Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 GTX460 SLi or GTX680 for STO?
05-06-2012, 11:12 AM
i have a GTX 460 and i have a SLi mainboard.... so all i need for SLi would be another GTX 460 and those aren't horribly expensive on ebay anymore...

(+ i have 8GB Ram and a 4,6GHz Quadcore CPU...)

my GTX 460 runs often at 99% GPU load, with Vsync at 60Hz / FPS
it almost can handle STO all the time but it still has the occasional drop to 45 -50 on real busy maps, so a bit more power would be nice to have.



a 2nd GTX460 would be cheap enough, but i have no idea how good STO handles SLi and i never had a SLi system before so no idea how good that works out in general gaming...

i am leaning more towards one Big Phat Powerful card by default because i never had a SLi system...


any suggestions? thoughts? experience reports? benchmarks? lol...
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
05-07-2012, 04:58 AM
In general terms, 1 powerfull card is always better than an SLI/CF of 2 less powerfull cards.
The SLI/CF can be cheaper, but will generate more heat, and consume more power, what PSU do u have? And make sure that ur motherboar can handle 8x-8x SLI, with 16x-4x u will lose some performance.

For STO u won't need any of those, 40-45fps in very populate areas is pefect, u don't need 60fps in a MMO game, as long as u keep your framerate over 30fps, u will be ok

Looking your CPU clock, i guess u are running a intel 2500k/2600k, those cpu can handle a SLI more than fine.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
05-07-2012, 09:11 AM
500 Watt Enermax Liberty
Core i5 2500K
and btw. the GTX460 is a 1GB verision

...i don't agree, 60 FPS is a must have
30 is unplayable, 45+ is *fine*, but that doesn't mean that i have to be satisfied with it.


the only problem i see is the additional fan noise, heat itself should not be a problem my case has good airflow.

and paying 100 for an additional GPU vs. paying 500 for a new one.... i don't know.

i would never buy 2 new expensive high end cards, the only reason for me to use SLi is to use 2 older ones to get more speed out of it until i want to buy one new expensive one...


oh and please stay away with ATI/AMD cards... i know they are cheaper, but i had 2 of those cards in the last years and i never want to see that Driver Panel again.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
05-07-2012, 06:46 PM
u can't run a SLI of 460 or a 680 with that PSU, even less if u are overclocking your CPU.

AMD Crossfire is a pain in the ***, i know..but welll ^^
For single gpu cards there is no problem i'm running a hd6850 (similar in performance to the gtx460).
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
05-08-2012, 04:31 AM
i run an i7 2600k @ 1.6ghz and a GTX 680 with the idle clock rates 324mhz and sto Runs fine, but i think the sto engine have problems to use the full capacity from the GTX680, i musst try the full screen mode for more/ better informations for your question.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
05-14-2012, 08:38 AM
I also noticed your power supply probably wont be able to power 2 graphics cards in sli. Thats at the very least 100Watt extra load... So you might wanna swap your power supply with atleast a 700 watt psu (650 could work, but doesnt have any reserves left so no to 650watt)

But if you want to be sure, go and look up your wanted card and see if the power requirements are listed (or check the specs of the card)
If you dont adapt to the extra load, it could well be that your computer will start doing strange things because of the lack of juice flowing...

I know... I had this once... never happended again...

EDIT
completion...
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:55 AM.