Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Borg Adaptation
03-23-2012, 04:54 PM
I've recently had the "joy" of playing against the Borg in a ground mission as part of the VA Dailies I now have access to and while the adaptation thing was scary the first time I saw it in action, it rather quickly became mundane. Still, I play an Engineer and I absolutely love to build turrets and send my seeker drone after the enemies so I'm wondering, do the Borg adapt to their damage as well? If so, how do I tell?

Also, I noticed at one point that the Quick Fix skill says it remodulates to overcome Borg Adaptation, is that just for fabrications, or does it count for myself as well?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
03-23-2012, 05:06 PM
Don't use phasers and the borg won't adapt to your Turret & Drone Damage.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
03-23-2012, 05:14 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by DKnight1000
Don't use phasers and the borg won't adapt to your Turret & Drone Damage.
Yes, they will.

The way adaptation works, it's a "retaliatory" damage debuff that you can get by firing on them instead of a resistance buff they get by being fired at.

They adapt to all attackers independently - they can adapt to your phasers and still take damage from your turrets, and can adapt to your turrets and still adapt to yours. Same goes for your bridge officers, their turrets, even summons like orb clones or security escorts.

Your turrets and drones do have innate remodulators, though, as do security escorts. And they're reasonably good about using them, but it does mean they're basically offline for 4 seconds.

As for quick fix, I believe that's only on your fabrications, but it'd be easy to test: The adaptation is a debuff on you, making it easy to see if it's there or not. You can recognize it because it's duration simply reads "01" and doesn't count down. if you hover over it the tooltip says THEY'VE ADAPTED and the damage type.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
03-23-2012, 05:19 PM
I've never seen them adapt to my Turrets when I'm not using phasers, that being said what you mentioned does make a lot more sense from mechanical point of view. I'm rarely checking what my turrets and drones are shooting at.

Also if you equip your away team with different energy types they will adapt to each one seperately so while one BOFF is remodulating the others can still shoot and they don't need to all remodulate at the same time.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
03-25-2012, 05:13 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by DKnight1000
Also if you equip your away team with different energy types they will adapt to each one seperately so while one BOFF is remodulating the others can still shoot and they don't need to all remodulate at the same time.
False assumption, they adapt to each attacker individually, so even if the entire team is equipped with the same damage they still only adapt to each individual attacker. The "They've Adapted - Damage Type" only counts for the weapons equipped to the person the debuff is on. This does however mean that if you equip 2 different damage types you can switch weapons and get another 4 shots off before they adapt to that weapon.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
03-25-2012, 01:40 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluedarky View Post
False assumption, they adapt to each attacker individually, so even if the entire team is equipped with the same damage they still only adapt to each individual attacker. The "They've Adapted - Damage Type" only counts for the weapons equipped to the person the debuff is on. This does however mean that if you equip 2 different damage types you can switch weapons and get another 4 shots off before they adapt to that weapon.
This is correct. Like I said in my last post, adaptation is a debuff on the shooter, whether they're you, a boff, a turret, or a summoned pet, the debuff isn't shared with anyone else. All your boffs using the same damage type makes no difference for adaptation, when one adapts the others will still work.

The only place where it does matter is with your own weapons, since you have two. If they adapt to your phaser damage, then all your phasers stop working, but if you have a disruptor that will still work, and you can remodulate both at once.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:54 AM.