Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 31
01-23-2010, 01:11 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by doh123 View Post
wow, thats awesome.. glad to know it worked on that... the one with the X1600?
Its been working good with my X1900. The frame rate take a big hit when I'm in a area with alot of people, i.e. Earth Space Station, but other wise its smooth. Do you know if there is a in-game command to display your current fps?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 32
01-23-2010, 01:27 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viper358 View Post
Its been working good with my X1900. The frame rate take a big hit when I'm in a area with alot of people, i.e. Earth Space Station, but other wise its smooth. Do you know if there is a in-game command to display your current fps?
I believe its

/showfps 1

to turn it on and

/showfps 0

to turn it off
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 33
01-23-2010, 01:30 PM
I have tried the second version.

1. i got some java error in IE launcher.
2. sound is working great.
3. No problems with graphics
4. Only the graphic in the game is not so smooth as on mi PC

doh123 thanks
When you want more info or that i test something just let me know.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 34
01-23-2010, 02:08 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Treel View Post
I have tried the second version.

1. i got some java error in IE launcher.
2. sound is working great.
3. No problems with graphics
4. Only the graphic in the game is not so smooth as on mi PC

doh123 thanks
When you want more info or that i test something just let me know.
yep, they keep playing with the launcher, and it doesn't like IE6 rendering engine.. I'm messing around with fixes, but nothing yet has been better, just different.

They could actually code their page to use IE6 right.. some minor changes would even let the png files do transparency right, but I don't think they care enough to look into it since so few use IE6... it just runs a lot better in Wine than IE7... If i had the source to their patcher, I'd just write a custom OSX native one.. but that would be almost impossible without a lot of help from them, so it could interface and launch the game right.

from what I've seen the graphics smearing only happens on some set ups, not all...

Frame rate wont be as high as natively on Windows, since WIne is an extra layer in there... but its a very minor hit in performance.

Thanks for the info!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 35
01-23-2010, 02:47 PM
I've got it running to the loading screen, but the server is down right now so I can't test much. My feedback so far is about the same as the last guy's. I'll have to compare framerates and such when I can log in. Right now, I'm running it in windowed mode. When I launched it initially, I just got a black screen and had to force quit.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 36
01-23-2010, 02:56 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by echrei View Post
I've got it running to the loading screen, but the server is down right now so I can't test much. My feedback so far is about the same as the last guy's. I'll have to compare framerates and such when I can log in. Right now, I'm running it in windowed mode. When I launched it initially, I just got a black screen and had to force quit.
the black screen is the X server launching in fullscreen. Depending on your OS and what you have installed Font wise... some things have been interfering with Wine I haven't figured out.... so sometimes it has to build Font Metrics for your machine, which means it could sit at that screen for a few minutes before anything showed up. if it does have to build font metrics, it should only do it the first time, then run fine from then on on your machine.

I've never gotten the "window" mode in STO to work... I always leave it on fullscreen and change the wrapper between Rootless with a virtual desktop and Fullscreen.

if your running it, or the black window or anything.. you can always CMQ+Q to kill it quickly at anytime.... it kills the whole X server and Wine shuts down.

There are also log files you can look at to see whats happening...

Inside the wrapper in Contents/Resources/Logs
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 37 Legality
01-23-2010, 03:47 PM
Before installing this on my macbook i just have one question.Does this violate any STO terms of use, terms of play, ect.?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 38
01-23-2010, 03:54 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobert_Boberson
Before installing this on my macbook i just have one question.Does this violate any STO terms of use, terms of play, ect.?
nope, its not against the rules to run the game in Wine, even if its 'unsupported' ... in fact was some cryptic people that helped show us how to get it running in Wine. This doesn't modify the game, or hack it in any way.... it just runs the normal Windows version for you, without Windows.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 39
01-23-2010, 03:56 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by doh123 View Post
the black screen is the X server launching in fullscreen. Depending on your OS and what you have installed Font wise... some things have been interfering with Wine I haven't figured out.... so sometimes it has to build Font Metrics for your machine, which means it could sit at that screen for a few minutes before anything showed up. if it does have to build font metrics, it should only do it the first time, then run fine from then on on your machine.

I've never gotten the "window" mode in STO to work... I always leave it on fullscreen and change the wrapper between Rootless with a virtual desktop and Fullscreen.

if your running it, or the black window or anything.. you can always CMQ+Q to kill it quickly at anytime.... it kills the whole X server and Wine shuts down.

There are also log files you can look at to see whats happening...

Inside the wrapper in Contents/Resources/Logs
What I meant by windowed was the Rootless with a virtual desktop.

The main downside is that I can't overclock my GPU is Mac OS. I have it overclocked by over 30% in Windows, so that gives a big FPS boost.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 40
01-23-2010, 05:49 PM
MacBook Pro 17" 2.8 GT9600 Works fine, every now and again a bit of screen tearing / redraw issues but its livable.

My running at 1920x1200 and its a bit jumpy but running the renderscale at 0.5 solved all issues and I dont mind its look. When I set the res lower in wine I will report back.

Bought the game off the back of this port so well done. Ive had fun
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:11 PM.