Go Back   Star Trek Online > Support > Graphical and Sound Issues
Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 11
03-17-2012, 10:41 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by voicesinthedark View Post
Okay so there have been WAY WAY too many people creating threads OVER and OVER and OVER again about the same issues with ATI/AMD Graphics Cards.

1) Borg Cubes "Rubber-banding" in the War zone @ Ker'rat: REALLY ISN'T a graphics problem, it's actually a collision detection error with the cubes, repair hulks, and other objects.

SOLUTION: Suffer until Cryptic/PWE can get around to fixing it.
so....around the same time hell freezes over......

Quote:
2) Blacked out textures: If your using a name brand computer you purchased and it's not brand new, don't go by whatever the sticker or the box said that your component specs are/where. If it's an older computer and especially one that's seen alot of use your RAM, Processor, Graphics card might not be actually running at what it used to be. Usually a 4gig RAM will be anywhere between 4-4.4gig actually, so most time you won't notice if it's not still at specs, but if it was only slightly above 4gig, it might be below 4gig now. This also applies to your processor and graphics card.

SOLUTION: Check your system info in the control panel and make sure everything really is above the min specs for the game. If it is then see Issue 3, if it isn't then time for some upgrading or getting a newer system.
as a 20+year vet of the tech support/computer tech field, i can tell you, this is a major issue, and you NEED to check your hardware AND drivers for updates.

securapsi can help with that(its free) as can programs like drivermax(not the best, but one if the easiest to use)


Quote:
3) Blacked out textures and other graphical errors that just started: ATI/AMD don't really believe in doing a hotfix if a minority of users are having an issue with their drivers because of a specific issue. Instead they will just release a new version of the drivers and leave it up to the users if they update to the new one or not. This can cause any number of problems that weren't there before.

SOLUTION: Revert back to the previous version that worked without any issues for you. Typically the most stable versions of the ATI/AMD drivers tends to be the X.1 releases. Now sometimes doing a simple roll back doesn't always work and you might have to do a bit more work. If the roll back falls to correct the problem then re-download the version that was stable for you, but don't install it yet. Go into your control panel and uninstall all components for the graphics card from there. Then when that is finished check your programs file folder to make sure the AMD/ATI folder is actually deleted. Restart the computer and then reinstall. Don't forget you're going to have to redo all your graphics settings.
best drivers I have found for a modern AMD/Ati card(hd2k and up)
http://downloads.guru3d.com/AMD-Cata...load-2867.html

this issue isnt exclusive to AMD/ATI, I have had a few friends who use nvidia g92(8800) and up who had issues, some due to driver settings some in game settings, some driver versions, best fix is to get latest beta drivers for nvidia cards, if they dont work, ask around for what versions are working for other people.


now to the OP, thats not really true, AMD put out "HotFix" drivers for each set, they just dont put out beta drivers at the rate nVidia have for years now, mostly because they dont like trying to support beta drivers, where nvidia just refuse to support beta's despite releasing them....


Quote:
4) Particle Effects (IE: vent warp plasma, etc) These types of effects are killer on a graphics card, probably the most resource draining of any graphics. Most common issue is graphical lag

Solution: lower particle effect options, get a newer graphics card. Now most people aren't going to want to do either of those, so don't worry there is a third option to try. Note this isn't always going to be 100% effective, but go into your advanced system settings and change the options for virtual memory. By default this is set to let windows manage it, but sometimes good old windows just doesn't keep up with doing this. If you have the hard drive room to spare you're best best is to set that at 10-20 gigs. Windows like to keep this around 4-5 unless you really consistently give your system a workout so your best off just setting it yourself and setting it high.
I really wish people would research before buying videocards, i had a person the other night in karrat complaining about how bad the game ran on his "new gaming card" he got a 2gb 5470....., thats NOT a gaming card.....

please people check out some tech forums, ask for advice, read the reviews, you dont gotta buy a top end card to get a decent card for a decent price.....

Quote:
5) When in doubt remember to breath. It's more that likely something that's easily fixed and probably already listed here. if not check the forums BEFORE creating a new thread because chances are it's an issue that's already been solved.
the problem is, responding to old threads gets them locked before you can get help, as alecto said, people should make new threads every time they need info.


