Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 97
# 1 Teleporting Enemy NPCs
10-26-2013, 04:04 PM
OK, here's the set up:

Space map. 1 friendly npc group. 3 enemy npc groups (used in mission objective). The enemies, of course, appear when the objective becomes active.

When these groups start fighting, after a few seconds, some npcs will randomly teleport far away. In my case, they are teleporting just to the edge of the planet, which is placed map center (so maybe they are "trying" to get to 0,0,0). I only found them because I followed the friendlies to their location after the non-teleporting ones were defeated.

I ruled out that it's being caused by any sort of animation (like quirky "warp in" effects). I also tried setting a patrol route but that didn't stop them from teleporting.

What gives?
Lieutenant
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 34
# 2
10-26-2013, 04:09 PM
Klingon Bird of Prays? They have a console mod that lets then transport about 7km behind them ship their locked onto.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,497
# 3
10-26-2013, 04:32 PM
This is a preview-only bug. When you publish it won't happen

Check out my Foundry missions:
Standalone - The Great Escape - The Galaxy's Fair - Purity I: Of Denial - Return to Oblivion
The Defenders - Duritanium Man - The Improbable Bulk - [WIP] Commander Rihan
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 97
# 4
10-26-2013, 05:46 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by zorbane View Post
This is a preview-only bug. When you publish it won't happen
Thank you, kind sir.
Career Officer
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 703
# 5
11-04-2013, 05:02 PM
I had this happened and it really confused me.

So it's only a preview bug?
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,497
# 6
11-04-2013, 05:37 PM
Yes when its published this won't happen

Check out my Foundry missions:
Standalone - The Great Escape - The Galaxy's Fair - Purity I: Of Denial - Return to Oblivion
The Defenders - Duritanium Man - The Improbable Bulk - [WIP] Commander Rihan
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 200
# 7
11-05-2013, 12:15 AM
This can be REALLY annoying when testing a map. In my case, some of the enemy NPCs would spawn INSIDE the planet. If they were more than 10km deep my only option was to use the editor Kill command to allow the story to progress.
Captain
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3,632
# 8
11-05-2013, 01:29 PM
For me this only seems to happen on custom maps. It's affected both custom space maps I've used and none of the premades.
Vadm. Kanril Eleya, U.S.S. Andraste, Strike Team Alpha

Useful Links for Foundry Writers | "Bait and Switch" -- Fed Foundry project, Part 1 rewards-qualified!
Say no to Arc! STO standalone installer
Cryptic Studios Team
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 935
# 9
11-05-2013, 01:41 PM
Zorbane's right, this only affects preview. It is a known issue.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 97
# 10
11-06-2013, 10:03 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by crypticfrost View Post
Zorbane's right, this only affects preview. It is a known issue.
Yep. I've done some test publishes since I made the post and the enemy npcs are working correctly on holodeck.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:43 AM.