Go Back   Star Trek Online > Support > Graphical and Sound Issues
Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 11
02-20-2010, 04:47 PM
Whats the current temperature while playing?

The halt temperature is 105C.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 12
02-20-2010, 04:48 PM
Oh wait did you say you used converters to get the 2x 6-pin?

Meaning, you used 4x 4-pin to get 2x 6pin?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 13
02-20-2010, 10:17 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skuggan
Oh wait did you say you used converters to get the 2x 6-pin?

Meaning, you used 4x 4-pin to get 2x 6pin?
No. I used the two six pin in the box.

I just did a wipe of the NVIDIA drivers from my system and reinstalled the patch 196.21. There had to have been a corrupted file in there because it isn't freezing my system now.

On to the game to see if that fixed the problem, though I will collect heat data on the CPU and GPU.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 14
02-20-2010, 11:55 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splyce View Post
welllllllll...... get us some temp readings
Ok...her5e are the heat stats

CPU 1 and CPU 2 both running steady at between55 and 60

GPU running steady at 85. Fan kicks in while running, but it never goes higher than that.

The best part...No freeze at all. Wiping the driver and reinstalling a fresh, up to date driver has done the trick it seems. I will keep playing and let you know if it freezes up again or not. I'll give it a few days trying out different video settings.

Thanks for the help guys.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 15
02-21-2010, 05:01 AM
Great to hear that you found the problem, hope you enjoy the game.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 16
02-21-2010, 07:36 AM
Ever since using the in-game video adjustments, under the troubleshooting tab, I have experienced much lower temperatures and have sacrificed very little, if virtually, any visual quality in the game, which is awesome. My CPU (AMD Phenom II 940) runs at about 35 Celsius and my GPU hits about 75, which is a very impressive temperature, when running a BFG GTX 285 OCX (1 GB). I'm very impressed with Cryptic, in providing those advanced video options. WAY TO GO!!
There's something that I would like to add, and that is, I personally don't recommend underclocking or adjusting the fan speed, on a GPU that is brand new, that carries a warranty with specific guidlines. Although it may alleviate excessive heat problems, it can also void warranties. For example, adjusting those settings and then for some reason, the card malfunctions and dies out, could leave someone stuck with a dead card and no warranty coverage.
BFG carries a line of awesome graphics cards, but doesnt support underclocking or adjusting anything
else, in their warranty coverage, unless it is a software or utility that is provided by them (Or at least, this is my understanding). And I have yet to find any software or utility provided by them, to make adjustments. But then again, there are GPU manufacturers out there, that allow you to make those particular adjustments.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 17
02-23-2010, 07:23 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skuggan
Great to hear that you found the problem, hope you enjoy the game.
OK guys, the problem has returned. Here are the temps. Don't think that's the problem

In Game: Core 0: 60 Core 1: 61 GPU: 85
Out Game: Core 0:30 Core 1: 31 GPU: 44-56

The biggest issue I am having is when I am not playing the game, my computer graphics freeze anyway. The only way I have found to fix it is to uninstall STO, then uninstall / reinstall the video driver (196.21).

I am baffled. Any ideas?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 18
02-24-2010, 07:22 AM
Please do give the overheating threads a read. The GTX 280 runs a bit hot to start with.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 19
02-24-2010, 08:43 AM
Interesting, I'm running a Nvidia 250 GTS with the very latest drivers with no problems on the highest setting(with 2xAA). Sounds like it might be a driver issue with your specific card.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 20
02-24-2010, 09:37 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by montemj View Post
Interesting, I'm running a Nvidia 250 GTS with the very latest drivers with no problems on the highest setting(with 2xAA). Sounds like it might be a driver issue with your specific card.
I know it isn't the driver for the card. When STO is on my system, I have this problem. When it isn't, I don't.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:55 AM.