Quote:
PS: 6) IF you're using a custom built computer especially one you had a friend or someone build for you and you didn't build it yourself, check the specs on your graphics card for the min power required. If you're power supply isn't large enough to handle everything in your computer the graphics card is more often than not the one that suffers the most. Remember even if it's not a custom built computer if you have too many external devices plugged in and your power supply just barely meets the requirements for your graphics card, those extra devices plugged in may be taking away too much power from the rest of the system. Always try to go atleast 50-100 above what you actually need, and you'll never have this particular issue.
it should also be noted, a cheap for example 850watt psu isnt even as good as a quality 500watt psu, you really should do your research and ask for advice before buying parts, if you dont know where to ask you can visit my forums and ask for help(google ashentech and you will find us)

cant tell you how many times I have seen people blame AMD/ATI/nVidia for problems with games and apps when it turned out to be a shoddy low quality psu.......

a little example of something i saw alot of a couple years back.

nice cases coming with "1000watt" psu's, the psu's where GARBAGE, i managed to blow own by using a psu tester i have, I set it to 350watt draw at 10amps(very low load), within 5 min the psu was at full fan speed, within 10 it was smelling hot and in under 15min it had fully blown....

I have quality psu's that are rated for 250-300watt that can take that load for days at a time.......(not kidding)

please, if in doubt ask for advice!!!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 12
03-18-2012, 08:10 AM
I have a friend who bought this "really nice" Gateway computer. Specs on it where decent considering it was a pre-built. Lasted him just a little bit over the warranty and then a whole mess of problems started happening. He kept thinking it had to have just been a problem with windows or something really small. So I went over to his apartment to look at it, opened the case, and then started scratching my head in confusion.

I've built computers from scratch since what windows 3.1, and I've never even heard of the company that made his power supply. Tested everything out and sure enough the PSU was bad. So we went to find a replacement and it took almost 2 hours to convince him that in this case brand name and quality are the most important things and then cost.

I don't think people realize that no matter the competitions between Intel and AMD or AMD and Nvida the most important one is actually the PSU.


Ashen: I personally like the modular ULTRA PSU, but curious to which one you prefer.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 13
03-18-2012, 12:32 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by voicesinthedark View Post
I have a friend who bought this "really nice" Gateway computer. Specs on it where decent considering it was a pre-built. Lasted him just a little bit over the warranty and then a whole mess of problems started happening. He kept thinking it had to have just been a problem with windows or something really small. So I went over to his apartment to look at it, opened the case, and then started scratching my head in confusion.

I've built computers from scratch since what windows 3.1, and I've never even heard of the company that made his power supply. Tested everything out and sure enough the PSU was bad. So we went to find a replacement and it took almost 2 hours to convince him that in this case brand name and quality are the most important things and then cost.

I don't think people realize that no matter the competitions between Intel and AMD or AMD and Nvida the most important one is actually the PSU.


Ashen: I personally like the modular ULTRA PSU, but curious to which one you prefer.
years ago ultra was ok, I have seen FAR to many blow and take out whole systems or the psu side of the contact(modular) melt due to high load.

I have afew brands I use, some arent well known to some geeks but, every brand is one I have had MANY great psu's from both myself and clients/friends.

a few examples are

kingwin: these are ttgi/superflower builds, they tend to be a good value for your money, I have only seen 3 blow in over 20years of doing this work, and in 2 cases it was a major power surge that FUZED an apc surge protector (it could nolonger break the circuit)

CoolerMaster: only select models, mostly recommend the SilentPro Gold line, I was in the beta for these, Im still using mine infact as my main psu, its quite and the design is mostly modular(mobo and 1 set of pci-e connectors hard wired, so main high load stuff people used always has a good connection)

Another note is the spg units are single rail, no worry about rail balance.

Enermax: just a great company period.

fortron: anything made by fortron tends to be good to great, not always the best, but i have yet to see a truely bad fortron built psu.(they are an oem, companies like thermal take use them for the toughpower and other good units)


ToPower: another company that makes good units enlarge, just avoid the lowest end ToPower units, ToPower tend to have very good output per rail, I have seen them fail, but have never seen one take a system with it, IF they die, they (at least in my exp) just die, without killing the system.

E-Power are topower builds

PC Power and Cooling: good units, sometimes a bit over priced, sometimes on sale for a steal.

Sparkle Power: last i checked they where still FSP(fortron source power) so good stuff.

other good brands are
CORSAIR, OCZ, Seasonic.

