Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
This may seem like a minor thing, but it is very irritating. Basically, in most programs if you copy, it will only actually take effect if something is selected to be copied. In the Foundry, copy occurs even if nothing is selected, resulting in "nothing" being copied, and whatever was previously held in the clipboard is overwritten by nothing.

The problem is, this can occur pretty easily. V is right next to C on the keyboard, so sometimes when you intend to paste via Ctrl-V, you will accidentally hit Ctrl-C and then your clipboard is cleared because "nothing" was copied.

Please change it so the copy function does not take place if nothing is selected.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
02-03-2012, 07:33 PM
I don't think you really need instructions to recreate this, but just in case use the following steps.

Write some text in a dialogue box, then select it and use ctrl-C to copy it.

Next, click the cursor so nothing is selected and hit ctrl-c again.

Now try to paste using ctrl-v and nothing will be pasted, because you just copied nothing, clearing whatever was previously in the clipboard.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
02-04-2012, 04:56 PM
Worst thing in the world. If any tool was to have a bug let it not be this one.

This thread also refers to this one. http://forums.startrekonline.com/sho...d.php?t=250698
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:25 PM.