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by davehilander View Post
I am still having the same problems and I also have tried everything I have found suggested on the forum - with no change. I also know it is not my connection (I am on a cable modem which works fine for my son's computer and has worked smoothly for a year and a half).

Could this be a problem with the identity validation software not thinking I am on the correct computer for some reason? The mobile app did happen to tell me to type in the validation code from the email within a day or so of this happening.

I have been out for about a week and am very anxious to get back to playing again! Crazy suggestions welcome, but keep in mind I have already tried spinning three times and barking at the moon to no avail.
Four days ago, Support had sent me an E-Mail saying that my account was fixed and I WAS able to play my account that day. It was fix because they had to Map Move one of my avatars or something like that, but the next day I try to log in again the same problems popped up again...I've been sending tickets repeatedly since then and this time I'm not even getting a reply....what's going on now?
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 256
# 534
09-05-2013, 10:32 AM
Has the latest patcher been posted yet? I cant get mine to even start patching, why is it after every update there is a major problem of some kind?
Commander
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 303
# 535
09-05-2013, 02:19 PM
This is a recurring problem for some users, but I guess it's just not enough users for Cryptic to care enough to fix it.

It happens about every 2nd or 3rd time there's an update, for me. Sometimes it just fixes itself after a day or two, sometimes I have to download the .exe to fix it.

Just speculating: I guess it's a function of the way Cryptic use more servers than normal for MMOs, for various functions. This has the advantage that Cryptic games do launch and play very smoothly in terms of input feedback when you have a good, fast connection (as I have had in the past), but it's very unforgiving if you haven't got a good conn (as I have now). I've always found this with Cryptic games as compared to others.

e.g. using the same fairly weak conn, I've never had the slightest bit of trouble with either GW2 or TSW launchers, but always these recurrent problems with CO, STO and NWN. OTOH, once in, TSW doesn't play nearly as smoothly as any of the Cryptic games, input and feedback is very sluggish in comparison. GW2 is a masterpiece on many levels (though not of course all) so I guess it doesn't count

Last edited by gurugeorge; 09-05-2013 at 02:24 PM.
Ensign
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 6
# 536 Same
09-05-2013, 02:35 PM
still having troubles with launching the game, the engage button does nothing but close the window! HELP!!!!!!
Commander
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 303
# 537
09-05-2013, 03:37 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by technocube0 View Post
still having troubles with launching the game, the engage button does nothing but close the window! HELP!!!!!!
Dude, at least you get to "Engage", most of us in this thread aren't even that lucky
Rihannsu
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 227
# 538
09-09-2013, 04:22 PM
Used the "updated" launcher but still stuck at "patching" /sigh this game
DAY 5: Finally the problem is solved, no more "server not responding"!
"The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few"
Ensign
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 28
LATEST LAUNCHER (Star Trek Online.exe) IS VERSION 2013.7.30.1747
IT IS NOT AUTO UPDATING!


The Reason I'm here is because the Launcher isn't working:

Launcher updates OK;
- because Little window briefly appears in top left stating (updating Launcher).

Login OK;
- because if UN or PW is wrong I get error msg.

I click [Login] button but nothing happens;
Play/Enguage never appears in bottom area of Launcher window.
Some text blinks quickly in the same place that would say: "invalid username or password", but is too fast.

Tried to bypass Launcher completely by directly running GameClient.exe (C:\Program Files\Valve\Steam\SteamApps\common\star trek online\Star Trek Online\Live\GameClient.exe) . I don't know why the Launcher is even needed?
Anyway GameClient states connection to the account server times-out.

Keep trying login to try to capture blink text, and it finally just worked. :-/

Oh well I'm off into the stars instead of this black-hole of support forum.

Last edited by glenntle; 09-15-2013 at 11:11 AM. Reason: Highlighting
Career Officer
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 97
# 540
09-20-2013, 04:21 PM
After FINALLY sorting out my login issues (with no help from PWE I might add) I'm able to login here, my account and the LCARS interface to see my ships and characters.

I cannot, however, get into the game. The launcher window only shows a portion of the window. I can enter my credentials fine but then can't see the engage button or whatever it is now (I've not been back in a long time).

All I can see is an ad on the left, small ad on the right and a button to take me the LCARS interface. The slider buttons on the sides don't work. I've tried maximizing, I've tried switching from Chrome to IE. Added the launcher URL to safe sites in IE. With and without ARC. Nothing has helped.

Please advise.

Screenshot below:

https://skydrive.live.com/redir?resi...Wkb7FoivpE&v=3

Last edited by michlo; 09-20-2013 at 04:48 PM.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:04 PM.