Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Klingon Cloaking Bug
10-27-2011, 06:51 PM
We have been waiting 10 months on holodeck for the fix to the Klingon cloaking bug to no avail, maybe getting it fixed on tribble would be easier. This bug is an enviroment issue and not a ship or power bug, which requires a programmer to go back and strip the coding then replace it on each patch to correct the problem. Since there are less patches on tribble would it not be wise to correct it now?
The problem is if you are not familiar, anytime there is a pop up dialog if the ship is cloaked it will decloak the ship.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
10-27-2011, 07:08 PM
They don't have the resources to fix it.
They need their employees to make more non combat pets and emote packs.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
10-27-2011, 07:13 PM
iirc one of the devs said that it wasn't an easy fix, and was going to take a while, but that they were hoping to fix it asap.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
10-27-2011, 07:20 PM
They said that in march
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
10-27-2011, 07:32 PM
I think 10 months is more than enough to be patient. It is not an easy fix because of the reason why i stated above. Since they will replace the holodeck environment with the f2p model, this is the perfect time to get the fix in. There are less patches to go and remove code and replace with the fix. With each month passing, it will get harder and harder because of the minimal of 4 patches each month. Holodeck there would be minimal of 40 patches to go back and fix. At least on tribble they are looking at maybe a dozen.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
10-27-2011, 07:39 PM
What good is a battle cloak that fails because of the narrator... I must have missed that episode of Star Trek.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
I recall several dev posts back when season 4 was released about how there is no longer a cloaking bug and that things are working as intended. It is intended (for story purposes and such) that whenever my tactical officer on my BOP needs to tell me something that he gets on a subspace loud speaker and makes sure taht everyone in the quadent hear's what he has to say because it is well know fact that most klingons are in fact deaf!

So obvioulsy if Cryptic has already told us this is not a bug, there is not going to be any "fix" regardless of how often we attempt to bring it back to their attention.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
10-28-2011, 03:05 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xablis
I recall several dev posts back when season 4 was released about how there is no longer a cloaking bug and that things are working as intended. It is intended (for story purposes and such) that whenever my tactical officer on my BOP needs to tell me something that he gets on a subspace loud speaker and makes sure taht everyone in the quadent hear's what he has to say because it is well know fact that most klingons are in fact deaf!

So obvioulsy if Cryptic has already told us this is not a bug, there is not going to be any "fix" regardless of how often we attempt to bring it back to their attention.
QFT. It is apparently a hard thing to fix, so the "fix" is to tell us it isn't broken and is actually intended that our bridge officers can not talk to us without first turning the cloaking device off.

What hope do we really have with thinking like this...
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
10-28-2011, 03:08 AM
Well yes... Cryptic realized that cloak in a primarily klingon feature and just decidet to consider the bug as intendet so they wouldnt have to put work there.
And now they wonder why we do not really trust them any more.

I mean of course, Its completly logical if cloak my ship to avoid enemy detection to have it decloaked the very second my BO reports the enemy i want to hide from arrives. Completly logical.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
10-28-2011, 09:16 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by pr1983 View Post
iirc one of the devs said that it wasn't an easy fix, and was going to take a while, but that they were hoping to fix it asap.
They also said the KDF was going to have full PvE content before launch...
And Season 4 was going to bring lots of new Klingon content...
And the next Featured Episodes would be in September...
need I go on...?
Maybe in 2012, if they have nothing else to do...
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:57 AM.