Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 mee too !
03-05-2012, 06:16 PM
After the March 4th's server "Unexpected Downtime"...

I logged in once shortly after the crash to find myself, away crew, & ship to be rendered normally except for the artifact-like black blocks on any reticules or buffs, once i returned to sector space there was only a green background & 2D gridded renderings of objects, also the lighting was returned to default.

SO, after completing the episode that was interrupted by the crash & seeing sector space as stated above, i began performing maintenance on my end to correct it.

-logged out.
-tried to log in = fail at loading screen.
-exited client, performed full virus/malware scan (several) = no results (never are).
-ran full PC scan/fixer (from a paid service) = no results other than minor cleanup/space restored.
-checked 3 firewalls = ok.
-administrative check = ok.
-made several more attempts at logging in = all fail at either loading screen OR combadge screen (seems random).
-driver update check made = all current.
-ran check disk WHICH GOT STUCK IN A LOOP & TOOK ME ALL DAY to just reclaim my desktop.
-uninstalled STO (always my most desperate move).
-ran disk cleaner (2 types).
-restarted.
-defragmented C & D.
-restarted.
-re-installed STO. [which saves to user, not program files. (yes i read)]
-i can't get as far as the combadge page now...it just sticks at roughly 80% on the Cryptic loading page.
-keeping an eye on forums to see how many more threads just like this one begin from the working class who haven't been on since the crash.
-waiting for Cryp/PW to fix it.

have a nice day
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
03-05-2012, 07:25 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by mogwai View Post
-ran check disk WHICH GOT STUCK IN A LOOP & TOOK ME ALL DAY to just reclaim my desktop.
I'm not sure if this is related to your corrupted graphics issue, but that sounds to me like a dying harddisk or loose cable to the disk.

Quote:
-defragmented C & D.
Are these separate drives, or just partitions? You might try installing the game to the other disk/partition, could help if there is an un-recovered bad sector that the game managed to land on twice.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
03-05-2012, 07:54 PM
I appreciate you spending time to try & help me, but i was just posting so that these issues don't go unnoticed.
When i say "mee too !" in the title i'm referring to these threads, all of which i have had similar experience to in the last ~30 hours (since Sunday's crash), & now can't play at all.

http://forums.startrekonline.com/sho...d.php?t=258679
http://forums.startrekonline.com/sho...d.php?t=258702
http://forums.startrekonline.com/sho...d.php?t=258475
http://forums.startrekonline.com/sho...=249567&page=9
http://forums.startrekonline.com/sho...d.php?t=258692
http://forums.startrekonline.com/sho...d.php?t=258504

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom61 View Post
I'm not sure if this is related to your corrupted graphics issue, but that sounds to me like a dying harddisk or loose cable to the disk.
Naw, its cause i unplugged the dvd drive to save watts can't run a disk to fix the "error".

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom61 View Post
Are these separate drives, or just partitions? You might try installing the game to the other disk/partition, could help if there is an un-recovered bad sector that the game managed to land on twice.
Drives, i know i don't need to do D, but i do anyways...maybe more ppl could be like that? *cough*
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
03-07-2012, 03:35 AM
-did tons more (3 more days & nights of ocular headaches).
-still no go.
-more & more similar threads are started everyday.
-still no acknowledgement in those many similar threads.
-no surprise.

plz fix STO, dubstep is just not the same without something to kill





.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
03-12-2012, 07:11 PM
i know all i have done, i dunno what staff did, but all is fine now

seen somewhere how they're going through everything & i can only be inclined to believe this is how i am now able to log in to public.

THANKS A BUNCH
Lieutenant
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 74
# 6
07-06-2012, 10:05 AM
Yep same here..... Stuck at combage loading screen for an insane amount of time.... Its only recently started to do this however. Its so bad that I've just been playing Skyrim cuz 1 loads faster, 2 is much more pretty to look at xD, and 3 I dont have PWE trying to brainwash me into giving them my money ^.^

Still I would like to complete my series in the foundry so I can leave this game for the last time. So please Cryptic fix ^.^
Join Date: Dec 2009 <Actual Join Date)
My Foundry Missions:
The Wave Empire Series: http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/sh...d.php?t=279751
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:27 PM.