Empire Veteran
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 525
# 1 SNB misfiring. Am I right?
08-31-2012, 07:59 PM
I'm not the only science that has claimed this. However, in the fraps. Oh and TF didn't die

This was a private match from the 20th. I think this is a UI bug but I'm open to other ideas. I was pretty drunk during the match (: Cheers

SNB was put on CD for the duration.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JUhhSAFFNkg
-X-/Pandas - Pheo
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 797
# 2
08-31-2012, 08:20 PM
Ive noticed this from day one.

if the target goes out of arc of the snb before the firing cycle is complete.... nothing happens to the target and snb goes on cooldown.
Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 613
# 3
08-31-2012, 08:42 PM
Unfortunately I've noticed this with many skills, the cooldown starts but the skill doesn't work, or the skill only half works ( IE: tactical initiative on ground )

| Join Date: January 2009 | Computer | Fleet: Broken Wings |
Empire Veteran
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 525
# 4
08-31-2012, 08:48 PM
Good to know. I recall seeing this during S4 but after a few seconds SNB would come back up. There was claims of double nukes at the time, if I recall correctly. But I was never able to fire it off twice. I don't play sci a lot, so I may be out of date on some things with them. I don't recall this exact event in the past and can swear I've seen it a lot more recently. Ergo this post.
-X-/Pandas - Pheo
Rihannsu
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,541
# 5
09-01-2012, 10:02 AM
More then likely it's related to the old Torpedo Arc/Power arc bug, where if you were in arc, but activated the power as you lost arc, it would fire but not fire and put the power on cool down?
You think that your beta test was bad?
Think about this:
American Football has been in open beta for 144 years. ~Kotaku
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 574
# 6
09-01-2012, 03:44 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by webdeath View Post
More then likely it's related to the old Torpedo Arc/Power arc bug, where if you were in arc, but activated the power as you lost arc, it would fire but not fire and put the power on cool down?
It seems so. Also, just remembered, the bortie auto cannon does the same thing. Target moves, the "warm" time of auto cannon almost finished and it's about to fire, then target goes away, auto cannon didn't fire, cool down begins. Lucky that's not an important pvp weapon due to the crappy accuracy. But it seems to be a problem between client and server, I think client sees the target in arch, fires, sends the server the message than it fired so server sends back to client the "put subnuc on cool down"(or simply the client puts it on cool down), then target moves away, subnuc "misses" (due to the time it "travels"from ship to ship), client has the subnuc in cool down.
Hear! Sons of Kahless
Hear! Daughters too.
The blood of battle washes clean.
The Warrior brave and true.
We fight, we love, and then we kill...
Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3,341
# 7
09-01-2012, 03:48 PM
Seems to me that the software sets the cooldown first, and the plays the effect. Should be the other way round, I'd say.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Promote what you love, instead of bashing what you hate.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?featur...lM_skuv4#t=584
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 514
# 8
09-01-2012, 03:51 PM
STO Ability Queue and activation system has always been crappy, and still is.

It wont change until they totally rewrite this part of the system.
Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 434
# 9
09-01-2012, 03:57 PM
Yeah, but who are they going to find to teach them how to do it?

And more pressingly, is there anyone out there who will finally teach me how to dougie?
__________________________________________
Foundry: Yet Another Borg Mission
It's terrible but easy, and these Borg are way cooler than the mess STO and Voyager left us.
May not actually be "way" cooler or even "slightly" cooler.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 148
# 10
09-01-2012, 06:15 PM
Heh, so its not just me.

It would happen in arenas. I would use SNB, call "Nuke!" and nothing would happen. I assumed I "missed", but as a fleet mate said, "that can miss??!"

Maybe its like the torpedo glitch where it destroys itself before dealing damage.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:07 PM.