Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Portable?
02-21-2010, 03:17 PM
Is STO portable? I.E. Can I run it from a Flash Drive or Portable HDD? I'm debating making a backup install because mine recently became corrupt and I had to reinstall. YAY! 10GB Patch! And I would rather avoid that a second time.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
02-21-2010, 03:21 PM
Yes, wasn't sure at first but since I can run it off the other 2 os's without installing it, it probably is. At any rate, you can make backups even if it is since copying your backup back onto where you originally install any program will work, for the most part. There are some special instances where add-ons + expansions have been added and that your backup will be incompatible.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
02-21-2010, 03:45 PM
not sure how well STO will run if atall from a flash drive but it is possible to run from multiple os'es without reinstalling.

but being as STO appears not to reqire installing attal it should run faster and better from a flash drive assuming its at least USB 2 and not a rather cheap unbranded model

as above if your flash drive is large enough it could be used as a backup incase STO runs into problems
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
02-22-2010, 12:44 PM
Cool, thanks guys. I think I'll wait to run it off a flash drive until after I upgrade to USB 3.0, but for now your replies are much appreciated
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
02-22-2010, 01:34 PM
It tries to be, though its a much less tested (read: we don't test it ourselves) situation.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
02-23-2010, 06:54 AM
I've swapped the client over to a few computers and even a thumb drive, it runs just fine as far as i can tell
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
02-23-2010, 06:57 AM
However, it might make changes to the system run on - making it not truly portable.
Ensign
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 9
# 8
07-21-2012, 08:33 PM
So I can install this on my portable HDD from the files.... instead of on my C drive. The reason I'm asking this is 1. I want to be able to execute the program from my portable HDD 2. Having it on my C drive was causing massive process over load. Freezing everything up.

So as long as I can run this from my portable with no issue. Golden. Also I'm hoping I don't lose everything i've worked for by uninstalling the game.
Ensign
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 16
# 9 CPU and Hard drives
10-30-2012, 01:55 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragonjaden View Post
So I can install this on my portable HDD from the files.... instead of on my C drive. The reason I'm asking this is 1. I want to be able to execute the program from my portable HDD 2. Having it on my C drive was causing massive process over load. Freezing everything up.

So as long as I can run this from my portable with no issue. Golden. Also I'm hoping I don't lose everything i've worked for by uninstalling the game.
You can install Star Trek Online on any hard drive that the OS you are useing can read/write from. Puting it on another hard drive will not affect your CPU and it will still be the same process, but puting Star Trek Online on a faster drive then your C drive may give a higher speed of the game.
Superspeed500
- I am one of the owners of SN Fleet. Join us in our next adventure!

An Escort that can't turn is not an Escort.
Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 259
# 10
10-30-2012, 03:29 AM
If you want to move it to a usb flash drive you are going to need to save down the games registery entries and install them on every computer that you want to run it on. You will also need to edit them to the correct drive letter of your USB.

Starfleet M.A.C.O. KDF Honour Guard
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:49 AM.