On my AVOID list of the major well known brands is Antec, this is due to experiance over time.

Antec has had this habbit over the years of putting out a great psu, getting a rep for it being amazing then subbing out sub-par components OR fully replacing the innards with utter crap.

Things I have seen them pull in the past........easiest one to tell you about is when they swapped the full innards on a set of formerly high grade psu models to being something closer to a deer or eagle brand unit, BUT they also put a lead plate under the psu's componant board to keep the weight up......so it flet good and heavy......

light psu=garbage.....heavy dosnt always mean quality tho......

so my advice is to avoid Antec, some of their stuffs still good but....you never know what you will endup with when you order.....

I avoid most ThermalTake units because they use such a mix of OEM's to get them, some being great like FSP others being REALLY shady.....best to avoid then outside specific models like the toughpower.

hope this helps...

EDIT: gotta say again how much I like the CoolerMaster SPG units, they are not cheap, but IMHO they are worth every penny you spend on them...

2x6870
8hdd's
6x120mm fans
1x140mm lighted fan
AMD x6 1055t@3.5(4.1turbo)
Asus Sabertooth 990fx(got it cheap or i wouldnt own it )
16gb ddr3 1600

on an 800watt unit, and even under load testing it dosnt drop by even 1v on the 12v rail
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 14
03-19-2012, 11:24 AM
We'll doing a clean sweep of the drivers fixed my problems I guess it was all down to my being to lazy to properly do my drivers. oh well lesson learned no harm done etc. etc. Thanks guys.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 15 What A Bunch Of Crap!!!
03-19-2012, 12:00 PM
JUST WHAT DID THEY DO!!! MY HAS BEEN FINE UNTILL THIS LAST UPDATE.... GET YOUR CRAP TOGETHER AND FIX THE STUPID GRAPHICS ISSUES!!! SURE BLAME IT ON MY CARD AND DRIVERS WELL HOW ABOUT YOUR PROGRAMING ISSUES THAT NEVER GET FIXED!!!

MY DRIVER ARE UP TO DATE AND NOW TO PLAY THE GAME I HAVE TO CHASE DOWN AND REINSTALL DRIVERS WELL WHY IN H DO YOU KEEP SCREWING UP THE STUFF THAT WORKS... I'M A LIFER ANS THIS IS CRAP!!!

ATI 5770

IF NOTHING ELSE WHY DON'T YOU PUT UP A PAGE FOR DRIVERS THAT DO WORK WITH YOUR PROGRAMING ISSUES!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 16 This Is Total Crap
03-19-2012, 01:11 PM
SO I'F I TURN OFF MY ANTIALIASING OFF COMPLETELY IT WORKS BUT LOOKS LIKE CRAP NOT TO SAY ANYTHING ABOUT TURNING OFF THE DYNAMICLIGHING AS WELL OTHER WISE THE GAME CRASHES ON GROUND BATTLES AND THAT BEEN GOING ON FOR 2 YEARS!!!

SO WHAT NEXT I HAVE TO RUN THE GAME IN 640 X 480 TO RUN? THIS NEEDS TO BE FIXED AND NOT PUSH ASIDE!!!


FIX IT, FIX IT, FIX IT!!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 17
03-19-2012, 02:17 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain_ZZ View Post
JUST WHAT DID THEY DO!!! MY HAS BEEN FINE UNTILL THIS LAST UPDATE.... GET YOUR CRAP TOGETHER AND FIX THE STUPID GRAPHICS ISSUES!!! SURE BLAME IT ON MY CARD AND DRIVERS WELL HOW ABOUT YOUR PROGRAMING ISSUES THAT NEVER GET FIXED!!!

MY DRIVER ARE UP TO DATE AND NOW TO PLAY THE GAME I HAVE TO CHASE DOWN AND REINSTALL DRIVERS WELL WHY IN H DO YOU KEEP SCREWING UP THE STUFF THAT WORKS... I'M A LIFER ANS THIS IS CRAP!!!

