Go Back   Star Trek Online > Feedback > The Art of Star Trek Online
Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
Hopefully for Logan, I know there are more important things going on but I'm hoping at some point this can get a pass. I've noticed it and given how I really like the runabout given that it seems more like the workhorse shuttle I tend to like to use it (plus it has the correct interior).

Playing the new FE recently made the issues stand out more, the main thing being what should be windows on the sides for some reason appear to be phaser strips? Why it has strips there but are missing others I'm not sure and it has them on pretty much all facing so it's covered as far as firing directions. It's also missing all the windows on the back side for some reason? Another minor thing that would look better would reworking the front of the pod, maybe the lip that's around the edge of it or something the big red spots just look kinda odd (also if wishes came true maybe a non-pod costume option?)

Though I think even just adding all the windows would be a good start below is some good reference.

The window strips and where some should be:
http://img406.imageshack.us/img406/6...boutstrips.jpg

Studio Model:
http://img694.imageshack.us/img694/1...christies1.jpg

http://drexfiles.wordpress.com/2009/...about-variant/

Other good references I've found:
http://www.foundation3d.com/forums/s...ead.php?t=4675

http://img534.imageshack.us/img534/5306/danubeclass.jpg

http://img535.imageshack.us/img535/7477/danubeviews.jpg



As I said I know there are more important things and there is only so much you can do with the smaller models but I would hope you would consider giving it some attention as time permits...pretty please?

Thanks!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
03-03-2012, 11:06 AM
I would not mind if the torpedos were fired from the pod, even though on screen tthe pod was only a sensor platform. Also, I would like to see the option to change the flashing lights and onther minor features. On screen the color of the strobe lights was used to identify the partcular runabout. I would like to see this reflected in the game.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
03-03-2012, 12:34 PM
Yes please, even if it's just a new texture on the existing mesh frame.

I love the Danube class runabout and want to fly it, but I just can't fly the existing one as it looks so bad.

Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
03-03-2012, 02:31 PM
Yeah the textures could use some work, the one I liked for color was pretty bare toward the back side...though if it had the missing windows at least it wouldn't be as noticeable. Still not sure why there are phaser like strips in place of the front ones...
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
03-03-2012, 02:41 PM
It wo0uld be nice if we had the ability to take the pod off in the Ship Tailor...
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
03-10-2012, 01:08 AM
I agree...though I guess sadly this post will have to be redirected from CapnLogan. Too bad, did some nice work on the ships and sorry to see him go. That being said hopefully his successor can take a look at this sometime.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
03-13-2012, 02:32 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeilCell View Post
I would not mind if the torpedos were fired from the pod, even though on screen tthe pod was only a sensor platform. Also, I would like to see the option to change the flashing lights and onther minor features. On screen the color of the strobe lights was used to identify the partcular runabout. I would like to see this reflected in the game.
You do know that the once which can fire torpedos are the once that have the mounted pod right.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
03-13-2012, 10:26 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bellsarius
You do know that the once which can fire torpedos are the once that have the mounted pod right.
The upper pod was supposed to be an interchangeable pod, in some cases weapons though we never really saw it switched out with a different pod as the real world reason was just to tell them apart (though there were differently lighted versions). Awhile back when I searched I wasn't actually able to find any images of the runabout firing torpedoes, also looked back at ep screen caps that I thought might have shown them but nothing.

Anyway it doesn't necessarily only fire torpedoes from the upper pod. The schematic below shows the micro torpedo launchers on the underside plus an in episode reference has them gaining access to those torpedo launchers thru a hatch in the floor. The upper pod could just give it more maybe or some kinda high yield ability maybe in game.

http://www.cygnus-x1.net/links/lcars...24-sheet-2.jpg

Just add them on each side here:
http://www.foundation3d.com/forums/a...1&d=1230848113

http://www.foundation3d.com/uploads/...-31-727641.jpg
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
03-14-2012, 05:34 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bellsarius
You do know that the once which can fire torpedos are the once that have the mounted pod right.
I have to agree with Skippy2K. The pod is a sensor platform that was mostly used onscreen to differentiate the ships. As I remember reading in a book about the making of DS9, that the runabouts were armed with mini-torpedos that were only about 5cm in length. That being said, I would not be surprised if a pod with standard sized quantums were mounted for situations where runabouts needed some real fire power.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:55 PM.