Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 coderanger: IP please?
01-21-2010, 12:32 AM
Hello! I was wondering if you could provide an IP that we can use to run traceroutes. Playing tonight I was having really bad disconnects and rubberbanding but everyone I saw around me appeared to be playing just fine. I would really appreciate an IP that I can use to run traceroutes and see if there is an issue across the WAN.

Thanks!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
01-21-2010, 12:51 AM
+1 to that.

Having an IP, we can create a Windows widget to let players know when the servers is up!

Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
01-21-2010, 12:59 AM
patchserver.crypticstudios.com would be a decent end point. Pings wouldn't tell you if the server is up or not though, since we don't shut down the machines themselves, just the server processes.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
01-21-2010, 01:01 AM
Thank You!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
01-21-2010, 01:01 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sulda View Post
Thank You!
+ 1 to that as well
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
01-21-2010, 01:04 AM
Hmm... 60ms endpoint on 13 hops.

I'm also routed through NY and MA. That doesn't make much sense physically, but logically, well.. you have to love packet switching.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
01-21-2010, 04:09 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sulda View Post
Hmm... 60ms endpoint on 13 hops.

I'm also routed through NY and MA. That doesn't make much sense physically, but logically, well.. you have to love packet switching.
It make sense since the servers are hosted on the east coast. also you need more than tracert to check your connection . to check the ports used (some not all as the port range is 7000-7500) download and run nettest.

Nettest:
Go to files.champions-online.com/nettest.exe
Download this file and run it
A command prompt should appear running the test automatically
Do alt prtscn (besure the nettest windows is the active window) to Copy and paste the results in paint and save as jpeg and attach it in a post in this forum
Good results have column 1 and 3 with values around 300- 500kb/sec, column 2 with 20kb/sec

If less or time outs then the packets are being filtered or ports blocked.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
01-21-2010, 06:20 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by PegasusMD
It make sense since the servers are hosted on the east coast. also you need more than tracert to check your connection . to check the ports used (some not all as the port range is 7000-7500) download and run nettest.

Nettest:
Go to files.champions-online.com/nettest.exe
Download this file and run it
A command prompt should appear running the test automatically
Do alt prtscn (besure the nettest windows is the active window) to Copy and paste the results in paint and save as jpeg and attach it in a post in this forum
Good results have column 1 and 3 with values around 300- 500kb/sec, column 2 with 20kb/sec

If less or time outs then the packets are being filtered or ports blocked.
What do the columns represent?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
01-21-2010, 06:36 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Penth View Post
What do the columns represent?
Uh first is port number (80 = general websurfing HTTP, 443 = Secure websurfing SSL, 7255, 2003, 7202, and 7499 are the game connection ports) It appears to double checks all for averaging since it changes from second to second usually, 2nd is download speed, 3rd is upload, 4th appears to be maximum download over the test and the 500 at the end I'm not sure bout haha but may be a 'maximum' upload speed calculated (my connection is 512kbit [divide that by 8 to get kb/s since 8bits to a byte]).
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:08 AM.