Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Launcher Crash
01-11-2010, 10:38 PM
Hello,

Everytime I run the launcher it seems to crash, I have fixed the problem by running the STO launcher as an administrator, just want others to know.


Windows 7 64-bit
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
01-11-2010, 11:10 PM
Please post the error ID number so we can look up the crash information.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
01-11-2010, 11:17 PM
There is no error ID number, a box pops up and says that Cryptic Game Launcher has stopped working.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
01-11-2010, 11:19 PM
While it is in that state, can you manually run CrypticError.exe (it is in the game folder as the launcher) and select the STO process? It will upload a memory dump and then show you an ID number for it. Post that and I can look at the memory state to see what is wrong.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
01-11-2010, 11:33 PM
I openen the launcher (without admin) and it crashed, then i opened CrypticError and the process didnt show up in the process box. I created a dump file (.dmp) using the task manager, could that be of any help?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
01-11-2010, 11:35 PM
I also just ran the launcher with admin privilages and it didnt crash, and just to check the CrypticError.exe file I opened it and it still didnt see the process.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
01-11-2010, 11:38 PM
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
01-11-2010, 11:40 PM
Could be that you have Visual Studio installed and the debugger is interferring???
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
01-11-2010, 11:43 PM
That is possible, I am a programmer lol. But i have had this problem with several other games and Visual Studio isn't the problem, or at least it shoudn't be?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
01-12-2010, 04:22 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warcorer View Post
Hello,

Everytime I run the launcher it seems to crash, I have fixed the problem by running the STO launcher as an administrator, just want others to know.


Windows 7 64-bit
Same problem here, Only i can login and when i press engage it freezes and stops. And I made a File dump its onder ETID :6779991 PID:5824. Hope fully you can help
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:27 PM.