Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Optional Objectives
12-14-2010, 09:15 PM
They aren't enabled yet, are they?

if they are- can you kindly point out to me how to set them up. I really dont want to have to force players of my mission to read background story of the mission if they don't want to
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
12-15-2010, 12:47 AM
Unfortunately, not enabled yet.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
12-15-2010, 01:10 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by MustrumRidcully View Post
Unfortunately, not enabled yet.
great. so now i get to shove story down the players throats.

i suppose i can dig that
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
12-15-2010, 02:34 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by apt.pupil
great. so now i get to shove story down the players throats.

i suppose i can dig that
You can still do some fun stuff without them. Heck, most of the game is still doing it exactly like that.

But it will certanly be more awesome once we have optional and branching options.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5 Not yet
12-15-2010, 06:05 AM
Would love to see some kind trigger effect so once you compete it something happens. fix all the damage parts of ships the red alert turns off. beam the people up 1st and you get to few patrols. The ability to remove or add things to the map would nice. So you get a perk for doing them.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
03-29-2011, 02:59 AM
A easy way to solve this problem would be to implement a condition to missions and give a virtual emblem or so. So you need to have done mission part 1 to be able to do mission part 2a or mission part 2b depending what choice (emblem) you made in mission part 1.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
03-29-2011, 03:27 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by apt.pupil
great. so now i get to shove story down the players throats.

i suppose i can dig that
Only if you lack imagination.

You can't have optional objectives listed but you can make alternate options that aren't expressed in the objective window. I've seen quite a few that leave the "how" up to the player, instead of forcing a player down a particular railroad.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
03-29-2011, 04:22 AM
There are all kinds of things that can be done now with optional objectives, choices, and triggers if you can avoid the story tab and use complex trigger set ups.

Branching missions are even possible now.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
03-29-2011, 04:39 AM
Yep, branching missions are possible. It is somewhat complicated as all parallel applications, but can be done.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
03-29-2011, 06:13 AM
Exactly. By using mostly triggers you can do a lot of optional stuff. It just isn't listed as an objective.

I did a lot of optional stuff on Tribble. Works very well.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:36 AM.