Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 11 To CptSmythe
01-13-2010, 05:18 AM
Please post your system spec and the exact place that the game is installed you can hit the windows key and the R button then type dxdiag and hit enter then save the stats that it pulld up and open the text document to which it save and copy the information and paste it here for me to view.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 12
01-13-2010, 05:23 AM
This did not help me at all. I've updated drivers, I've rebooted, I've put in administrator mode, i've put it in safe mode. still locks up at 10%.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 13
01-13-2010, 05:50 AM
This black screen is beginning to annoy me, I hope theres a new patch to fix it?

My computer is fully updated and with the latest hardware. Im not going to download the game again, since it took 16 hours to download
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 14 me too
01-13-2010, 05:56 AM
aha, I have the same problem. I believe together we may form an impressive bunch to fix it it and be taken notice of. I started a thread Cannot play game but will posthere too. Somebody replied to mine saying that updating drivers may be the solution. Will try yours tonight aswell Miller. Hak ta daka dak dak (not klingon for anyhting, just learing my throat). :-)
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
Please post full system spc and install location if you need assistance also describe to the best of your ability the problem you are having (if you are running windows vista 64 please attempt to install the game on a drive other than the root drive as UAC in vista 64bit may hinder the games ability to open and change dll's and other files within the root dir) that is why i now run windows 7 ultimate 64bit as they added the ability to disable UAC.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 16
01-13-2010, 06:18 AM
I am on win 7 64-bit home edition. Still having this problem.

------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 1/13/2010, 08:19:31
Machine name: JEN-LAPTOP2
Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7600) (7600.win7_rtm.090713-1255)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Dell Inc.
System Model: Studio 1440
BIOS: Ver 1.00 A01
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T6500 @ 2.10GHz (2 CPUs), ~2.1GHz
Memory: 3072MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 2814MB RAM
Page File: 1552MB used, 4074MB available
Windows Dir: C:\Windows
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
User DPI Setting: Using System DPI
System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
DxDiag Version: 6.01.7600.16385 32bit Unicode
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 17 hmm
01-13-2010, 07:29 AM
try installing in another directory other then windows or program files and then run the game in safe mode.... not windows safe mode but the games safe mode as i posted above.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 18 Computer Locks Up
01-13-2010, 07:31 AM
Here's a peice of information:

12 hours in line, 4 hours to download! I download the latest drivers for my Geforce 6800 Ultra Card (but don't restart the system as of yet - I had downloaded and installed the drivers while waiting to get the cleint). At 6:00 this morning I get the client patched and ready to run. Actually, the gase starts up I get to the character creation screen. The audio was a little choppy, but that is because of my onboard audio card - this has happend before (stock mother board audio card, many games say this can cause "stuttering"). I decided to log out and restart my compter - to let the latest graphic drivers work their up to date magic.

*** Reboot ***

5 minutes later (windows XP - aging), I start the client, go through the login, the loading bar goes across the screen, the Cryptic logo comes up, then the Atari logo comes up, and at last the little Federation logo comes up. Then my screen goes blank and my monitor looses signal (shut's itself down) and the computer locks up.

*** Reboot ***

same as the first reboot

*** Reboot ***

Start looking into the forums, looks like other people are having similar issues. I found the options and tried to run the game in SAFE MODE and put in into Window Mode, so hopefuly if the program crash's it won't take the rest of the system with it. Crash again with the same results.

*** Reboot ***

So more research and here's my information. Alright here's my current information:

Link: http://pastebin.com/m55c26a76

And for you folks who don't follow links, here's the rough cut:

------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 1/13/2010, 06:41:34
Machine name: DONNY
Operating System: Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 3 (2600.xpsp_sp3_gdr.090804-1435)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: GATEWA
System Model: GT5014
BIOS: Default System BIOS
Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 2.80GHz (2 CPUs)
Memory: 3070MB RAM
Page File: 609MB used, 4298MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.5512 32bit Unicode

---------------
Display Devices
---------------
Card name: NVIDIA GeForce 6800 Series GPU
Manufacturer: NVIDIA
Chip type: GeForce 6800 Ultra
DAC type: Integrated RAMDAC
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_00F9&SUBSYS_020E10DE&REV_A2
Display Memory: 256.0 MB
Current Mode: 1024 x 768 (32 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor: Plug and Play Monitor
Monitor Max Res: 1600,1200
Driver Name: nv4_disp.dll

And for a quick run down of the bug:
1) It worked before I updated the Nivdia Drivers....
2) Crashed after the first reboot (the newer drivers)...

Good luck tracking this bug down. I don't think I am going to be able to send Cryptic the DUMP file as the this proccess seams to require still having access to the computer after the crash. I am locked out after the crash (no screen and the computers fan speeding up). I am going to try installing a older driver set to see if that was the problem. Not much more I can think of doing at this point. Hope to play it soon.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 19 try this...
01-13-2010, 07:52 AM
sometimes newer drivers are not always the best choice as each driver reacts differantly with each game. Uninstall the video drives completely through the add\remove programs in controll pannel and get and install the older drivers again, you may want to download a few diff versions so you can find out which version runs this game the best and please post the results
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 20 It"s Alive
01-13-2010, 03:39 PM
Alright, status update for those who have this problem. I got the Geforce 6800 Ultra Card. I could not remember what version I had when I installed the latest drivers this morning.

I have been uninstalling and reinstalling drivers from 1.95 FINALLY and at version 1.81.20 - the oldest drivers listed on the website, I got the game to run. So at roughly at 1:00pm almost 22-24 hours after I got in line. I got to play the game and it survived 2 hours before I got a loading error that stalled the game.

So folks, try rolling back the drivers if you a older Geforce Nvidia card. Good luck.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:51 AM.