Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 21
06-13-2012, 10:46 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by bberge View Post
I'll miss the Odyssey in ESD. SInce most of my Federation captains are flying Odyssey variants at this point, I could at least pretend that was "my" ship there.
And what about those of us who don't fly the Odyssey at all?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bberge View Post
I'd like to make a technical point, if I may. I consider the interior dock at ESD to be the only true "dry dock" we've seen. It has doors that close, and could in theory be pressurized so that repair crews could work in a "shirt-sleeve" environment. I'd have to call the scaffolding-style docks (such as those we've seen at Utopia Planitia) we've seen "wet docks", since ships are still exposed to space.
Forcefields...

plus, can you imagine pressurizing that entire bay? Imagine how much air they'd need to fill that cavern. You're talking roughly 8,275,897 cubic meters... of air. just so you can work on the exterior of one or two ships.

Makes a lot more sense to use the drydocks, and just use a forcefield, worker bees, or space suits.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 22
06-13-2012, 10:48 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suricata View Post
*snip*
HA HA! So your solution for this thing that we can't do at the moment is to "just do it."?

Talk is cheap, it makes this all sound so simple. Maybe it is, again, not my area of expertise. But I have yet to see it in any of our games, and I don't know of any way to do this currently.

Another factor no one is considering, is that your ship is roughly human size. All of the ships we show out the windows have to be saved off as environment assets, and scaled up like 65x. Spawning your ship outside would look ridiculous.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 23
06-13-2012, 10:55 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tumerboy View Post
Another factor no one is considering, is that your ship is roughly human size. All of the ships we show out the windows have to be saved off as environment assets, and scaled up like 65x. Spawning your ship outside would look ridiculous.

I don't think anyone knows or realizes all the work you had to do just to scale up the models for that Holo-display on UPS and all the other tweaking it took just for that scale.

Speaking of the models you scaled, any chance us Excelsior Captains are ever going to get a wall trophy of the Excelsior put in game?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 24
06-13-2012, 10:56 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tumerboy View Post
HA HA! So your solution for this thing that we can't do at the moment is to "just do it."?

Talk is cheap, it makes this all sound so simple. Maybe it is, again, not my area of expertise. But I have yet to see it in any of our games, and I don't know of any way to do this currently.

Another factor no one is considering, is that your ship is roughly human size. All of the ships we show out the windows have to be saved off as environment assets, and scaled up like 65x. Spawning your ship outside would look ridiculous.
Let me get this straight. If there was a glitch that swapped our ground and space models, our ships on the ground would look like toy models, and our characters in space would look like Q in the beginning of State of Q?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 25
06-13-2012, 11:02 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord-Ice
Let me get this straight. If there was a glitch that swapped our ground and space models, our ships on the ground would look like toy models, and our characters in space would look like Q in the beginning of State of Q?
Clearly you have never seen the screenshots of the exact glitch you are talking about dating back to Open Beta and Launch

Lemee see if I can find some...
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 27
06-13-2012, 11:13 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tumerboy View Post
I've tried to convince people it would be good to move the Fed Shipyard to Utopia Planitia, and no one's buying that either.
I agree, the only thing that should be at Earth is the McKinley station, every other shipbuilding facility should be at Utopia Planitia.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 28
06-13-2012, 11:16 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sollaf View Post
I agree, the only thing that should be at Earth is the McKinley station, every other shipbuilding facility should be at Utopia Planitia.
Well, there IS supposed to be San Francisco Fleet Yards as well.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 29
06-13-2012, 11:17 AM
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 30
06-13-2012, 11:24 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tumerboy View Post
Well, there IS supposed to be San Francisco Fleet Yards as well.
I've always wondered about that. We see it in TOS (I think it was in the movies), but TNG and on they always talk about McKinley station. I believe the Enterprise-E was built there (SF Fleet yeard) (and refitted there at the end of Nemesis), but I'm not sure.

Do we know if the San Francisco Fleet Yards are still in operation?
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:14 PM.