Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 11
01-12-2010, 08:24 AM
Going to try something different.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 12
01-12-2010, 08:28 AM
In case you're wondering what I'm working with

http://www.speedtest.net/result/680167164.png
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 13
01-12-2010, 10:07 AM
bump...i've tried everything...firewall turned off, run as admin, give it permissions for outbound and inbound...is there ANY manual solution? and why the heck wasn't a status bar included?!?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 14
01-12-2010, 10:15 AM
Quote:
bump...i've tried everything...firewall turned off, run as admin, give it permissions for outbound and inbound...is there ANY manual solution? and why the heck wasn't a status bar included?!?
There is no status bar because the auto-update system is very simple and just sends a single "packet" (its TCP so packet is a bit of a nebulous term) with the entire file. Once the whole thing is receieved by the OS, the bar would jump from 0% to 100%. Can you please download and run the nettest tool (files.champions-online.com/nettest.exe) and post a screenshot of the results?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 15
01-12-2010, 10:44 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by coderanger
There is no status bar because the auto-update system is very simple and just sends a single "packet" (its TCP so packet is a bit of a nebulous term) with the entire file. Once the whole thing is receieved by the OS, the bar would jump from 0% to 100%. Can you please download and run the nettest tool (files.champions-online.com/nettest.exe) and post a screenshot of the results?
Using my ethernet connection (normally the slower one), it simply timed out. However, using my wi-fi connection...

http://i46.tinypic.com/294q97n.png

(and yes, it's still sitting on 7255. and I have tested the launcher with both the wi-fi and the ethernet connection with no success.)
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 16
01-12-2010, 10:49 AM
Quote:
Using my ethernet connection (normally the slower one), it simply timed out. However, using my wi-fi connection...

http://i46.tinypic.com/294q97n.png

(and yes, it's still sitting on 7255. and I have tested the launcher with both the wi-fi and the ethernet connection with no success.)
That would be the problem then. Your ISP is entirely blocking our port range. You will have to ask them to allow outbound traffic to us on ports 7000-7999.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 17
01-12-2010, 11:16 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by coderanger
That would be the problem then. Your ISP is entirely blocking our port range. You will have to ask them to allow outbound traffic to us on ports 7000-7999.
well ****. what a surprise, my college internet would ruin EVERYTHING. thanks your help, man.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:46 AM.