Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
I play many games on my PC... most of which have much higher requirement. I'm running 8 Gig memory with a Quad Core and Nvidia 9800... is that not enough?

In space I'm smooth as silk, on ground (especially in Sol) I can't hardly walk a few steps without stuttering. Crysis goes a hell of a lot more smooth than this does...
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
01-15-2010, 01:46 PM
Is it lag or framerate? Check your drivers and make sure they are up to date. I don't see why you would be having an issue.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
01-15-2010, 01:49 PM
I have 2 9800 GTs in SLI and the game has horrible FPS in Low and medium.

:/

190.62 Drivers dont help (have been known to fix FPS issues with some people)
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
01-15-2010, 01:51 PM
It could also be caused by gfx drivers being up to date, I have the same card as the OP ( 2 9800GT's in SLi) and i had hellish stuttering on ground combat, but smooth space combat,

Apparently STO does'nt like the latest Nvidia drivers, rolling back to 190.62 fixed the problem for me, worth doing if you dont have other games that need the latest version.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
01-15-2010, 01:53 PM
I am running this game on 2 seperate machines now, one is vista 32 the other vista 64... both more than 6 gb ram and both have nvidia 260's in em; the 32 bit is flawless and the 64 bit is screwed.
Hope this may help someone to get us a fix!

oh yeah and to mention the 32 bit is a dual core and the 64 bit is a quad even LMAO
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
01-15-2010, 01:54 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by hilarius69 View Post
I am running this game on 2 seperate machines now, one is vista 32 the other vista 64... both more than 6 gb ram and both have nvidia 260's in em; the 32 bit is flawless and the 64 bit is screwed.
Hope this may help someone to get us a fix!

oh yeah and to mention the 32 bit is a dual core and the 64 bit is a quad even LMAO
Im running Windows 7 64bit

maybe thats the problem
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
01-16-2010, 07:28 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by begone77 View Post
Im running Windows 7 64bit

maybe thats the problem
Yeah, same. I'm on 64-bit Windows 7. If it's a common problem, there ought to be a fix.

Although, this far into the Champions online release and I've still had problems.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
01-16-2010, 08:25 AM
Cryptic has two weeks to fix this problem. It's affecting me as well (also running Windows 7, 64 bit) so if it is not fixed BEFORE launch, I will be demanding my $$$ back and encouraging my customers (several thousand Star Trek fans) to avoid STO at all costs.

I don't expect much, as Champions Online had the same issue, and apparently has not been fixed. I wouldn't know, as the unplayable nature of the beta prevented me from subscribing.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
01-16-2010, 09:10 AM
same - windows 7 64bit
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
01-16-2010, 09:19 AM
According to Cisco, 40% of all computer related issues are user error.

I'm running Vista 64 and on my machine, I'm running max everything and not even a single tear or stutter and the framerate is flawless.

Lrn2config!
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:38 AM.