Ensign
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 6
Eagerly awaited the patch today in the hope that it might clear this issue, but no, the patcher still keeps trying to download the .hogg file over and over and over until the client gets and error 14. Then the whole process begins over again.

I really cant keep on downloading that same bit of data as I'm on a terribly small monthly bandwidth allowance. Can anyone official comment on how much, if any progress has been made diagnosing this issue?

Has anyone in the community come up with a fix?

Thanks for reading!
Career Officer
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 7
# 22
10-10-2013, 09:34 PM
Adding my voice to this. Deleting the .hogg didn't help. Process as follows:
  • Deleted the .hogg from cache
  • Started the launcher and logged in
  • Began patching and user opened the transfer dialog with CTRL-X
  • Only thing transfering was the .hogg
  • Waited until it reached 100%, then sighed inwardly as it went back to 0%

In a previous watch of the dialog, I noted that at one point, once the .hogg had completed the state went to "WAIT_FILE". Interestingly, the .hogg was not transferred to my system, and did not exist in my cache folder. Of course, as Branflakes points out, that may not be the case until I actually get next to the character selection screen...

...which doesn't look to be too soon.
-- I really like parentheses (for some reason).
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 20
# 23
01-09-2014, 07:43 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by bottle0rum View Post
This doesn't work. I still redownload shadercache.hogg EVERY time there's a patch. And it ALWAYS slows the patcher down to a crawl. Is there a reason this file is patched every time there's a patch? And why does it slow down to a crawl?

Another issue I have is, why is it that every computer I have looked at with a copy of the game installed has .hogg files of differing sizes. All of them are patched to the newest version yet not a single one has the same size files. Why is that?

That's some wacky patcher y'all have there, so any ideas as to when it'll get fixed? I mean, it has this problem in all Cryptic games and it's been around since at least 2009 in Champions Online.
This problem has come back. Deleting shadercache.hogg does absolutely NOTHING to alleviate the problem.
Ensign
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3
# 24
01-14-2014, 05:06 AM
OK im going to start spamming this until i get a damn responce. I have done EVERYTHING the forums recommends, except for deleting shadercache.hogg, bacause the file doesn't download at all so there is no file to delete, if you cant figure it out and its any help, i have not played the game yet, so its not an old download being updated its pretty fresh, NO its not my system, my network or my ISP i have checked them all, refreshed them all, made all allowances etc. YES IT IS on your side, because this isn't just happeneing to me, its happenening to other people as well. This is rediculous, its like you dont have any real tech support. Get a Third party company to test, check and repair your servers, get your ISP to check your routing and configurations, get a Third party company to go through your patching software with a fine tooth comb, because lets face it, either your technical team is completly inept or just doesn't give a crap about your customers. YES this is going to be placed in different areas everywhere, because i'm not getting a proper responce, so i will spam it till someone there who knows whats going on ACTUALLY READS THIS AND DOES SOMETHING ABOUT IT!

PROBLEM:
Download stops patching but continues to recieve data
IT is stuck on the file ShaderCache.Hogg
All network configurations, firewalls, security mesasures, permissions checked, double checked and fine
ISP is not blocking communication from ports or IP
Computer system is above minimu system requirments by far
DSL connection is adequate to download files
MOST files have downloaded and patched
Errors are being encountered, and are as follows

After Bringing up the transfers page (holding CTRL and pressing X) It displays that ShaderCache.Hogg is not downling correctly

pcl log is showing, repeatedly "16 [1]: transfer failed, trying again for platformbin/PC/shaderbin/shaderCache.hogg (retry 0, compressed)"

Methods used to attempt to fix

Attempted to find and delete ShaderCache.hogg - couldn't file does not exsist in system
Reset network adaptor - no difference
Opened ports on router - no difference
Changed security settings (even turned all off) -no difference
Unistalled attempted fresh install - no difference
Deleted live folder - no difference
Aquired copy of shadercache.hogg from friend - patcher deleted file then no difference
Changed settings of launcher (patch proxy, force verify, hell even languade) - no difference
Restarted computer(obviously) - no difference
Restarted router - no difference
Contacted ISP relating to port blocking - no blocking no difference

I think thats all, there's probably more i've done as well, Pretty much if its in the forums, i've done it 3 times over.

NOW TELL ME ITS ON MY SIDE!! coz its not. I will continue to spam this through perfectworld, STO site, and tickets until SOMETHING IS DONE.

Sorry for forum users who may get sick of seeing this, but i see this as the only way to get attention to this problem.
Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 793
# 25
01-15-2014, 02:15 PM
I'm having patching issues as well, and after almost 3 years of this error I am frankly sick of it. I have chewed up far too much bandwidth stuck on these damn loops and spent too much money on bandwidth as a result (Care to reimburse me? Didn't think so). It's about time PWE did something to fix the problem.

The file I'm stuck on is VOICE_Dom.fsb and I can't delete it from the cache because there is no cache folder!!! This is a fresh install using your new ARC software and the problem still exists after 2 1/2 years of it? C'mon guys...

Edit: Problem fixed - I deleted the LIVE folder completely and restarted an 8Gb patch. Not happy...

***Disenchanted***
Real Join Date: Monday, 17 May 2010

Last edited by wolfpacknz; 01-15-2014 at 08:46 PM.
Ensign
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2
# 26
01-16-2014, 01:05 AM
Ive tried a fresh install 3 times over the past 2 days, each time it gets stuck in a loop patching the same files. I give up if its this hard to get into the game I can only imagine what issues it has once running.
Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 343
# 27
01-16-2014, 06:44 PM
How can this problem still be around? Hangs at 65% on "startrekclient.manifest". Delete the file and it's remade instantly when you start to patch and just hangs again. This the the third time with this BS. Yet tribble I have no problem patching and launching. Wth.
Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 320
# 28
01-17-2014, 07:19 PM
Hey, I've been having the same problem.

I've tried deleting the cache, .patch and the hoggs in the piggs folder.

I've been stuck on one file or another every thing I tried, .manifest and libobj.bin.

I've come to the conclusion I'm going to have to try and completely re-install STO.

If this doesn't work then I really don't know what to do.
Ensign
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 29
# 29
05-03-2014, 03:18 PM
Not exactly this issue because I can't yet post my own threads, but, seriously guys? 8 Gb in patches? When the game initially only asks 6Gb to install? Isn't it time to just update the installer?
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:09 AM.