Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
So I have a section of 'Complete All' where you have to talk to various people on the planet. Then, once you've done that, a Pop Up dialogue is supposed to pop up as someone hails you. Unfortunately, it sticks right after completing all the previous objects and never shows the pop up dialogue.

Nor does it think I've finished the mission. It shows all the green checkmarks next to the previous objectives, but then you're just wandering around, waiting for the pop up that doesn't... pop up.

I can't continue on to the rest of the mission, which unfortunately is most of it, since this happens after the first set of objectives.

What's going on? Can I fix it or do I have to wait for a patch? Is it something to do with the Advanced Dialogue?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
03-03-2011, 06:26 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vulcan.Skon View Post
So I have a section of 'Complete All' where you have to talk to various people on the planet. Then, once you've done that, a Pop Up dialogue is supposed to pop up as someone hails you. Unfortunately, it sticks right after completing all the previous objects and never shows the pop up dialogue.

Nor does it think I've finished the mission. It shows all the green checkmarks next to the previous objectives, but then you're just wandering around, waiting for the pop up that doesn't... pop up.

I can't continue on to the rest of the mission, which unfortunately is most of it, since this happens after the first set of objectives.

What's going on? Can I fix it or do I have to wait for a patch? Is it something to do with the Advanced Dialogue?
It's probably the advanced dialogue. I am having problems with it when I have multiple branches with multiple conversation ending points. The game won't recognize that I've finished that conversation, no matter which branch I picked.

To work around it, I have to bring all the branches back together at the end.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
03-03-2011, 12:56 PM
I can't reproduce this, so I probably need more specific information.

Can you get me your special project id so I can look at how you've got your dialog and mission set up, please?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
03-03-2011, 04:18 PM
ST-TMQA4G9NB is my ID
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
03-03-2011, 06:51 PM
Thanks!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
03-03-2011, 07:51 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeroniusRex
Thanks!
Hey, no problem. This mission is all done and ready to be published except for this one problem. I'm all excited to get it it out there, so anything I can do to help you find the problem... so I can fix it.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
03-06-2011, 07:16 PM
Ok, so I have fixed the mission, and this should help any others stuck in this.

What I originally created used a Complete All section. In it, there were three people you needed to go talk to (Contact). You would come up to them, and talk to them. The first dialogue box would pop up, which (in Story editor mode) was the text in the "Talk to Contact" mission box. Then, I would add a Pop Up dialogue underneath that, continuing the talking and using the Advanced Dialogue function.
So there was a gap, a transition between a "Talk to Contact" and "Pop up Dialogue". So when I just used the Advanced dialogue function of the actual "Talk to Contact" box, and did away with the extra Pop Up Dialogue, the mission was fixed.

I'm guessing it has something to do with the Pop Up Dialogue Advanced Dialogue not working as well, or the fact that you had to complete these missions, but most of hte mission was actually in Pop Up form.

Either way, it works now and is published.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
03-08-2011, 05:29 PM
Sorry it took me so long to get back to you -- but I think I know the problem with your project.

There's a bug that popup dialogs with branches will halt mission progression, and it looks like that's what you're running into here.

The good news is that I hope to get a fix for that later today or tomorrow.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
03-09-2011, 03:07 AM
Good to hear. Even though it's fixed, I can easily see an occurance where I'd run into it again, so once it's fixed I'll be much happier. Thanks for you hard work Zeronius!
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:05 PM.