Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 11
02-17-2012, 10:03 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by voicesinthedark View Post
Native Mode: 1366 x 768(p) (60.031Hz) = BAD ATI

Try switching to 1080 or 720 and make sure catalyst didn't update on you automatically.

Since AMD took over ATI and officialy switch them to AMD Radeon there have been a lot of corrections in the graphic card compatibility issues, but the 5600/5700 mobility cards are still really buggy at best sometimes. A very simple change in the game like a patch can send the card off the deep end. It's not the game per say, but the way the graphics card is trying to process something.

Also something really troubling is you said you've installed multiple anit-virus programs. They conflict with each other and won't properly scan. If you're not paying for an antivirus then delete all the ones you're using and download AVG free edition or purchase the paid version. It'll give you the most accurate scans, and also helps accel videos.
I have 6 different virus scanners on "speed dial" so to speak. When one doesn't find something and I know there's an issue I'll take the time to remove one and move to the next one. I juggle uninstalling and reinstalling new programs all of the time since I'm slightly OCD about my free space. So don't worry about that, thank you though.

And I didn't know anything about that from ATI/AMD. I know how to walk around a computer but I'm totally useless when it comes to hardware and drivers, so thanks for the tip. I'll give that a bit of an examination. It also fits into my second theory of "something that patch did is giving my system a nasty reaction." Thanks for the help, I'll let you know if this solves anything.

As an aside I installed and have been working with a program called System Mechanic by iolo at the suggestion of another helpful member of the community. Normally I would do a lot of the same things this is doing with CCleaner and other similar programs, but when I first started running its checks it said that I only had 36% working memory available, and after a scan I'm up to 70%. I normally run scans (virus, malware etc.) with programs of interest open and so it is possible that the problem is that, for one reason or another, STO is eating up my memory. It's also possible that I have no idea what I'm talking about.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 12
02-17-2012, 11:39 PM
It's solved <3

Thank you for the help voicesinthedark. What had happened was that patch on Feb 2 or 3, for whatever reason, must have changed the Multi-Core Rendering option (under Troubleshooting) to ON rather than OFF. I'm pretty positive this laptop model uses a single core.

I had played with that option before trying to get this to work, but it didn't change anything. Since you pointed me to the ATI info I found an article on google that alerted me to the fact that sometimes a game will override Catalyst's settings and effectively disable them. After finding that, seeing that it had happened, and correcting that plus correcting the rendering setting, everything is working great again.

I can't thank you enough. Want some Dilithium or something?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 13
03-03-2012, 01:08 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by voicesinthedark View Post
Native Mode: 1366 x 768(p) (60.031Hz) = BAD ATI

Try switching to 1080 or 720 and make sure catalyst didn't update on you automatically.

Since AMD took over ATI and officialy switch them to AMD Radeon there have been a lot of corrections in the graphic card compatibility issues, but the 5600/5700 mobility cards are still really buggy at best sometimes. A very simple change in the game like a patch can send the card off the deep end. It's not the game per say, but the way the graphics card is trying to process something.

Also something really troubling is you said you've installed multiple anit-virus programs. They conflict with each other and won't properly scan. If you're not paying for an antivirus then delete all the ones you're using and download AVG free edition or purchase the paid version. It'll give you the most accurate scans, and also helps accel videos.
This is going to sound like a real stupid question, but how do you check the native mode of a GPU? Ive been having the same issues as the OP, and have a work around due to having a switchable GPU system on my laptop. The secondary GPU makes the game playable, but it makes sto look like a piece of crap.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 14
03-03-2012, 04:51 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by lycos79
This is going to sound like a real stupid question, but how do you check the native mode of a GPU? Ive been having the same issues as the OP, and have a work around due to having a switchable GPU system on my laptop. The secondary GPU makes the game playable, but it makes sto look like a piece of crap.
If your using an ATI/AMD graphics card then you can just go into the Catalyst software and under the information tab (depending on what version of catalyst) and it'll have everything listed there.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 15
03-03-2012, 04:59 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by kerithlan
I have 6 different virus scanners on "speed dial" so to speak. When one doesn't find something and I know there's an issue I'll take the time to remove one and move to the next one. I juggle uninstalling and reinstalling new programs all of the time since I'm slightly OCD about my free space. So don't worry about that, thank you though.

