Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 152
# 431
09-24-2013, 11:13 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by nerthus View Post
I'm having a hard time making it work when it used to work in the past.
Haven't played for a couple of months and I tried to run the game yesterday. It just wouldn't start! So I opened the wineskin and did a test run. It worked! ???

Tried running the icon again... No! Test run again... works! what is this? what does test run do that double clicking the icon doesnt?
one is a Finder OS X app bundle launch... the other calls a system command like running the command line bypassing a few things.

There have been bug fixes around this... if your using an older wrapper you should update.
Ensign
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2
# 432
09-24-2013, 05:11 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by therealdoh123 View Post
one is a Finder OS X app bundle launch... the other calls a system command like running the command line bypassing a few things.

There have been bug fixes around this... if your using an older wrapper you should update.
Well thanks for that! I was using wrapper 2.5.10 and updated to the latest 2.5.12. Now I managed to get into the launcher! excelent! Meke sure you refresh the wrapper after you update if you face the same issue.

I wonder if I can also update the engine used while I'm at it. Shouldn't I expect better performance with the engine 1.7.1D3Dboost or the latest 1.7.2? (I think 1.7.1D3Dboost is better for 3d graphics right?)

Last edited by nerthus; 09-24-2013 at 05:44 PM.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 152
# 433
09-24-2013, 06:08 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by nerthus View Post
Well thanks for that! I was using wrapper 2.5.10 and updated to the latest 2.5.12. Now I managed to get into the launcher! excelent! Meke sure you refresh the wrapper after you update if you face the same issue.

I wonder if I can also update the engine used while I'm at it. Shouldn't I expect better performance with the engine 1.7.1D3Dboost or the latest 1.7.2? (I think 1.7.1D3Dboost is better for 3d graphics right?)
I tried the D3DBoost... with it enabled I actually got worse performance in STO... but you can always try it, just switch to that engine and use the registry setting change to enable it. D3DBoost can help, and in some games its made incredible performance gains... but its still preliminary changes that one day will get all the way into main Wine, and still needs a lot of work. Try whatever you want though, always fun to play around with.
Ensign
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1
# 434
09-27-2013, 01:07 PM
I also had problems with UMV 1.6.0.
After the latest luncher update (You know that small thingy, that evan run before first login), STO didn't work anymore - the WINE Engine is just crashing at startup.

I updated the engine now to WINE 1.7.2. This is fixing the error for me - it runs just as smoothly as before. So if you got problems with the Launcher, try WINE 1.7.2.

I call it UVM 1.6.0.1 for the moment
Ensign
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 15
Hi,

Has anyone had any luck getting STO on a Mac to recognize a gamepad? I've got a Wii Classic Controller hooked up to my Mac (via a USB controller) that OS X applications can see, but STO doesn't pick it up.
Ensign
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 4
# 436
10-03-2013, 07:12 PM
Im running on a macbook pro that can run Guild Wars 2 at high settings with no issues, yet when i try to run STO, i get unplayable frame lag no matter how low i set the graphics. is there any fix for this?

Processor 2.2 GHz Intel Core i7
Memory 4 GB 1333 MHz DDR3
Graphics Intel HD Graphics 3000 384 MB
Software OS X 10.8.5

edit: i am trying to use version 1.6.0. should i try 1.5.1 instead?

Last edited by primanoyan; 10-03-2013 at 07:14 PM.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 152
# 437
10-10-2013, 07:08 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by primanoyan View Post
Im running on a macbook pro that can run Guild Wars 2 at high settings with no issues, yet when i try to run STO, i get unplayable frame lag no matter how low i set the graphics. is there any fix for this?

Processor 2.2 GHz Intel Core i7
Memory 4 GB 1333 MHz DDR3
Graphics Intel HD Graphics 3000 384 MB
Software OS X 10.8.5

edit: i am trying to use version 1.6.0. should i try 1.5.1 instead?
I have no idea anything about Guild Wars 2... but an Intel HD 3000 is very low end graphics. I have used it though and it will work, but you need to run bare minimum settings. 4GB of ram doesn't help either... that 384mb of ram for graphics comes out of there too.
Ensign
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1
# 438 Mavericks
10-22-2013, 06:36 PM
Any word on how well this works on osx 10.9 ???
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 152
# 439
10-22-2013, 07:26 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by spazoid1701 View Post
Any word on how well this works on osx 10.9 ???
Wineskin is working fine on 10.9... so this *should* work unless there is some weird graphics driver bug or something else unexpected. I'll try it out some time when I upgrade to Mavericks. Since Mavericks is free to anyone running 10.6+, there is little reason to not upgrade.
Lieutenant
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 54
# 440
10-23-2013, 10:28 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by therealdoh123 View Post
Wineskin is working fine on 10.9... so this *should* work unless there is some weird graphics driver bug or something else unexpected. I'll try it out some time when I upgrade to Mavericks. Since Mavericks is free to anyone running 10.6+, there is little reason to not upgrade.
I've noticed since 10.9 that whenever I run STO black bars appear randomly in Safari. http://i.imgur.com/fcAMaub.png for an example.

EDIT: Oh yeah, I'm using the 1.6 UMV and a Mac Pro 2010 with a Radeon 7950.

Last edited by celillarnon; 10-23-2013 at 10:36 AM.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:10 PM.