Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Card issue or settings?
02-25-2010, 03:27 PM
I'm running a Radeon 3600 series with the latest drivers and Directx. I have the display settings as low as possible but my monitor consistently displays with colors and shapes covering the screen. I'm new to MMOs so I'm not sure if this is a problem where the card is lousy or it's user error before I buy a new card or dump STO.
Running Win 7 x64 with an Intel Core 2 Duo 2.53, 4 GB.

http://picasaweb.google.com/evan.aue...eat=directlink
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
02-25-2010, 04:09 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by easports82 View Post
I'm running a Radeon 3600 series with the latest drivers and Directx. I have the display settings as low as possible but my monitor consistently displays with colors and shapes covering the screen. I'm new to MMOs so I'm not sure if this is a problem where the card is lousy or it's user error before I buy a new card or dump STO.
Running Win 7 x64 with an Intel Core 2 Duo 2.53, 4 GB.

http://picasaweb.google.com/evan.aue...eat=directlink
buy a better card.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
02-25-2010, 05:07 PM
What u have there is artifacts.

STO has been notoriously tough on GPUs, even some higher end cards have been killed.

Chances are your 3600 just isnt able to process the detail the game requires, even on low settings.

System Requirements
OS: Windows XP SP2 / Windows Vista / Windows 7 (32 or 64-bit)
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo 1.8 Ghz or AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Memory: 1GB RAM
Video: NVIDIA GeForce 7950 / ATI Radeon X1800 / Intel HD Graphics
Sound: DirectX 9.0c Compatible Soundcard
DirectX: Version 9.0c or Higher
HDD: 8GB Free Disk Space
Network: Internet Broadband Connection Required
Disc: 6X DVD-ROM

Recommended System Configuration
OS: Windows XP SP2 / Windows Vista / Windows 7 (32 or 64-bit)
CPU: Intel E8400 Core 2 Duo or AMD Athlon X2 5600+
Memory: 2GB RAM+
Video: NVIDIA GeForce 8800 / ATI Radeon HD 3850+
Sound: DirectX 9.0c Compatible Soundcard
DirectX: Version 9.0c or Higher
HDD: 8GB Free Disk Space
Network: Internet Broadband Connection Required
Disc: 6X DVD-ROM

As you can see, your card is too old a series for this game, and isnt supported or recommended.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
02-26-2010, 04:24 AM
Are you using the ATI Tray Tools?
I also had these problems and found two solutions (Radeon X1950 btw):
Use the old Omega drivers (latest version is from 2008)
OR
Use the latest ATI drivers (in my case that's the 9.11 legacy drivers) with the ATI Tray Tools. Try clicking thru the different Direct3D-options while the game is running. "Enable High Quality AF" helped me out. No more colourful shapes here.

HTH!
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:15 PM.