Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 11
02-02-2010, 06:25 PM
Try running this http://files.startrekonline.com/inst...line_setup.exe

Do not uninstall first, just install that over your copy.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 12
02-02-2010, 06:47 PM
Still get the same error as before when using your link, coderanger.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 13
02-02-2010, 07:37 PM
Ugh. Still no luck. It's like Star Trek Online.exe just kind of disappeared into a black hole.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 14
02-02-2010, 07:43 PM
Quote:
Ugh. Still no luck. It's like Star Trek Online.exe just kind of disappeared into a black hole.
You might want to erase the Cryptic Studios folder and reboot. Sounds like you have some kind of odd FS corruption that prevents writing that file.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 15
02-02-2010, 08:42 PM
Deleted the folder and its contents entirely. Rebooted afterwards.

Unfortunately, same results as before. Is it possible I have a bad disc?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 16
02-02-2010, 08:56 PM
Also, for any of the Cryptic naysayers out there that says that these people don't care about customer service, want to sell a broken game, only want their money, etc., read this entire thread. coderanger has been working with me patiently and diligently to try to get my issues squared away since early today. And he's been helping other people too.

It's just the launch period of the game. These things are expected and anticipated. Things will get better. Cynicism and throwing fits does not help things out. I haven't even gotten into the game yet, and I'm still keeping my patience in check and trying to work proactively instead of reactively with coderanger. I haven't even played yet, and I still have bought a lifetime subscription. Stay positive and keep your cool. I want to play the game just as eagerly as the rest of you who are experiencing problems with your game. And I know Cryptic wants you to play too.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 17
02-03-2010, 06:34 AM
Bloodpoint, this is starting to sound like a file system permissions issue.

If you feel like trying this, here is what I'd do. First, do you run XP, Vista or W7? Whichever it is, create a new account for your OS. I mean a new windows user account. This is just going to be a test to see if you have a corrupted user account. Once you've done that, and before you switch to that account, uninstall the game. Now go logon as that new user. Install the game from that new user. Also make sure that you set that new user as an Administrator account.

Now if that doesn't work, you may have some other issue. Uninstall the game. Defrag the drive. Reinstall. You may also want to run a CHKDSK on your drive to verify there are no issues with it.

Start -> Run -> "cmd"

At a command prompt, just enter "CHKDSK" by itself, no paramters. You just want to see what it finds first. If it indicates errors exist, you may want to use "CHKDSK /F" to tell it to fix them, or "CHKDSK /R" to tell it to find bad sectors and fix them. It's not going to let you do this right away because it you're in the OS already and it cannot lock it to fix errors, but it will post the request to be done on the next reboot.

Let us know what you find out.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 18
02-03-2010, 12:11 PM
Update

Noone's going to believe me, I know. But after a night's rest... I decided to just click the Installation setup again just for fun to see what happens. Expecting the usual, I was surprised to find NO ERRORS this time. I actually did absolutely nothing different this time. My last attempt at fixing it was coderanger's last suggestion, and I packed it in for the night when it didn't work.

So, it actually looks like it's installing as intended. I'm happily surprised the old "keep trying no matter how broken you think it is" method actually worked for once.

Thanks for the help!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 19
02-03-2010, 12:25 PM
Good to hear. Glad it worked out!

Odd that it magically started working. I would still defrag that disk if nothing else.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 20
02-03-2010, 12:43 PM
Yeah, definately gonna defrag it. My computer seems to be a very finnicky piece of machinery these days. I decided to order a new Asus gaming laptop with my tax return money, so (hopefully) my issues will become far less prominent.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:52 AM.