Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Saving keybinding ?
01-30-2010, 08:47 AM
So far I had to remap my control setup for each character. Maybe there is an ini file out there but so far I didn't find it.

Did you find a way to save youself the pain to remap the keys each time?
Is there a way to save a setup for a whole account or export/import one?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
01-30-2010, 12:38 PM
Excellent question!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
01-30-2010, 12:48 PM
Yeah, I would like this. I can't understand why, just because you create a new toon the game thinks you want the default keybinds. Only lame excuse is lazy programming.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
01-30-2010, 12:51 PM
Once you have the keys setup up on one of your characters:

- In the chat console type "/bind_save_file SOMENAME_ground" while you are on the ground and "/bind_save_file SOMENAME_space" while you are in space.
- To retrieve/use the binds type "/bind_load_file SOMENAME_ground" or "/bind_load_file SOMENAME_space" in their respective environments.

SO...

While is space you would type "/bind_save_file all_ground" (without the quotes mind you). Then you log into another character you want to associate these binds with and type "/bind_load_file all_ground" and that character will now have all those binds. YAY!

Unlike in beta where the file saved both ground and space states for some unknown reason it now only saves the environment you are in (Ground/Space) at the time of the save file. If you need any help let me know.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
01-30-2010, 12:51 PM
is there a post that details all these /bind commands in detail?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6 Ouch! Too Harsh
01-30-2010, 12:52 PM
Lazy? Come on, in any large project there are priorities. Would you rather have a minor annoyance in the game which the player can work around or have a bug removed that crashes the game? Perhaps you would rather wait another few weeks to play?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
01-30-2010, 01:12 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by OzoneTX
Lazy? Come on, in any large project there are priorities. Would you rather have a minor annoyance in the game which the player can work around or have a bug removed that crashes the game?
The game crashes anyway. At least that way, we wouldn't have to remap our keys 12 times.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
01-30-2010, 01:22 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCeruleanSentinel View Post
"/bind_save_file SOMENAME_ground" ... "/bind_save_file SOMENAME_space" ...
"/bind_load_file SOMENAME_ground" or "/bind_load_file SOMENAME_space"
Many thanks for this lifesaver, I'll test it next time. :p
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
01-30-2010, 01:28 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by sodorfo View Post
is there a post that details all these /bind commands in detail?
I salvaged this linky from the archives. It contains a lot of binds from CO, my bet is a lot will be similar in STO.
So... more things to try out.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
01-30-2010, 01:34 PM
The command works but the file it generates doesnt get/save/load all the keybinds, many are rebound to the wrong key or simply not there at all. Cryptic don't seem to update this command when they change the underlying keybind commands.

Don't wory, they'll have it fixed just at about the time you have set up all the configs and UI's for each of your characters.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:06 AM.