Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 21
01-07-2011, 01:16 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by dstahl View Post
I'm not certain we will have that luxury, as it will be tricky enough with versioning to get the copied missions to work (and we'll probably have to do some hand tweaking behind the scenes to get them to acknowledge Holodeck).

Many times Tribble is on a different codebase than Holodeck, so the feature you're asking for isn't as cut and dry as it may sound.

So for now, the reality is that missions will have to be remade when the Foundry is turned on for creation on Holodeck.
This is one of the reasons I have been trying to tell people to not pour their heart and soul into the Foundry on Tribble. Tribble is a test environment. Use Tribble to see what you can make and learn the tools so you can know how to make it. Save your good stuff, your real stories for Holodeck.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 22
01-07-2011, 05:00 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by dstahl View Post
I'm not certain we will have that luxury, as it will be tricky enough with versioning to get the copied missions to work (and we'll probably have to do some hand tweaking behind the scenes to get them to acknowledge Holodeck).

Many times Tribble is on a different codebase than Holodeck, so the feature you're asking for isn't as cut and dry as it may sound.

So for now, the reality is that missions will have to be remade when the Foundry is turned on for creation on Holodeck.
The way the Foundry is it seems to be somewhat separate from Holodeck on some basic level given that we have separate testing characters and load into a separate environment. Would it be possible to copy all our mission options from the editor temporarily from Tribble to our computers then upload them to Holodeck?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 23
01-08-2011, 07:53 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Powerhelm View Post
The way the Foundry is it seems to be somewhat separate from Holodeck on some basic level given that we have separate testing characters and load into a separate environment. Would it be possible to copy all our mission options from the editor temporarily from Tribble to our computers then upload them to Holodeck?
Or at least allow for the ability to export the options as a text file or something, then use them as a reference or better yet an import. If some options didn't make it to the foundry build, they would just be ignored.

Needless to say, it sounds like alot of folks have put in tremendous effort into their Tribble missions. It would be a tragedy to not leverage that on foundry launch day.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 24
01-10-2011, 06:22 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrys View Post
Or at least allow for the ability to export the options as a text file or something, then use them as a reference or better yet an import. If some options didn't make it to the foundry build, they would just be ignored.

Needless to say, it sounds like alot of folks have put in tremendous effort into their Tribble missions. It would be a tragedy to not leverage that on foundry launch day.
Not to mention that many of them will immediately log into the Foundry when it's live to begin remaking them and most likely destroy that server...
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:23 PM.