Go Back   Star Trek Online > Support > Gameplay Bug Reports
Login

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Downloading whole game again?
01-29-2010, 02:08 PM
Steam wants to download the whole game again, I have the beta version of course and I really do not want to wait 21 hours on my 1Mb line. Anyone know a fix for this?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
01-29-2010, 02:13 PM
Steam and Cryptic need to get together and fix this right away. This will be a serious kick in customer confidence come the weekend proper.

At the very least Steam ought to disable all updating through their launcher and let the STO launcher manage it in perpetua, for always, for ever. It'll save them bandwidth everytime there is a content patch - bandwidth that Cryptic will be prepared for because of the fact they know the size of the patch(es) and the subscriber volumes.

But, yes, this truly blows.

Blows a whale.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
01-29-2010, 02:20 PM
Anyone mind if I bump this thread for 21 hours.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
01-29-2010, 03:34 PM
Good news, I thought of a new word. Downleted. It is when you go to download a patch file and it deletes everything having to do with the that game. BTW it is spreading, I am talking to more steam users with the issue happening even when they already played. The only thing they players say on steam forums is to turn off automatic downloads for sto...not sure what that will do, but .....
Good luck to all steam users.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
01-29-2010, 03:47 PM
Not just Steam. After finally figuring out how to get logged into the game and get a character created, I've been stuck downloading on the intro "Space, the Final Frontier" screen for the last two hours, and only about 66% of the way through. I downloaded to play the beta from Cryptic's site directly, and didn't use any of the third party sites.

Hanok
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
01-29-2010, 04:21 PM
Well steam has the back up data option at least, so I shall use that this time... Wonder if it works. Live and learn.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
01-29-2010, 07:17 PM
I had to completely delete steam (corrupted) and re-download all steam games... 45 games, days of re-downloading...
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
01-29-2010, 08:11 PM
Did that have anything to do with sto specifically or with backing up game data?
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:43 PM.