Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Interacting with Consoles
03-25-2011, 01:47 PM
Id like the player char interact with a computer console. When the player uses the console, a dialog should start, like the "Enemy mine" - Mission, where a player needs to use a console to decrypt a message. Is that possible in foundry yet?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2 Nope
03-25-2011, 03:00 PM
I wish it was but it is't yet
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3 Yes it can...
03-25-2011, 03:37 PM
In the map you wish this to happen, you will need the following objects...

1. A console.
2. An invisible object (10ft)
3. A Place Marker
4. A Dialog Marker



First

Place the console, visible immediately, never hidden


Second

Place a place marker on top of the console.


Third

Place the invisible object on top of the console, immediately hidden, visible on component reached of the place marker. On the invisible object, in the trigger menu, edit the 'Interact' button to what you want it to say, like 'Access Console' or whatever, but the trigger menu won't show up until you do the fourth...


Fourth

Place the dialog marker and make it visible on component complete of the invisible object.


now you have a console when approached will trigger the invisible object to interact with, once the interaction with the console is done the dialog will pop up.

this is just one way to do it too...

hope this helps your mission
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
03-25-2011, 03:40 PM
Sounds very good. Ill try that - thank you.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
03-25-2011, 03:51 PM
You could also skip the invisible object and use the console itself as a trigger. However, this will mean that the console will flash.

the question is, is flashing items good or bad? Most of the time, I use an invisible object like Elkysium explained. Sometimes, however, I want the player to see immediately what he can interact with.

Also, you can use several invisible objects that have different triggers but actually only one flashing console (except if you remove and replace the console all the time).
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6 Build in
03-25-2011, 03:59 PM
Can you do that also with example a bridge console that build into the map ??
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
03-25-2011, 04:02 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cooter1978
Can you do that also with example a bridge console that build into the map ??
Should work just fine that way

Though you may have to adjust the radius so the player can hit it.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
03-26-2011, 01:20 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cooter1978
Can you do that also with example a bridge console that build into the map ??

Well, you cannot select a map console as an interactive object, so no flashing there. But the thing with the invisible object always for - for everything. That's why there are invisible objects, I guess.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
03-26-2011, 06:52 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elkysium View Post
In the map you wish this to happen, you will need the following objects...

1. A console.
2. An invisible object (10ft)
3. A Place Marker
4. A Dialog Marker



First

Place the console, visible immediately, never hidden


Second

Place a place marker on top of the console.


Third

Place the invisible object on top of the console, immediately hidden, visible on component reached of the place marker. On the invisible object, in the trigger menu, edit the 'Interact' button to what you want it to say, like 'Access Console' or whatever, but the trigger menu won't show up until you do the fourth...


Fourth

Place the dialog marker and make it visible on component complete of the invisible object.


now you have a console when approached will trigger the invisible object to interact with, once the interaction with the console is done the dialog will pop up.

this is just one way to do it too...

hope this helps your mission
Works perfect, but only one time. What do Ihave to add, when I want to "use" the console again and again?
Is it able to create a task with this system, that is completed, when the player uses a special dialog path?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
03-26-2011, 07:04 AM
As I said, just place several invisible objects on top og each other (or, actually, whithin each other) and let the second (third,...) invisible object become "visible" (so to speak) when the previous invisible object had been triggered.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:59 PM.