Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Touch Screen compatibility
07-18-2011, 10:18 AM
One thing I would love to see is better touch screen compatibility. I have a touch screen monitor I use, just not in STO because STO is sluggish when it comes to touch screen input. I have tried different things to see if anything would help with the sluggishness and to see if I could get 1-touch to work but alas nothing seems to change. I have tested my touchscreen with other games and programs and the reaction rate and the ability to 1-touch a button changes with each program. Some it works perfectly, others.... not so much. This tells me it is a compatibility issue of sorts.

Is there any way that this could be implemented? Like in the options menu or controls. Something we can set up and change.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
07-20-2011, 10:07 PM
I've been playing with this myself. I too have to double tap to activate powers. I'm thinking of writing a program to take touchscreen input and apply a double click event to it to work around this. I just have to figure out how to trigger that mouse event and I want to ensure there is no existing setting for this before I spend the time to write a custom solution.

I specifically got a new touchscreen xps laptop from Dell for this, but the double tapping powers killed it for me.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
07-22-2011, 07:34 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sketch5430 View Post
I've been playing with this myself. I too have to double tap to activate powers. I'm thinking of writing a program to take touchscreen input and apply a double click event to it to work around this. I just have to figure out how to trigger that mouse event and I want to ensure there is no existing setting for this before I spend the time to write a custom solution.

I specifically got a new touchscreen xps laptop from Dell for this, but the double tapping powers killed it for me.
I don't have a touch-screen myself but I may be able to help with your workaround - What are you coding in?

I've got a VB.Net 3.5 dll which does Win32API calls to hook the keyboard and intercept/simulate keystrokes - You could quite easily convert it to handle mouse/touchscreen input.

I think I've also got the equivalent kicking around in an old C++ Dll but I've got no idea if it's compatible with anything after WinXP (Last time I touched it).

Anyway, if you'd like the code, let me know
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
07-23-2011, 12:47 PM
For me its not a really a double tap that is happening here with mine. if i touch and hold for 1 second it will activate most buttons. On dialog I have to touch hold(1 second), slide just slightly then let go and it activates the options. It wouldn't take much to get this to work. Since my touch screen is a separate device independent of my mouse and keyboard. An option in STO that would recognize and fix these issues, and maybe some customizable options, would do wonders. I could even position my touch screen at a slight angle like the consoles in Star trek. Using a dual screen setup I could put an Lcars on the touch screen. That would be most immersive.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
07-23-2011, 02:37 PM
I'm working c#.net. I can probably use that VB.dll for reference at least. Would you mind emailing me?

Also, there is a solution if you're working with two monitors. The STOAdvanced YHTK program does put a touch screen LCARS display on one monitor, but i've found setting it up to be very difficult.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
07-25-2011, 02:55 PM
too bad their domain name is no longer valid...
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
07-26-2011, 04:07 AM
Ok, so in case anyone wants/needs this... PM me with an email address and I'll email it (and to save us all time, if this post is more than 6 months old, don't bother )

Code is a fully functional .Net4/VS2010 Solution with 3 assemblies - 1 defines an interface, 1 haas the code itself and the third is a simple console app test harness.

Needless to say, you can easily strip out the important bits if you prefer a different architecture
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
07-26-2011, 11:47 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sketch5430 View Post
I've been playing with this myself. I too have to double tap to activate powers. I'm thinking of writing a program to take touchscreen input and apply a double click event to it to work around this. I just have to figure out how to trigger that mouse event and I want to ensure there is no existing setting for this before I spend the time to write a custom solution.

I specifically got a new touchscreen xps laptop from Dell for this, but the double tapping powers killed it for me.
I have been working on a program since the game was lanuched that allows for a PADD. It works but the response time have issues, I am trying to resolve that as well.

(The PADD is a small 15in touch screen)
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9 touch screen
07-26-2011, 03:41 PM
i have a touch screen too. i tried the program that uses a new window that i think is some what the same for the ipad, but i didnt seem to get into it. what i do is used a game pad like the belkin n52te and my touch screen. like that i feel like i am seeing more what imagine the tactical console is seeing. doing it the other way is frustrating to me unless i have my touchscreen (main screen) laying down on the desk and the secondary screen suspended. but if i do that then all the other things i do with my computer (other games and typing in general) will be come more difficult. i would prefer to move the camera and tap once to fire my weapons and generally interact with the game a little more easily. honestly i thought i was the only one with this issue.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:57 PM.