And I didn't know anything about that from ATI/AMD. I know how to walk around a computer but I'm totally useless when it comes to hardware and drivers, so thanks for the tip. I'll give that a bit of an examination. It also fits into my second theory of "something that patch did is giving my system a nasty reaction." Thanks for the help, I'll let you know if this solves anything.

As an aside I installed and have been working with a program called System Mechanic by iolo at the suggestion of another helpful member of the community. Normally I would do a lot of the same things this is doing with CCleaner and other similar programs, but when I first started running its checks it said that I only had 36% working memory available, and after a scan I'm up to 70%. I normally run scans (virus, malware etc.) with programs of interest open and so it is possible that the problem is that, for one reason or another, STO is eating up my memory. It's also possible that I have no idea what I'm talking about.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kerithlan
It's solved <3

Thank you for the help voicesinthedark. What had happened was that patch on Feb 2 or 3, for whatever reason, must have changed the Multi-Core Rendering option (under Troubleshooting) to ON rather than OFF. I'm pretty positive this laptop model uses a single core.

I had played with that option before trying to get this to work, but it didn't change anything. Since you pointed me to the ATI info I found an article on google that alerted me to the fact that sometimes a game will override Catalyst's settings and effectively disable them. After finding that, seeing that it had happened, and correcting that plus correcting the rendering setting, everything is working great again.

I can't thank you enough. Want some Dilithium or something?

Really glad I was able to help. The one thing I've learned in all the year I've been using computers is never ever underestimate how the smallest change can royally screw up your day.

One thing that I forgot to mention before that is especially true for ATI/AMD graphics cards is no matter what you're using your computer for make sure you download the K-lite codec Mega media pack and install all the options including the media player classic. It's all completely free and has pretty much every and any codec compression/decompression protocols you could ever need. I found it tends to help prevent a lot of the issues that come up with graphics drivers and the media player classic is great for movies on your PC. Best off is if you don't know what the best setting for each codec is all you have to do is install the full pack and it's already set to optimal levels.


PS: I appreciate the offer on dilithium for helping, but really just knowing I was able to help and that you appreciated it is more than enough.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 16
03-09-2012, 06:54 AM
I am also having this problem but I don't know anything about the catalyst control center. I have tried to find out if it is in "native" mode but can not find anything that says native. I am so lost can someone please please help me? I do not know how to navigate the catalyst control center.


Here is what my game looks like right now as I have just updated my graphic card drivers this morning.
http://img526.imageshack.us/img526/7...2030900003.jpg

Here is the Display section of my dxdiag


---------------
Display Devices
---------------
Card name: ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series
Manufacturer: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
Chip type: ATI display adapter (0x68B8)
DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_68B8&SUBSYS_EA60174B&REV_00
Display Memory: 2789 MB
Dedicated Memory: 1006 MB
Shared Memory: 1783 MB
Current Mode: 1920 x 1080 (32 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor Name: Generic PnP Monitor
Monitor Model: ASUS VE278
Monitor Id: ACI27F6
Native Mode: 1920 x 1080(p) (60.000Hz)
Output Type: HDMI
Driver Name: aticfx64.dll,aticfx64.dll,aticfx64.dll,aticfx32,at icfx32,aticfx32,atiumd64.dll,atidxx64.dll,atidxx64 .dll,atiumdag,atidxx32,atidxx32,atiumdva,atiumd6a. cap,atitmm64.dll
Driver File Version: 8.17.0010.1119 (English)
Driver Version: 8.950.0.0
DDI Version: 11
Driver Model: WDDM 1.1
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 2/14/2012 22:17:04, 957952 bytes
WHQL Logo'd: n/a
WHQL Date Stamp: n/a
Device Identifier: {D7B71EE2-2BF8-11CF-9508-66CAAAC2C535}
Vendor ID: 0x1002
Device ID: 0x68B8
SubSys ID: 0xEA60174B
Revision ID: 0x0000
Driver Strong Name: oem51.inf:ATI.Mfg.NTamd64.6.1:ati2mtag_Evergreen:8 .950.0.0:pci\ven_1002&dev_68b8
Rank Of Driver: 00E62001
Video Accel: ModeMPEG2_A ModeMPEG2_C
Deinterlace Caps: {6E8329FF-B642-418B-BCF0-BCB6591E255F}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
{335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
{5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY
{6E8329FF-B642-418B-BCF0-BCB6591E255F}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,UYVY) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
{335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,UYVY) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
{5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,UYVY) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY
{5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(YV12,0x32315659) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
{3C5323C1-6FB7-44F5-9081-056BF2EE449D}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,2) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
{552C0DAD-CCBC-420B-83C8-74943CF9F1A6}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,2) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
{6E8329FF-B642-418B-BCF0-BCB6591E255F}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
{335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
{5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY
{5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(IMC1,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
{5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(IMC2,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
{5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(IMC3,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
{5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(IMC4,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
{5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(S340,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
{5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(S342,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
D3D9 Overlay: Not Supported
DXVA-HD: Not Supported
DDraw Status: Enabled
D3D Status: Enabled
AGP Status: Enabled


