Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 61 thanks
02-16-2012, 01:20 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stormbow View Post
1. Exit the game

2. Bring up the Launcher (log in, wait for "Options" to appear at the top left)
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v2...und-fix-01.jpg

3. Click Options (DO NOT CLICK ENGAGE YET!)
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v2...und-fix-02.jpg

4. Type in the "Advanced command line" box: -ignorex64check
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v2...und-fix-03.jpg

5. Click OK to accept the changes

6. Click Engage (Start the game)

This is the only resolution that worked for me. Thanks Doug!

Thank you very much. All the other support threads for this told me to go into the launcher command line, not the command line in the game options itself.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 62
05-25-2012, 04:32 PM
Wow.... almost 30 months later and this is still a problem. I ran into this exact issue (Windows 7 x64) and somone told me to use that parameter and it not only fixed by sound issue, but also the microphone (STO didn't even see my microphone.)

I wonder why STO hasn't fixed this yet?
Ensign
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 15
# 63
07-23-2012, 08:34 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archived Post View Post
The updated drivers did not work for me and the -ignorex64check command did return sound to the game, but now the game crashes every 10-15 minutes with "fatal error due to tag -ignorex64check..." It's good to see that others are experiencing this problem because it will be more likely to be addressed in the full release or better yet, an upcoming patch for the beta client.


Is the monitor volume on? Mabey it's muted!!
Ensign
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
# 64 I have the same issue too
12-21-2012, 02:42 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archived Post View Post
Wow.... almost 30 months later and this is still a problem. I ran into this exact issue (Windows 7 x64) and somone told me to use that parameter and it not only fixed by sound issue, but also the microphone (STO didn't even see my microphone.)

I wonder why STO hasn't fixed this yet?
YUP... I have the same issue as well. I have played the whole game and now trying to do the smaller missions. I have played without sound all this time. I will try the -ignorex64check option to see if it resolves the issue.

There has been no patches for this issue. I guess the company believes XP 64bit is no longer an issue since the belief is the majority of people are using Windows 7 or will be upgraded soon in the future. This infact has happened, by judging what I have read in these threads. Hopefully, Windows 8 will resolve help this issue. Just remember , your PC must be running Windows XP SP3, Windows Vista, Windows 7, Windows 8 Consumer Preview, to do an upgrade to Windows 8 or Windows 8 Release Preview.If your PC is running Windows XP or Windows Vista, you'll need to reinstall your apps.

I still think this should have been made for Mac and Linux as well. however, the company was smart to launch this for 32bit systems, as the majority of users are slow to switch to 64-bit systems. I mean just look at all the users in companies... is it 64bit or 32 bit they are using... ?? I'm sure though they are gearing up for a shard/deploy for 64-bit... they must have a testing environment somewhere with this and are taking out all the tweeks... they may even be preparing to have another environment for 32 and 64 bit users... just speculating.... or call it 'very wishfull' thinking. hehehe
Ensign
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
# 65 Sound Problems in Game
12-26-2012, 10:34 AM
Hi Guy's, I have been having silmer problems with my sound in game? I re-installed the game the other day and have not been able to get my sound to work in game? Before i re-installed it worked fine before? and my sound drivers are all up to date so I cant figer out the problem!

I have tried the following,

Changing the sound setting in game not luck

Re-installing the game again no luck

Made sure all sound settings in options are above 50% no luck


Im really struggling to sort this problem out as I never had this problem the first time I ever installed this program??

Any suggestion would be great?

Thanks Cooper
Ensign
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 6
# 66 Fail.
05-14-2013, 12:49 PM


I have updated the drivers to the latest - which are dated 8th of April 2013, btw.

= No sound.

I have used the -ignorex64check

= No sound.

Run in all compatibility modes, and still nothing.

So, bar me getting a new soundcard JUST TO PLAY STO, is there any othe viable solution? Seriously unhappy.
Ensign
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 6
# 67
05-14-2013, 01:04 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archived Post View Post
Running a Realtek HD Audio chipset I did the following to get audio. Let's begin.

1) Right click on the audio icon on your tray in the lower right hand corner OR Click Start and open the Control Panel

2) Left click 'Open volume mixer' OR Left click on Sound.

3) If you have speakers or earphones plugged in there should be a greyed-out speaker option. If not, right click within the window and then click Show Disabled Devices.

4) HIghlight speakers and then click Set Default on the bottom of the Sound window.

5) Right click on RealTek Digital Output and click Disable.

While RealTek is still running the show, the HD Audio is not, therefore you should have free reign over your sound now on any program. I hope this fix works for you as much as it has for me.

If you have any questions. Please send me a message in my inbox.

THANK YOU!!! That worked for me perfectly! I wuv you!
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:32 AM.