Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
Or at least that is what GPU Z is telling me. The second GPU has 0% load while the primary is at 80%.

Just to make sure GPUz wasn't broken i also checked with Far Cry 2. With that game both GPU's are utilized.

CCC is also reading the same thing that GPU'z sees.


I am not currently using any GPU limiting settings.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
02-15-2010, 01:46 AM
It's not Cryptic's fault that Ati hasn't supplied a Crossfire profile for STO yet. Besides microstutters, the requirement for CF / SLI profiles is one of the major drawbacks of multi GPU solutions.

Your problem may or may not be solved in one of the upcoming Catalyst driver releases. Check the release notes if they mention a STO CF profile has been added.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
02-15-2010, 01:50 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by LasseBlutstroemen
It's not Cryptic's fault that Ati hasn't supplied a Crossfire profile for STO yet. Besides microstutters, the requirement for CF / SLI profiles is one of the major drawbacks of multi GPU solutions.

Your problem may or may not be solved in one of the upcoming Catalyst driver releases. Check the release notes if they mention a STO CF profile has been added.
**Cries**

An ATI profile is not going to help because the game has to be coded to use dual/multiple GPUs. This is why buying SLI, Crossfire, or GTX295 ATI5970 is not always worth it.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
02-15-2010, 04:35 AM
STO should and does utilise both GPU's at least on my 4870x2 under XP and Win7

ive played arround with rivia tuner and checked over time that both GPU's are being used but if you run STO in a window or fullscreen window then SLI does not work you need to makesure STO is running full screen

under video troubleshooting makesure multicore rendering is still switched on, it should be on by default
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
02-15-2010, 04:42 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by USSWasabi
**Cries**

An ATI profile is not going to help because the game has to be coded to use dual/multiple GPUs. This is why buying SLI, Crossfire, or GTX295 ATI5970 is not always worth it.

It does use dual GPu's and even tri-gpu's. It's a fault in the driver for the latest GPU hardware. ATI and Nvidia have already acknowledged this, and ae ushign out driver updates and hotfixes faster than ever before to fix it.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:56 PM.