Please please please help me
Thank you in advance
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 17 Same problem
03-10-2012, 09:49 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azerom
I am also having this problem but I don't know anything about the catalyst control center. I have tried to find out if it is in "native" mode but can not find anything that says native. I am so lost can someone please please help me? I do not know how to navigate the catalyst control center.


Here is what my game looks like right now as I have just updated my graphic card drivers this morning.
http://img526.imageshack.us/img526/7...2030900003.jpg

Here is the Display section of my dxdiag


---------------
Display Devices
---------------
Card name: ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series
Manufacturer: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
Chip type: ATI display adapter (0x68B8)
DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_68B8&SUBSYS_EA60174B&REV_00
Display Memory: 2789 MB
Dedicated Memory: 1006 MB
Shared Memory: 1783 MB
Current Mode: 1920 x 1080 (32 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor Name: Generic PnP Monitor
Monitor Model: ASUS VE278
Monitor Id: ACI27F6
Native Mode: 1920 x 1080(p) (60.000Hz)
Output Type: HDMI
Driver Name: aticfx64.dll,aticfx64.dll,aticfx64.dll,aticfx32,at icfx32,aticfx32,atiumd64.dll,atidxx64.dll,atidxx64 .dll,atiumdag,atidxx32,atidxx32,atiumdva,atiumd6a. cap,atitmm64.dll
Driver File Version: 8.17.0010.1119 (English)
Driver Version: 8.950.0.0
DDI Version: 11
Driver Model: WDDM 1.1
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 2/14/2012 22:17:04, 957952 bytes
WHQL Logo'd: n/a
WHQL Date Stamp: n/a
Device Identifier: {D7B71EE2-2BF8-11CF-9508-66CAAAC2C535}
Vendor ID: 0x1002
Device ID: 0x68B8
SubSys ID: 0xEA60174B
Revision ID: 0x0000
Driver Strong Name: oem51.inf:ATI.Mfg.NTamd64.6.1:ati2mtag_Evergreen:8 .950.0.0:pci\ven_1002&dev_68b8
Rank Of Driver: 00E62001
Video Accel: ModeMPEG2_A ModeMPEG2_C
Deinterlace Caps: {6E8329FF-B642-418B-BCF0-BCB6591E255F}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
{335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
{5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY
{6E8329FF-B642-418B-BCF0-BCB6591E255F}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,UYVY) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
{335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,UYVY) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
{5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,UYVY) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY
{5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(YV12,0x32315659) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
{3C5323C1-6FB7-44F5-9081-056BF2EE449D}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,2) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
{552C0DAD-CCBC-420B-83C8-74943CF9F1A6}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,2) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
{6E8329FF-B642-418B-BCF0-BCB6591E255F}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
{335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
{5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY
{5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(IMC1,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
{5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(IMC2,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
{5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(IMC3,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
{5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(IMC4,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
{5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(S340,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
{5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(S342,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
D3D9 Overlay: Not Supported
DXVA-HD: Not Supported
DDraw Status: Enabled
D3D Status: Enabled
AGP Status: Enabled


Please please please help me
Thank you in advance
Hey Looking at your screen shot, I have the exact same problem.