ATI 5770

IF NOTHING ELSE WHY DON'T YOU PUT UP A PAGE FOR DRIVERS THAT DO WORK WITH YOUR PROGRAMING ISSUES!
cryptic only test and develop on nvidia apparently, and they blame all issues with AMD/ATI cards on drivers.

the driver I linked should fix the issues your having.

on a side note, disabling SSAO and PostProcessing fixes alot of issues for people with both brands of cards.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
JUST SO YOU KNOW I JUST RELOADED MY WHOLE SYSTEM LIKE TWO WEEKS AGO, SO RUNNING CLEAN SWEEP IS NOT GOING TO FIX ANYTHING!!! PLUS I DON'T BELIEVE IN THEM... ALSO I HAVE ABOUT 25 YEARS OF BUILDING COMPUTERS AND ALSO MANAGED A STORE THAT SOLD PC SOFTWARE GAMES.. IN THE FIRST PLACE ANYONE IN THE BUSINESS GIVES YOU THE BUSINESS AND SAYS IS YOUR DRIVERS UP TO DATE! BECAUSE IT CAN'T BE ARE FINE SOFTWARE.....

THEY NEED TO FIX THE PROBLEM AND VERY SOON!!! IF I WANTED TO PLAY WITH BAD GRAPHICS I WOULD HAVE NEVER PURCHASED A GREAT VIDEO CARD!!! I PLAYED THE NEW STAR WARS GAME THIS WEEKEND AND IT WAS AWESOME!!! I DIDN'T HAVE ANY ISSUES WITH THAT GAME OR MS FLIGHT SIM!

IT'S THEIR POOR WAY OF PROGRAMING AND TESTING THAT'S THE ISSUE, I KNOW THEY CAN'T TEST EVERY CARD BUT PEOPLE HAVE BEEN HAVING VIDEO ISSUES SINCE BETA! SO FOR THE LIFE OF GOD PLEASE STOP FIXING THINGS THAT ARE NOT BROKEN.... STOP CHANGING THE VALUES OF EVERYTHING IN THE GAME THAT'S NOT WHATS BROKEN ALSO THAT'S NOT HOW YOU MAKE A GAME NEW, IT'S JUST UPSETTING!

NOT TO SAYING ANYTHING ABOUT ISSUES LIKE THIS WHERE PEOPLE CAN'T PLAY THE GAME LIKE THEY HAVE IN THE PAST AND THEY HAVE INVESTED SO MUCH MONEY ON THE GAME.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 19
03-19-2012, 10:30 PM
Well I Just Read On Another Post That Someone Removed All Of The Ati Cat Stuff And Rebooted And It Worked For Him... However When I Tried It , It Found My Card And After The Reboot I Started It Up With The Just The Windows Driver For The 5770 Hd And Just What I Thought It Had The Same Results As Before THE SAME BLACK PICS ALL OVER!!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 20
03-19-2012, 11:00 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain_ZZ View Post
JUST SO YOU KNOW I JUST RELOADED MY WHOLE SYSTEM LIKE TWO WEEKS AGO, SO RUNNING CLEAN SWEEP IS NOT GOING TO FIX ANYTHING!!! PLUS I DON'T BELIEVE IN THEM... ALSO I HAVE ABOUT 25 YEARS OF BUILDING COMPUTERS AND ALSO MANAGED A STORE THAT SOLD PC SOFTWARE GAMES.. IN THE FIRST PLACE ANYONE IN THE BUSINESS GIVES YOU THE BUSINESS AND SAYS IS YOUR DRIVERS UP TO DATE! BECAUSE IT CAN'T BE ARE FINE SOFTWARE.....
driver sweeper is free and sucks, causes more problems then it solves.

driver cleaner can work wonders on a system with a buggy driver installed that wont quite fully uninstall.

revo uninstaller is better the either of the above for removing programs and drivers but the pro version costs money(if your ethical it costs money anyway)


Quote:
THEY NEED TO FIX THE PROBLEM AND VERY SOON!!! IF I WANTED TO PLAY WITH BAD GRAPHICS I WOULD HAVE NEVER PURCHASED A GREAT VIDEO CARD!!! I PLAYED THE NEW STAR WARS GAME THIS WEEKEND AND IT WAS AWESOME!!! I DIDN'T HAVE ANY ISSUES WITH THAT GAME OR MS FLIGHT SIM!
use the drivers I have linked, cryptic wont be fixing anything as they will just blame ATI/AMD for the problem, they are VERY anti-amd/ati if you havent noticed, they apparently dont even test on amd/ati cards.


CapsLock is cruise control for kool.......
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:47 PM.