Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 11 Qos
02-14-2010, 01:47 PM
I want to know the ports so I can properly setup quality of service on my router. Anyone know the ports and have a link verify this?

EDIT: Found my answer here. http://forums.startrekonline.com/sho...t=60269&page=3
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 12
02-14-2010, 02:16 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngryMathDave
I want to know the ports so I can properly setup quality of service on my router. Anyone know the ports and have a link verify this?

EDIT: Found my answer here. http://forums.startrekonline.com/sho...t=60269&page=3
That answer is wrong, the correct answer is tcp/7000-7500.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 13
02-15-2010, 02:44 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by coderanger
That answer is wrong, the correct answer is tcp/7000-7500.
Why didn't you just give us that information in the first post, there's no need to be rude.

7000-7500 TCP only then. Thank you for the information.

Does the facebook/twitter/etc. integration utilize client side connectivity or is that cryptic server side. If it is client side, does it use the same ports as the game client? What about the patcher, does it use a unique port as well? If so what is it?

I ask because I also have QOS enabled on my router and would like to know my options. Thank you for your time.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 14
02-16-2010, 12:04 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by coderanger
That answer is wrong, the correct answer is tcp/7000-7500.
With all due respect since you're the guy actually writing the code, are you sure ports 80 & 443 aren't used? I ask only because I thought I saw traffic on those ports from the login/patch application. I thought I saw that in my logs but given that so many other things go on in my PC (from widgets to other background apps) it is impossible to know for sure.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 15
02-16-2010, 12:11 PM
Quote:
With all due respect since you're the guy actually writing the code, are you sure ports 80 & 443 aren't used? I ask only because I thought I saw traffic on those ports from the login/patch application. I thought I saw that in my logs but given that so many other things go on in my PC (from widgets to other background apps) it is impossible to know for sure.
80 is used for web traffic for the launcher, not the game itself. Also I'm not sure I've ever seen a network (aside from places that require a proxy, which is another story) that selectively filters web traffic like that. 443 isn't used, you probably just saw it in a nettest readout (we use it for speed comparisons to detect ISP shaping).
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 16
02-19-2010, 05:48 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by coderanger
That answer is wrong, the correct answer is tcp/7000-7500.
Thx. The first answer was only ......... unfriendly. U dunno what router or Server and so on the players have.

Are that all ports ? Patchserver use the same ports ?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 17
02-19-2010, 10:19 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arsat
Thx. The first answer was only ......... unfriendly. U dunno what router or Server and so on the players have.

Are that all ports ? Patchserver use the same ports ?
the game uses all those ports but there are a couple that are used more than others . I think that those are the ports the nettest selects to test. Sniffing the packets I know 7003 is always used.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 18
03-19-2010, 12:43 AM
I'd also like to know a full port list to enable QOS on my routers.
A wide range of 500 ports is just what I don't want in my QOS settings for high priority.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 19
03-19-2010, 07:01 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sophia
I'd also like to know a full port list to enable QOS on my routers.
A wide range of 500 ports is just what I don't want in my QOS settings for high priority.
Unfortunately you have to have the full 500 ports. there are some main ones that are used like patching on 7255 and 7003 7004 but each game server instance is a random port within that range.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 20
02-20-2012, 07:38 PM
Actually coderanger you are very wrong. Port forwarding is not "moot" as you call it. Port forwarding is required for most routers that are decent at doing what they are intended to do. If you have a cheap P.O.S. then port forwarding is not required as it will let anything through but for a decent router you need port forwarding active to be able to update or turn on the proxy side of it to bypass port forwarding.Also port forwarding tends to help route traffic to a specific pc and sometimes will help slightly on the latency.:p
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:41 AM.