Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Disconnecing all the time
07-17-2011, 08:41 AM
I keep getting disconnected that is repeatable since friday night. I have contacted cox cable and they see no issues with my signal. I have bypassed my router and tested this with other online games. There are no issues that occur with connection to other online games I have per connection. Is anyone else having the same issue?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
07-17-2011, 02:02 PM
testing with other games is not a valid test as each game is a different server location has a different path to the server, uses different ports, have different packet configuration, different latencies requirememts.

post the results of a tracert patchserver.crypticstudios.com and a nettest


Nettest:
Go to http://files.champions-online.com/nettest.exe
Download this file and run it
A command prompt should appear running the test automatically

For good connections, column 1 and 3 have values around 500 kb/sec (outgoing/incoming), column 2 has values around 20 kb/sec (transfer rate). If the values in these columns is less than what is expected you may have filtering or blocked ports either on your personal network or from your ISP.
then there will be hard data for people to work with.
also include your location and connection type ie wire or wireless.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
07-17-2011, 03:44 PM
tracert patchserver.crypticstudios.com

1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1
2 7 ms 8 ms 7 ms 10.114.32.1
3 8 ms 9 ms 9 ms 70.169.77.242
4 10 ms 10 ms 9 ms mcdlcorc01-pos-0-7-0-0.ph.ph.cox.net [70.169.72.
72]
5 14 ms 12 ms 9 ms mcdldsrj01-ae2.0.rd.ph.cox.net [70.169.76.225]
6 68 ms 68 ms 24 ms langbprj02-ae2.rd.la.cox.net [68.1.1.19]
7 24 ms 23 ms 22 ms te0-0-0-2.ccr21.lax01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.6.229]
8 51 ms 49 ms 51 ms te0-0-0-5.ccr21.iah01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.0.222]
9 79 ms 80 ms 78 ms te0-0-0-2.ccr21.atl01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.24.17]
10 77 ms 78 ms 79 ms te0-0-0-3.ccr21.dca01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.28.201]
11 84 ms 84 ms 84 ms te0-6-0-1.ccr21.jfk02.atlas.cogentco.com [66.28.
4.125]
12 90 ms 90 ms 89 ms te0-3-0-2.ccr22.bos01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.44.46]
13 113 ms 203 ms 206 ms te4-2.ccr01.bos06.atlas.cogentco.com [66.28.4.25
4]
14 98 ms 92 ms 103 ms 38.111.40.114
15 137 ms 131 ms 90 ms 208.95.185.41

Trace complete.
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Cat5e- no wireless
Linksys Router: WRT310Nv2
OS: Windows 7 64bit


nettest
contacting nettest server..
Local IP: ***.**.***.***.***
Ping: 130.4 msec
Port: 80: 12 KB/sec 5 KB/sec 40 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 65 KB/sec 4 KB/sec 68 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 500 KB/sec 17 KB/sec 526 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 244 KB/sec 12 KB/sec 258 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 788 KB/sec 27 KB/sec 836 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 615 KB/sec 21 KB/sec 651 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 606 KB/sec 20 KB/sec 638 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 11 KB/sec 1 KB/sec 21 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202:




C:\Users\Mark>ping patchserver.crypticstudios.com -*-***

Pinging patchserver.crypticstudios.com [208.95.185.41] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=90ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=90ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=89ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=89ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=91ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=89ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=92ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=90ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=92ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=91ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=90ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=91ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=94ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=91ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=92ms TTL=50
Request timed out.
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=90ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=91ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=92ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=90ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=91ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=89ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=91ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=90ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=90ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=91ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=88ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=90ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=88ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=94ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=91ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=90ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=89ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=89ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=90ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=88ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=89ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=88ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=88ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=89ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=90ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=89ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=93ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=90ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=89ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=91ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=91ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=89ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=93ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=90ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=91ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=89ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=92ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=90ms TTL=50
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=88ms TTL=50


Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_gdr.110408-1631)
System Manufacturer: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
System Model: GA-890FXA-UD5
BIOS: Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
Processor: AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1090T Processor (6 CPUs), ~3.2GHz
Memory: 16384MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 16382MB RAM
Page File: 3949MB used, 28812MB available
Windows Dir: C:\Windows
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
User DPI Setting: 120 DPI (125 percent)
System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
DxDiag Version: 6.01.7601.17514 32bit Unicod
Video: ATI 5850


Thank you~!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
07-17-2011, 04:40 PM
interestingly enough i also live in pheonix use cox and windows 7 home 64bit and i am having the exact same problem today on 7/17 any progress you make would be great. also keep in mind you are not alone in this annoying issue
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
07-19-2011, 09:03 AM
Update: I reformated my hard drive and ran all OS updates- I installed STO in programfiles(86) instead of where it was installed of the default settings. So far so good. I did nto have to do the old windows 7 work around to patch or runt he game. I was able to get out of SOL. This is not resolved as I am testing.

I was also running AVG free edition. Can anyone suggest another anti virus software?

So far so good.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
07-19-2011, 03:21 PM
best free anti virus is AVG, Avast, or even the Microsoft Security Essentials.

I was getting lag locked/ server disconnect issues recently up until the night before last.
So in all, The game was mostly unplayable for three days.
Funny enough though, this was only happening to Fed characters.

I did safe mode, force verify, delete hogg files, disable vivox, disable on demand patching,
network tests, router tests, computer verifications, Cox Cable call, and a few other things.
also disabled UPnP on router, gave STO full permissions through system and firewall.
even re-installed, nothing worked.

I'm now able to play however though not sure what was the actual culprit.
I did have a couple trouble tickets in, though no response from those.
The best I could figure was something on the account/server side was glitched up along
with it not being able to send appropriate information responses when loading.

Sorry to those that are looking for a solution. Just not sure what it is.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
07-19-2011, 10:19 PM
For me half the issue was my Windows's 7 and the rest is on the studios side, no biggie. With the direction of the game these are just kinks to work out. Still loving you STO team. Load balancing is just a kink.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8 Tired of the nettest answer
07-20-2011, 12:41 AM
There is noting wrong with my modem, my software, my NIC card, my router, or the family pet. I had no issue with server instability until server instability was "fixed".
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
07-20-2011, 02:15 PM
My connectivity issues began right after Season 4 went live. Since then it has gotten better and then worse again after the recent stability "fixes' of July 15th.

I sincerely hope they fix this soon. It is getting frustrating getting DC'd constantly. I'm at work and can't give the details of my machine or a cup/paste of DX dIag. I'll try to get to it later on.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:30 PM.