Go Back   Star Trek Online > Support > Gameplay Bug Reports
Login

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 321
KDF-Allied Romulan - needed to do some BO Training using a Purple Orion Tactical Officer Candidate. The window did not have the option to "Train" - only "Join" and "Not now".

Did forum search - some report being able to use Allied BO's for training. Others report it does not work. Had Orion Engineering Officer Candidate in inventory as well. It worked - showed option to "Train".

Did further testing by buying some KDF Bridge Officers from the Exchange.
- Lethean Engineering Officer Candidate (Blue) - worked. Shows Train option.
- Gorn Science Officer Candidate (Blue) - Did NOT work - no Train option.
- Klingon Tactical Officer Candidate (Blue) - Did NOT work - no Train option.
- Klingon Tactical Officer Candidate (Purple) - Did NOT work - no Train option.

Appears to be bug with allied Tactical and Science BO's only. Which explains why some posted training works for Romulans and some didn't.

Ticket ID #2,328,706

Last edited by eagledraco; 02-24-2014 at 09:19 PM.
Lieutenant
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 45
# 2
02-25-2014, 12:06 AM
Also KDF-Rommie here and i also got that "bug", but maybe i have a solution.

Other story first, i tried to let a kdf train my romulan BO and that also didnt work, cause it says the kdf was from the wrong faction, but a fed couldnt train me either so it seems that the romulans are, even when allied, a third faction.

Example from my BO:

Got BAO3 KDF BO from exchange try to train ... no option.
Bought a blue KDF Tac BO let him join and the train option for the BAO3 BO is active!

This works with all specializations.

So for the BO training, as far for what i experienced, a workaround is that you need a active slotted KDF BO to let a KDF train a Romulan.

Last edited by jaxina; 02-25-2014 at 12:09 AM.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 321
# 3
02-25-2014, 03:35 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaxina View Post
So for the BO training, as far for what i experienced, a workaround is that you need a active slotted KDF BO to let a KDF train a Romulan.
You know what... you are Brilliant! Your workaround worked. I did not have to slot a KDF BO. Just had to let one join. After that I was able to use a Tac BO for training CSV3.

Now I realize the reason why I had no problem with KDF Engineer BO's - it's because I have the Klingon Borg Engineer on my crew.

Thanks again for this work around. If a dev is reading this, this bug and workaround need to be put in Known Issues in patch notes.
Captain
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3,448
# 4
02-25-2014, 06:06 PM
For future reference all romulan character's despite their allegiance, can only train romulan/reman boff's with romulan/reman boff's.

Unless you allow a different race to become an active crew member on your roster, only than can you use a different race to train a romulan/reman boff, and the newly active boff must be the exact same class type as the romulan/reman you wish to train (example eng/sci/tac).

In other words if you wanted to train a tac romulan/reman boff with a Klingon tac boff, you must first have a non-romulan/reman tac boff as an active boff already in your roster, than it will allow you to use any race outside of romulan/reman to train in tac skills.

But remember if you get rid of the non-romulan/reman boff, it will take this ability away, so remember anytime you want to train with a alternate species you must have a non-romulan/reman boff of exact matching class to make use of another different species to train with.
[Combat (Self)] Your Lunge deals 3252 (1916) Physical Damage(Critical) to Heavy Tactical Drone.
If you have come to the forums, to complain about the AFK penalty, than it is WAI.
MACO/OMEGA/KHG Accolade Bug Link
Praetor of The Romulan Tal Shiar fleet
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 321
# 5
02-26-2014, 03:09 AM
Is this described in-game at all? I assumed only Rom BO's could train my crew until I saw my Orion Engineer worked.

Doing a forum search showed others having the same problem - being described as hit or miss for the ability to train with allied BO's.

If this is working as intended, and if there's no info on this in the tutorial or from the BO Trainer on New Romulus then this is a perfect example of "Tribal Knowledge" and "Undocumented Mechanics" that STOked used to talk about in their broadcasts. Something Cryptic still needs to work on.

Thanks again for the workaround and info.
Captain
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2,740
# 6
02-26-2014, 04:42 AM
Wait, i dont get it.. a Boff can train another boff??? its the first time i see this lol. Neat, very neat.. lol. How to do that???
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 321
# 7
02-26-2014, 02:40 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by edgecrysger View Post
Wait, i dont get it.. a Boff can train another boff??? its the first time i see this lol. Neat, very neat.. lol. How to do that???
Press U then click Stations - you will see "Bridge Officer Candidates" on the right side of the window. When you click one you should have 3 options - "Train Up", "Join" and "Not now".

When you click Train Up any skill that BO Candidate has can be trained to one of your Bridge Officers. If you use the Candidate to train your BO it will poof once used.

Some BO Powers can only be found on Blue and Purple BO Candidates. Highly sought after powers like Beam Array Overload 3, Torpedo Spread 3, Gravity Well 3, etc.

Look here: http://sto.gamepedia.com/Bridge_officer_ability
All the BO powers in purple cannot be trained from players - the powers are trained from Blue or Purple BO Candidates.
Cryptic Studios Team
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,029
# 8
02-26-2014, 03:53 PM
I've written this up as a bug. Thanks for the reports.
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,865
# 9
02-26-2014, 04:01 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaxina View Post
So for the BO training, as far for what i experienced, a workaround is that you need a active slotted KDF BO to let a KDF train a Romulan.
Quote:
Originally Posted by crypticfrost View Post
I've written this up as a bug. Thanks for the reports.
I thought that was working as intended. I had my crews joined by allied faction Boffs (same on FED and KDF side) in order to use all Boffs to train any of my current Boffs.

If this is a bug and is fixed, than yay! Makes things much easier.
TOIVA, Toi Vaxx, Toia Vix: Bring in the Allegiance class
Toi'Va, Ti'vath, Toivia: Design that long overdue Tier 5 C-Store Raptor
Tae'Va, T'Vaya, To'Var: Give us Asylums for Romulans

Don't make ARC mandatory! Keep it optional only!
Empire Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,671
# 10
02-26-2014, 04:03 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by crypticfrost View Post
I've written this up as a bug. Thanks for the reports.
could the fix do away with the need for the workaround?
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:42 AM.