Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 21
02-08-2012, 02:55 PM
I can't vouch for anything earlier then the STO F2P launch, but if you guys will send us your system and software info, we can try and find compatibility issues that might be causing this.

Sometimes it is an obscure toolbar installed in a web browser (because the launcher uses IE apis) somewhere, a plugin, a Javascript setting, some port forwarding or proxy weirdness going on, some ISPs throttling game traffic for some games and not others (not your ISP per se, it could be one between yours and our servers), and a variety of other shenanigans that can be going on that many of us overlook.

Most players enjoy the game fine, and others have network connection issues, which we try to solve the best we can.

It is a process of elimination. Which games, which location servers have more problems, and more.

Work with us and we will try and help you figure this out
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 22
02-08-2012, 03:02 PM
I've seen this problem brought up on other games, particularly with certain routers, and particularly with Charter (though not exclusively).

Something changed in the way STO forms connections since S4 (I think). I suspect it's related to voice chat but I have no concrete evidence for this.

One friend of mine just brought this problem up to me yesterday. We replaced his router with an old Linksys running DD-WRT; I upped the default # of connections in the NAT pool and the problem vanished.

Now, if you want to debate whether that's Cryptic's fault or the router manufacturer's fault, be my guest. Only a few games seem to do this, and only on a few routers. On the other hand, replacing a router is a lot easier (at least for testing purposes) than getting a rewrite to Cryptic's code, particularly if Cryptic cannot reproduce the problem internally.

Just my $0.02. I don't care either way, since I'm not having the problem.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 23
02-09-2012, 09:03 AM
FYI, in another thread someone confirmed that disabling voice chat fixed the problem for him. This only reinforces my suspicion that it's related to Vivox.

Anyway, give that a try and see if it helps.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 24
02-10-2012, 02:12 PM
Update:

I have finally had time to contact Charter (my ISP) and discuss this problem. In order to have my router replaced without being charged a service charte is to try a 1 month trial of 30 mbps download speed access which is double my current 15 mbps speed. This will cost me $10 on my bill but it is a non-binding trial and they send a tech out to replace my router for free since I need a better one to handle the increased speed.

This should eliminate the problem however it may cost me an additional 10 dollars a month simply to play STO. It's possible I will want to keep the speed upgrade as I'm sure it will, at least, be a noticeable improvement for my internet gaming experience.

I will continue to update this thread and let you know of my findings.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 25
02-11-2012, 08:04 AM
Update:

So my speed/bandwidth has increased slightly from approximately 15 MBPS to 18-19 MBPS but that seems to be the limit the old router can handle. This has had no effect in preventing the disconnect issue. I'll have to wait until Wednesday the 15th to get my new router installed at which point I will have the full 30 MBPS bandwidth and the new router.

I have serious doubts as to whether or not this will solve the issue. Even if this does solve the issue; the blame for this issue still falls squarely upon the STO Development Staff. No other game in existence causes this issue. I am extremely angry about this problem and I'll be even more angry if fixing the problem is going to cost me an additional 120 dollars per year. 15 mpbs is MORE than enough speed to play any other online game in existence. I'm sure it will be a cold day in hell before an STO Dev Team member explains what the design flaw is in the game but it is surely a design flaw.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 26
02-11-2012, 08:11 AM
Also I don't know if anyone noticed but DarthPanda16 still hasn't offered a single solution to me about this issue. In fact instead of giving me a solution I got sent an official warning about my numerous posts in the forums about this issue.

I guess this is how STO does business. If you complain about their product, they threaten to ban you from the forurms. Very classy. Real Classy.

I will NOT stop posting about this issue. If you ban me I will make another forum name and continue to post about it. Furthermore you are only hurting your own business by treating me this way. It's pathetic and wrong. Why don't you do your job and attempt to fix this issue instead of blowing us off and telling us the problem is our fault.

It's not a java setting or a toolbar or anything else you suggested. THE PROBLEM IS WITH THE DESIGN OF STAR TREK ONLINE!!

YOU tell ME how to fix it!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 27
02-11-2012, 08:30 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdSin15 View Post
It's not a java setting or a toolbar or anything else you suggested. THE PROBLEM IS WITH THE DESIGN OF STAR TREK ONLINE!!

YOU tell ME how to fix it!

See, the problem here AdSin is that when your told how to fix the problem, you then insist "No, your all wrong! The problem is with X not Y!"
Now I seem to have been getting far better luck with my connection to the server. Previously I'd disconnect after about 2-4 minutes, now I'm staying connected for upwards of half an hour most of the time.
I can try and help you solve the problem in the same way I did, if your willing to work with me, mate.

Assuming you chose to, I'll need you to go to StarTrekOnline/Live/logs/GameClient and open up Clientservercomm.LOG. Then copy and paste roughly the last 20 lines you see here.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 28
02-11-2012, 08:53 AM
Ok here they are. I dismiss the answers which suggest I have to devote hours of time hunting for the problem on my own and fixing it on my own. I expect an answer from the STO staff which defines the problem and gives a clear step by step instruction on how to fix the problem. I don't think I'm being unreasonable here.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 29
02-11-2012, 09:21 AM
From the looks of that log, it almost seems that your incoming data is functioning normally, but your outgoing data is not being sent/received. The log also says the the reason behind your disconnections is the 15 minute idle limit of the game. I would suggest, assuming you have not already done so, that you try bypassing your router and shut down all anti-virus programs along with windows firewall. Once that has all been done, run the game in administrator mode, then play until you are disconnected. Once the disconnection occurs, go back to the Clientsevercomm logs, copy them, and paste them back here.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 30
02-11-2012, 09:34 AM
It says Im DC'ed because of the 15 minute idle limit every time. I was only in the game for 5 minutes when it said that and I also wasn't idle.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:45 PM.