Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 31
01-30-2010, 11:45 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anev
Please tell me they aren't using some dumb Windows attempt at a server. Though it would clear up things, since a Windows server can't handle any type of a strain.
There's no way they're using Windows; even newer servers running Server 2008 can't handle this load. It's almost certainly a Linux cluster of some flavor, maybe with some Sun or SGI servers, and a buttload of load-balancing servers (which tend to run Linux).

Windows is great for a small/medium business. Linux tends to scale at the high end much better; at the very it's more adaptable. Windows just hits a brick wall and that's that; 2008 scales much better than previous versions but carries a heavier footprint than Linux.

Anyhoo, if the servers are running Linux, that partially explains the extended downtime. Crashes can be tougher to track down and reboots can take forever. Even Windows servers can take 30+ minutes to reboot, not including any time for file/RAID verification, or cluster re-sync after a crash.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 32
01-30-2010, 11:46 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrAmyWeaver View Post
Edited for truth and greater experience in dealing with weekend support.
Good call!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 33
01-30-2010, 11:47 PM
It words of Eric Cartman "Screw you guys I'm going home"! Well in my case screw you guys I'm going to bed!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 34
01-30-2010, 11:47 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrAmyWeaver View Post
Edited for truth and greater experience in dealing with weekend support.
Hey man, the server room's the only place with enough ventilation for us to smoke a doob and not get caught!

Also locked racks, electrical boxes, and switches FTW.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 35
01-30-2010, 11:49 PM
Pst. Rumor is the guy running the servers has a Vulcan spread on the mainframe. Might be a while
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 36
01-30-2010, 11:50 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by twizeek View Post
Hey man, the server room's the only place with enough ventilation for us to smoke a doob and not get caught!

Also locked racks, electrical boxes, and switches FTW.
Ooh yes, I forgot. Pretty liiiights. Pretty!
Quote:
Pst. Rumor is the guy running the servers has a Vulcan spread on the mainframe. Might be a while
I heard it was the "Pleasure Goddess of Raxx" expansion test. Ah well.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 37
01-30-2010, 11:50 PM
No way for them to know what kind of load to expect? Perhaps for the open beta, but certainly not for the head start. They had weeks of open beta and lists of pre-orders to generate decent estimates of demand for head start (and release, for that matter). If their resources are inadequate by now it is their own fault, and some project managers need to be canned.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 38
01-30-2010, 11:52 PM
I'm not sure I buy the "not expecting so many" thing. Seems like someone at some point before head start would of ran a few queries to see how many preorder codes were activated in their database...
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:19 AM.