Ensign
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4
# 101
07-19-2012, 12:09 PM
Naaaa....... GREAT F....un! :-( guess its time to get rid of those 20 megs of harddiskspace the client occupies.
Ensign
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 6
# 102 Question About Account Guard
07-25-2012, 03:24 PM
Ok I didn't see a separate forum for the Account Guard feature, so hopefully this is the right place. Not sure mine is working right. As I understood it, if you use the same computer to play it was a one time thing to enter your code. Well my account now has 1 saved client and 4 saved browsers, all with the identical IP.

Am I missing something? As I say, I thought you entered it once and were done with it. Also, what's the deal with it saving the IP over and over when that never changes? If it's saved why do i need to keep entering it? Hopefully someone can explain how Account Guard works.
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 745
# 103
07-25-2012, 06:35 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by irobag520gl View Post
Ok I didn't see a separate forum for the Account Guard feature, so hopefully this is the right place. Not sure mine is working right. As I understood it, if you use the same computer to play it was a one time thing to enter your code. Well my account now has 1 saved client and 4 saved browsers, all with the identical IP.

Am I missing something? As I say, I thought you entered it once and were done with it. Also, what's the deal with it saving the IP over and over when that never changes? If it's saved why do i need to keep entering it? Hopefully someone can explain how Account Guard works.
You'll have to enter the code for the website at least once per browser, plus once for the launcher (which uses Internet Explorer).

Because it's a cookie-based system, anytime you clear cookies, you'll have to re-add your computer. Manual cookie clearing, setting the browser to delete them, or using something like CCleaner to manually or automatically clear your browsers will result in having to re-add your computer. This is how you end up with multiple entries for the same computer with the same IP.

I just turned Account Guard off. For the limited security it provides, it's not worth the hassle to me.
__________________________________________________
"I weary of the chase. Wait for me. I shall be merciful and quick."
Lieutenant
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 54
# 104
07-26-2012, 05:43 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by crimsonskies1999 View Post
I actually agree what you are saying but there is a point the sto team missing: who buys items or instruments at the beginning of the game ? nobody except rookies!
Many online players strategy is; understand the game and reach the available highest rank without paying!
For experienced mmo players the goal is Being veteran and knowing what is going on in the game. Than pay for what you want, (ships, instruments, weapons) n be in the top 100 or 1000 list !
with regards
Completely agree.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 5,425
# 105 Account Guard Question
07-27-2012, 03:23 PM
If someone is changing ISPs or moving but using the same computer, does that require anything to be done with Account Guard?
Former PWE Community Team Lead
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 9,046
# 106
07-27-2012, 05:50 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by stoleviathan99 View Post
If someone is changing ISPs or moving but using the same computer, does that require anything to be done with Account Guard?
This question from the FAQ, while not about ISPs in particular, should help answer your question

Quote:
Q: I use a wide range of IPs through my ISP, and change it frequently. Sounds like I am easily going to be hitting the max IPs allowed - will I need to opt-out of Account Guard?

A: Users with changing IPs on a single computer will not need to opt out of Account Guard. Account Guard performs its security checks against your computer or your web browser, not the originating IP. Your last originating IP, however, will be visible to you under the "Manage Account Guard" on the Cryptic Billing Portal.
Cheers,

Brandon =/\=
Brandon "BranFlakes" Felczer | Former Community Team Lead for Perfect World Entertainment
Lieutenant
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 75
It won't show me the IP address and computer name of the computer that attempted to access my account last night. While I was sleeping.

Preferably I'd also like to know the ISP of the person connecting.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 119
# 108
08-11-2012, 12:23 PM
I don't think it will tell you. it will just block access from all that are not on the access list.
Republic Veteran
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 37
# 109
08-11-2012, 01:14 PM
I think it's a legal matter about showing personal information. And IP addresses are considered personal information.

Unless the person who attempted to log in to your account has access to your registered e-mail address(which they can't even see on your account page unless they can get into your account) they will be repeatedly blocked from being able to log in and thus denied access to your account.

I just checked the e-mails I got about the account guard and my eye was drawn to the text:
"If you did not attempt to access your account from this computer, we suggest you change your password immediately."

And from the confirmation e-mail after I authorized my computer to access STO:
"If you did not authorize this computer on your account, we suggest you change your password immediately and contact Customer Support to ensure this location is de-authorized."

I would like to note that the Confirmation of authorization e-mail does in fact include the IP address and computer name of the computer that was authorized.
"A new computer named ?<computer name>? has been authorized to your account on July 10th, 2012 at 2:20 PM EST from the following IP address: <IP address>"

So.. You could allow the potential account thief access to your account if you like and get their computer name and IP address if it's that important to you. Then change your password immediately after and contact customer support. But the likelyhood of you getting their IP address and computer name outright is about as likely as you getting my IP address from the forum IP address log. Mainly because there is the very slight chance that the person who tried to log into your account might be innocent and accidentally got your account by mistake. It can and does happen. Very, very rarely but it does. And then you would have access to potentially damaging information.

EDIT: I would also like to add that if you could get the IP address from the initial e-mail, then people with malicious intent could create a dummy account, then start posting that account's log in and password all over the internet to see who bites, then have access to their IP information. While you wouldn't bite, and I wouldn't bite, and several people with a brain wouldn't bite, there are an entire countries worth of people who would bite.

Last edited by kittieshaufer; 08-11-2012 at 02:11 PM.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 186
# 110
11-29-2012, 10:28 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by aesica View Post
You go into your email, copy the code, and paste it into the game client. ALL DONE!
Just got to say Nice work on picture and signature.


and yes I know its a little late just browsing forums and saw.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:48 AM.