Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 61
01-30-2010, 07:29 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironfungus View Post
Besides for the inevitable "rubber banding" going on (which I understand entirely), the game runs like absolute crap. My machine destroys the recommended system requirements for this game, so I know it's not my PC.

The game has been pretty fun thus far, but by release I was hoping that it would be optimized. Doesn't look like that's going to happen. There also seems to be a major input lag regarding movement (WASD) and camera rotation.
Game runs fine for me... and I play on a laptop...
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 62
01-30-2010, 07:42 AM
Too patch or not to patch...............

Newest Nvidia Dreivers working fine, Is it worth adding the new EVGA SLI package?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 63
01-30-2010, 07:43 AM
runs fine for me, weapons fire when i want them to, ship turns when i want it to, impulse starts when i want it to.
thus, runs fine.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 64
01-30-2010, 07:50 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironfungus View Post
Besides for the inevitable "rubber banding" going on (which I understand entirely), the game runs like absolute crap. My machine destroys the recommended system requirements for this game, so I know it's not my PC.

The game has been pretty fun thus far, but by release I was hoping that it would be optimized. Doesn't look like that's going to happen. There also seems to be a major input lag regarding movement (WASD) and camera rotation.
60 FPS with 8xanti aliasing... 6GB ram, Intel Core 2 Duo 3ghz, Radeon HD 5700 series video card.

No problems what so ever.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 65
01-30-2010, 07:54 AM
My system meets spec EXCEPT the graphics card, i'm using an on board 7800 until i can afford a new one, and i am getting smooth frames 90% of the time.
I'm actually impressed with how well most machines seem to cope with STO.
I would strongly recommend removing shadows eternally from any game ever however, it's the one factor that seems to completely destroy framerate regardless of your machine specs.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 66
01-30-2010, 08:09 AM
try posting your machine specs, and frankly 2 or even10 out of thousands does not an issue make.

some machines just have architectural flakes. Im running an old 1st gen athalon quad on an invidia board.
originally it came with a 9700 GTO card, and my machine would freeze, crash on games if I went afk for a few minutes, BS frame rates.... popping in a new gforce 220 fixed me right up, on everything.

you should try
defragging your drive
scan for nasties
update all video drivers and audio drivers
shut down any TSRs and background programs
disable anti-virus while playing
set screen rez to your desktop rez
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:06 AM.