Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 491
02-17-2010, 08:48 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hadronflux View Post
My Macbook Pro is a 1920x1200 resolution and I'd like to run it in a lower resolution to increase framerate. For some reason the wrapper does not offer me any widescreen resolutions (just the 4:3 ones and my default desktop resolution). Any thoughts on how I could get 1440x900 or 1680x1050 as an option?
you need to run WineskinSettings.app inside of the wrapper... and in its Screen Options set it to start in a resolution that you want to start in. STO isn't detecting the hardware right, so has no idea what resolutions you can use. If you start it up with Wineskin set to like 1440x900, then STO will be able to use it since its the "desktop" resolution.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 492
02-17-2010, 08:58 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by doh123 View Post
I have no idea why it has the windows\\system32 in front... other than system32 is where winebrowser.exe is.... but it still looks fishy.
It's trying to resolve as a program, against %PATH%. Goodness knows why. You might get more mileage out of stracing it.

(If you still can't figure it out, I'll take a look)
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 493
02-17-2010, 09:57 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by doh123 View Post
Here is what my settings look like... most are grayed out near the bottom save a couple....

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/4486028/STO/STO%20Settings.png

There is a settings file located in the game folder... at "Cryptic Studios/Star Trek Online/Live/locadata/gameprefs.pref" I have not tried it, but I'd guess if you deleted this file, the patcher would re-download a default one....??? maybe? you can maybe try renaming it and see what happens.
I don't know if this was in response to Chris-Papa or me, but my setting looks identical to yours except that I can't put my Max Lights per Object setting to higher than 2. I'm not sure if that's the reason my starships aren't lit up or not. Basically my starships (and everyone else's starship for that matter) have dark gray boxes surrounding where the ship portholes are. And the starship name and registry number on the saucer aren't being lit up by anything. The only light on my Original Constitution class ship is on the impulse engines and the bussard collectors.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 494
02-17-2010, 10:12 PM
I find it fascinating the number of people wanting to or running STO on a laptop. I feel like I am in the minority by actually wanting to run it on a desktop machine. Why is there such an interest in running it on a laptop? Wouldn't you rather want to do it on a desktop that has a little more power?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 495
02-17-2010, 10:44 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveken View Post
I find it fascinating the number of people wanting to or running STO on a laptop. I feel like I am in the minority by actually wanting to run it on a desktop machine. Why is there such an interest in running it on a laptop? Wouldn't you rather want to do it on a desktop that has a little more power?
Because a majority of macs sold are laptops.

I play STO on my desktop and my macbook pro
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 496
02-17-2010, 10:47 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveken View Post
I find it fascinating the number of people wanting to or running STO on a laptop. I feel like I am in the minority by actually wanting to run it on a desktop machine. Why is there such an interest in running it on a laptop? Wouldn't you rather want to do it on a desktop that has a little more power?
because i have no interest in owning a desktop.... if gaming was my main focus of a computer, then I might consider it... but it would be hard to give up the portability.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 497
02-18-2010, 08:48 AM
I agree with you doh, I need the portability for work and the game runs fine on the laptop - so I see no reason to not play on it.

A follow-up question doh, you said that the wineskin may not have detected my hardware properly, I have the Nvidia 8600M-GT (512MB) in my MBP and when I started the game it said some warning about the video card not having the right 'capability' - but in windows everything works fine (bloom etc). Is there a way to force detection of the hardware or will running that WineSettings.app do the trick?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 498
02-18-2010, 11:59 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonathanMax
There are just as many Mac users as there are PC users.
Um, no there aren't.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 499
02-18-2010, 01:54 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hadronflux View Post
I agree with you doh, I need the portability for work and the game runs fine on the laptop - so I see no reason to not play on it.

A follow-up question doh, you said that the wineskin may not have detected my hardware properly, I have the Nvidia 8600M-GT (512MB) in my MBP and when I started the game it said some warning about the video card not having the right 'capability' - but in windows everything works fine (bloom etc). Is there a way to force detection of the hardware or will running that WineSettings.app do the trick?

Wine actually detects the graphics card fine... it just STO isn't able to get the information correctly from Wine. They added some Wine detection, but it doesn't figure out video cards.

It doesn't really matter if it has that error message or not, you just run default and its fine.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 500
02-18-2010, 06:54 PM
I've installed the Mac wrapper and been playing for a few hours today. It's been a lot of fun and great cause I can use both my monitors (which I can't do in BootCamp).

I've only noticed one thing and it seems that at points the depth seems off. Like I'll be fighting an escort and it looks like it's in front of me but it's really above me or behind me.

Am I crazy or is anyone else seeing this?

I'm on a 2.0GHz Core 2 Duo iMac with an X1600 running 10.6
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:00 PM.