Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Cannot assign Numpad keys
01-30-2010, 05:28 AM
Anybody else got the same problem? I cannot assign Numpad keys

Win7 32bit, MS Keyboard

Or as a bandaid fix, anybody know where the keybinds are saved? I searched for them, but could only find config files for video settings etc.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
01-30-2010, 07:21 AM
Nope, the communist devs did not include the num pad keys in the controls, for reasons that can only be described as brain dead. I am very frustrated as I use the num pad keys in my basic key bind set up in every other MMO I play.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3 Try the following...
01-31-2010, 11:24 AM
Try making a text file, call it NumpadBinds.txt for example, and put the following in it:

Numpad1 "UseTraySlot1 0"
Numpad2 "UseTraySlot1 1"
Numpad3 "UseTraySlot1 2"
Numpad4 "UseTraySlot1 3"
Numpad5 "UseTraySlot1 4"
Numpad6 "UseTraySlot1 5"
Numpad7 "UseTraySlot1 6"
Numpad8 "UseTraySlot1 7"
Numpad9 "UseTraySlot1 8"
Numpad0 "UseTraySlot1 9"
Control+numpad1 "(null)"
Control+numpad2 "(null)"
Control+numpad3 "(null)"
Control+numpad4 "(null)"
Control+numpad5 "(null)"
Control+numpad6 "(null)"
Control+numpad7 "(null)"
Control+numpad8 "(null)"
Alt+numpad1 "(null)"
Alt+numpad2 "(null)"
Alt+numpad3 "(null)"
Alt+numpad4 "(null)"
Alt+numpad5 "(null)"
Alt+numpad6 "(null)"
Alt+numpad7 "(null)"
Alt+numpad8 "(null)"


Then, you can use the command /bind_load_file NumpadBinds.txt to load up the bind file and have your numpad keys invoke the powers slotted in tray #2. I think it's tray number two, but I could be wrong. I hope it'll work for you, because it does for me.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
01-31-2010, 01:35 PM
also you can just turn off Numlock while assigning keys to assign the numpad keys. Need numlock off for them to work, otherwise they function as Insert,Home,PageUp,Arrow keys etc.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
01-31-2010, 04:38 PM
Yeah, your num lock is on or STO is reading the Alt key being stuck. (For some reason, STO makes like it's stuck, when it isn't. Mine is a new keyboard and I rarely use the Alt Key).

So if you try keybinding to the keypad, check to see if it's reading the Alt Key in the Keybinding, and just tap on it a few times, then the keypad should become available.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:00 AM.