Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
Hi there.

Ok so my comp is a beast. W7, 4GB RAM, Phenom II 955, a Radeon 4890, and the keyboard glows.

My comp should EAT this game, but I'm getting extremely low framerates in the 10 - 12 range while on the ground. At the lowest settings as well, we're talking 800x600 with EVERYTHING off.

Please, I just built this computer like 5 months ago, surely I don't need a new one already, my parts are still good.

I manually set the affinity to all 4 cores already, it didn't help one bit.

Ugh.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
01-14-2010, 09:36 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matteis View Post
Hi there.

Ok so my comp is a beast. W7, 4GB RAM, Phenom II 955, a Radeon 4890, and the keyboard glows.

My comp should EAT this game, but I'm getting extremely low framerates in the 10 - 12 range while on the ground. At the lowest settings as well, we're talking 800x600 with EVERYTHING off.

Please, I just built this computer like 5 months ago, surely I don't need a new one already, my parts are still good.

I manually set the affinity to all 4 cores already, it didn't help one bit.

Ugh.
Weird!!

Similar system except for a C2Duo E8500 o/c to 3.9Ghz and at 1680 x 1050 with most settings in the higher range, it seems quite smooth.

Your PC should perform the same.

Could it be the 4-core part?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
01-15-2010, 07:47 AM
I'm going to wipe my drive and do a clean reinstall of Windows. May as well see if that helps, because then at least I can blame it on the hardware if I've ruled-out software conflicts/interrupting.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
01-15-2010, 08:09 AM
odd im not having any problems with a q6600@ 3.1ghz and sli 8800gts. though not sure if its the beta stuff the game is running but i do notice the game when running is between 60-80% at times though my game does not drop below 40fps either. v sync off and im running at 1920x1200 with highest it can on all but the world detail settings where i have them at 100-120 according to the game so its not maxed there to the 200 it can go.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
01-15-2010, 08:18 AM
Try rolling back your GFX drivers back to 8.12. Worked for me.

Also make sure your chipset drivers are bang upto date and you have the AMD Dual Core optimizer program thingy installed.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
01-15-2010, 08:20 AM
Any theories on what piece of hardware it could be? I was thinking either my CPU or my vid card, but the thing is, games like Shattered Horizon run really well, at very high frames (and that game has serious system requirements). I can sometimes pull like 40 - 50 fps even when there's a lot going on.

Does my CPU need to be replaced? My video card? My mobo? How can I even tell what the problem is??

Ugh, I hate PC gaming, so many things go wrong.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
01-15-2010, 08:23 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loxanna
Try rolling back your GFX drivers back to 8.12. Worked for me.

Also make sure your chipset drivers are bang upto date and you have the AMD Dual Core optimizer program thingy installed.
I rolled back the driver, but it only rolled back to 8.6. Can I still get 8.12?

Don't you mean with chipset drivers the driver I just rolled back?

AMD Dual Core? I'm running a quad, does that matter? Where is this software?

Thanks!
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:34 PM.