Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 UP Foundy Challange
04-04-2012, 09:35 PM
Who wants to bet the next foundry challenge takes place on Utopia Planitia?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
04-06-2012, 08:30 AM
sounds like fun, but there's a few issues with the current map. 2 of the doors in UP are stuck in the open position, which is fine. The 2 that go to the turbolifts are stuck closed, which is kinda fine as the turbolifts aren't much use anyways. The problem is that the two conference rooms have transparent glass doors which are also stuck in the closed position.

and as you can see here: http://marhawkman.deviantart.com/art...ndry-294360852

the ship display thing is screwed up, but that's funny/unimportant.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
04-06-2012, 11:15 PM
Actually, after finally getting a chance to visit UP, I take that back. Until there is an exterior, it wouldn't make sense.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
04-10-2012, 05:42 AM
I would be intrested, but I tried using it on a mission I am working on, it is to blurry to place things.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
04-10-2012, 06:21 PM
It's too bad the area of the map that you can spawn objects in is so small, otherwise this map would be AWESOME!: http://marhawkman.deviantart.com/art...itia-295347034
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
04-10-2012, 06:55 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by marhawkman View Post
It's too bad thes are of the map that you can spawn objects in is so small, otherwise this map would be AWESOME!: http://marhawkman.deviantart.com/art...itia-295347034
One thing I've discovered in some maps where the "allowed item placement area" was bugged (Azura interior) was that you could place objects in the allowed area, and then change the coordinates to put them where you supposedly weren't allowed to.

I'd say try doing that. Place what you want, then load into the map and do a /loc. Divide the coordinates given by 3.281 and put those into the Foundry. In my experience the editor will not raise any objection.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
04-10-2012, 06:57 PM
Yeah I tried that. It moves them back inside the box, it even restricts the up/down.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
04-10-2012, 06:59 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by marhawkman View Post
Yeah I tried that. It moves them back inside the box, it even restricts the up/down.
That's too bad.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
04-10-2012, 07:19 PM
whats really odd is that the way the map is shown in the foundry design view, it would seem like only the "box" is actual walkable terrain. But as you can see from that pic not only can you leave the box, but you can walk a LONG ways across the hull of the starbase. It's bizzarre, I've never seen a foundry map like that before. I HAVE seen other strange things though.

a map where part of the walkable terrain is drawn as if it is empty space in design view. This one also has several sets of hallways that are NOT connected to each other.

On the DS9 map the area you can place things in is a giant Square centered on the station. But it's NOT the same size as the station. It's actually not as wide.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:19 PM.