Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
I messed with this for hours today, and I'm convinced that it's a bug. Manipulating the state of a dialogue button in a branching dialogue tree does not work. The buttons always remain visible from the beginning, even if the objective to make them visible has yet to be complete.

To replicate:

Select the default text of an npc.
Create a random easter-egg like dialogue that isn't part of the mission objective.
Put an actual mission of objective in the map.
See if you can hide one of the buttons in the easter-egg dialogue, setting it to become visible only after the objective is complete.
Notice that it is visible regardless of the objective.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
03-02-2011, 06:30 PM
Kirkfat -- this is working perfectly for me.

What sort of map are you on? Which contact did you use? Do you have a lot of dialog branches?

Thanks!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
03-02-2011, 08:06 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeroniusRex
Kirkfat -- this is working perfectly for me.

What sort of map are you on? Which contact did you use? Do you have a lot of dialog branches?

Thanks!
Maybe I'm just doing something wrong. I've tried it multiple ways, usually it being the simplest way that I can think of doing it. Perhaps, if someone can give me steps or instructions on exactly how to do this, I'll realize that I've overlooked something. As it is, I cannot do anything that makes a dialogue button or choice become visible after an objective complete, and I have no idea how to do this in conjunction with a pop-up, considering that pop-ups are one time events that I cannot revisit after putting in a popup in the story tab.

I'm really at my wits ends here trying to understand how branching dialogue and triggers are incorporated, and I can't find anyone else who understands it.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
03-03-2011, 11:29 AM
The way I set it up is pretty simple.

Place an object on a map.
Create an interact objective associated with it.
Place a contact on that map.
Turn on Default prompt.
Go to the advanced dialog editor for this dialog.
Click to add a new button and customize the text of each button.
Add a new dialog node below one of the buttons.
Now, select one of the buttons in the properties panel.
In Button Visibility State, change the When: from immediately to Objective Complete. Select the Interact Objective you made.

Preview the map.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
03-03-2011, 02:52 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeroniusRex
The way I set it up is pretty simple.

Place an object on a map.
Create an interact objective associated with it.
Place a contact on that map.
Turn on Default prompt.
Go to the advanced dialog editor for this dialog.
Click to add a new button and customize the text of each button.
Add a new dialog node below one of the buttons.
Now, select one of the buttons in the properties panel.
In Button Visibility State, change the When: from immediately to Objective Complete. Select the Interact Objective you made.

Preview the map.
Yes, this is exactly what I did. Thank you for clarifying. I wonder why it wasn't working for me. I will try again. Thanks again.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
03-03-2011, 04:37 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeroniusRex
The way I set it up is pretty simple.

Place an object on a map.
Create an interact objective associated with it.
Place a contact on that map.
Turn on Default prompt.
Go to the advanced dialog editor for this dialog.
Click to add a new button and customize the text of each button.
Add a new dialog node below one of the buttons.
Now, select one of the buttons in the properties panel.
In Button Visibility State, change the When: from immediately to Objective Complete. Select the Interact Objective you made.

Preview the map.
OK, thanks. I figured out what I was doing wrong. I didn't realize that the buttons with the default "continue" had triggers.

I was setting the dialog node to invisible but not the button itself. So, if the button is visible, so will the dialog that comes after it, even if the dialog node is set to invisible.

Thanks!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
03-03-2011, 05:58 PM
Oh! That's interesting. I see the confusion that could bring... Hmm. Well at least you've got it working now!
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:52 PM.