Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
Hi,

is it possible to play STO on a system with an Intel Core i3 2125 (IGP = Intel Graphics HD 3000) and without an extra graphic card on a resolution of 1920*1080?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
01-29-2012, 10:34 PM
I reccommed heading to Can You Run It and seein if you pass mininmum specs, without knowing your full system specs and assuming your on a laptop you might just scrape minimum.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
01-30-2012, 01:21 PM
^ Agree.

You can try to install the game if you have the bandwidth and patience, but please keep in mind that integrated Intel GPUs are not designed to handle 3d games very well past a certain point. Especially when it is built into the CPU. (personal opinions)

The system requirements on the download page are a good guide for comparing what you should have for hardware.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
01-30-2012, 02:21 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by xth3xr34p3rx View Post
I reccommed heading to Can You Run It and seein if you pass mininmum specs, without knowing your full system specs and assuming your on a laptop you might just scrape minimum.
Well, according to" can you run it" I can't run STO.
It's a good thing i didnt run that before I bought the game, since I've been a daily player since season 1.1
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
01-30-2012, 03:07 PM
The game is free to play, so it costs you nothing to download it and see

Later, if you wish to upgrade the game from free to play, you can.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
01-30-2012, 03:50 PM
Yes, it will run on the Intel HD 3000. I'm (temporarily) running the game on the Mobile Intel 4 chipset, which is definitely a class below the HD 3000 (not that that's saying much).

It doesn't look great, but it will definitely go.

Now, will it comfortably push 1920x1080? Can't help you there, but my Core2Duo laptop runs at 1280x800 with no lag (again, though, with the quality options set fairly low).

It's free, so just try it and see if it's acceptable to you.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
01-30-2012, 04:11 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by darthpanda16 View Post
The game is free to play, so it costs you nothing to download it and see
Unless of course your in many of the regions that throttle/charge for bandwidth so downloading the entire client + patch sizes kinda doesn't 'cost you anything to download', lol. On the brightside you could go to the local Starbucks and try it
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
01-30-2012, 05:26 PM
Very true. Bandwidth caps are not cool
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
02-07-2012, 05:26 PM
Here's a fun tidbit of information:

Quote: "Now, you can enjoy immersive2 gaming on titles that are optimized for Intel® HD Graphics, such as Star Trek Online*."

This was taken from the official Intel® HD Graphics site: HERE

Who knew!?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
02-07-2012, 05:36 PM
I've run this on a Intel 900 series integrated chip on my laptop (lowest settings)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:44 PM.