My setup in a nutshell is a Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit machine that I started installing yesterday (and spend most of the night doing windows updates and others...) so my machine is as fresh as one can be.

I have 2 XFX Radeon 5770's in CrossFire and my graphics problems look just like yours.

My computer was in storage for almost a year and I couldn't wait to get it back so I could participate in some epic space battles only to be greeted by my account being reset to Ensign (I was about to be an Admiral last year) and my graphics looking like garbage.

Any help is much appreciated. I'm about to roll back my graphics card drivers to the CD that came with the card (about two years old now) and I'll let you know how I fair. I'll also try just running one card (both with current drivers and original drivers and let you know my results.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 18
03-11-2012, 12:32 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by AwesomeBobX64 View Post
Hey Looking at your screen shot, I have the exact same problem.

My setup in a nutshell is a Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit machine that I started installing yesterday (and spend most of the night doing windows updates and others...) so my machine is as fresh as one can be.

I have 2 XFX Radeon 5770's in CrossFire and my graphics problems look just like yours.

My computer was in storage for almost a year and I couldn't wait to get it back so I could participate in some epic space battles only to be greeted by my account being reset to Ensign (I was about to be an Admiral last year) and my graphics looking like garbage.

Any help is much appreciated. I'm about to roll back my graphics card drivers to the CD that came with the card (about two years old now) and I'll let you know how I fair. I'll also try just running one card (both with current drivers and original drivers and let you know my results.
Once you roll back to the CD drivers make sure to disable catalyst from being able to auto update and then you should be good to manually update to 12.1. So far the 12.1 drivers seem to be the most stable and no one has said anything bout it giving them problems, just that doing the roll back or reinstall to 12.1 has been fixing a lot of different graphical issues.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 19
03-11-2012, 12:42 AM
@ Azerom:

Your native and current mode is 1920 X 1080 (32-bit) 60 Hz. which is perfect. If you right click on the desktop and then click on the Cataylst control panel (It may be named differently but it's usually the very top option). Once catalyst opens on the left hand side there are the different tabs, click the information tab, as this will tell you what version of Catalyst your running. If it is higher than 12.1 then you need to go to the AMD website and download the 12.1 version for your graphics card which is ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series. Once 12.1 is downloaded, go to the control panel and then click "programs and features" and find the AMD drivers in the list (it should be alphabetical), single click on it to select and then click uninstall. once all components are done uninstalling, restart your computer and then when it's done booting install the 12.1 drivers.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 20 Got mine fixed...
03-11-2012, 01:38 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by voicesinthedark View Post
@ Azerom:

Your native and current mode is 1920 X 1080 (32-bit) 60 Hz. which is perfect. If you right click on the desktop and then click on the Cataylst control panel (It may be named differently but it's usually the very top option). Once catalyst opens on the left hand side there are the different tabs, click the information tab, as this will tell you what version of Catalyst your running. If it is higher than 12.1 then you need to go to the AMD website and download the 12.1 version for your graphics card which is ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series. Once 12.1 is downloaded, go to the control panel and then click "programs and features" and find the AMD drivers in the list (it should be alphabetical), single click on it to select and then click uninstall. once all components are done uninstalling, restart your computer and then when it's done booting install the 12.1 drivers.
Here is what I did to fix my problems.

I completely uninstalled the driver for my cards (through the device manager) and choose to delete the files.

Once that was done I was left with a stretched 800x600 screen and rebooted. After rebooting, I let the hardware detection find auto-detect driver which was from ATI back in 2009. Not what I was hoping for so I choose to run Windows Update which had an optional ATI Hardware Driver released 4/19/11 but was published my Microsoft on Windows Update on 6/16/11 (which happens to be my birthday!). Once that installed I rebooted again and everything looked fine... except for about 3/4 of an inch of my LCD screen not being used (because of GPU scaling) so with no Windows options and now no Catalyst Control Center, I was forced to gamble on downloading the latest crap from the AMD site (again). Installed and rebooted... implemented my GPU scaling (so I could use my whole screen) and viola! Everything looks great!!!

Hope this helps anyone else who might be having the same problems. It doesn't seem like this should work but it did :|

MAKE IT SO!
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:55 PM.