Ensign
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1
# 61
09-29-2012, 03:12 AM
So far, it won?t work for me. - well "won?t work" isn?t 100% true. The first time after installing the game (I did it 3 times) it works wonderfully but after a random point it crashes. Then it begins...

I either get a black screen, or basically a black screen with beautiful but unwanted RGB Pattern or it crashes after the loading screen (without the BS)

Sofar I tried to (not in order of the list)

reinstall the game (3x),
Run it with GLSL dis- or enabled
Install XQuartz (After using XQuartz the first time it worked "as being reinstalled" but same story as a normal reinstall of the game)
changing the resolution (of both wrapper and screen ;-) ) + fullscreen or rooted...
Updating Winery to latest version
Cursing in English, German and Klingon

It?s there - somewhere - but I checked the forum and there aren?t any solutions that I haven?t already tried.

Im using a

MacBook Pro, Intel Core 2 Duo, 2.66 GHz with NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT and OSX10.6.8.


o Do you think using an earlier Wrapper might solve the problem? Ive been playing the game sometime earlier this year without ANY problems.

o Or is it the graphic-bug spooking around.



In any way, thanks for the help and If them, who work on the wrapper see this: THANK YOU BIG TIMES! <3<3<3<3
Captain
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 582
# 62
09-29-2012, 03:19 AM
Every time I go to DS9 or station in Solsytem it collapses. Never done this before.. just updated to the latest version.

Something I can do to fix this?
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 152
# 63
09-29-2012, 08:16 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by lycienne View Post
So far, it won?t work for me. - well "won?t work" isn?t 100% true. The first time after installing the game (I did it 3 times) it works wonderfully but after a random point it crashes. Then it begins...

I either get a black screen, or basically a black screen with beautiful but unwanted RGB Pattern or it crashes after the loading screen (without the BS)

Sofar I tried to (not in order of the list)

reinstall the game (3x),
Run it with GLSL dis- or enabled
Install XQuartz (After using XQuartz the first time it worked "as being reinstalled" but same story as a normal reinstall of the game)
changing the resolution (of both wrapper and screen ;-) ) + fullscreen or rooted...
Updating Winery to latest version
Cursing in English, German and Klingon

It?s there - somewhere - but I checked the forum and there aren?t any solutions that I haven?t already tried.

Im using a

MacBook Pro, Intel Core 2 Duo, 2.66 GHz with NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT and OSX10.6.8.


o Do you think using an earlier Wrapper might solve the problem? Ive been playing the game sometime earlier this year without ANY problems.

o Or is it the graphic-bug spooking around.



In any way, thanks for the help and If them, who work on the wrapper see this: THANK YOU BIG TIMES! <3<3<3<3
Not sure really... you can try the override->Fullscreen settings, which runs slightly different. Since your on 10.6 you can try earlier wrappers.
I have a feeling when yours crashed it might have screwed up some files in the game... you can try dong the Options at log in and doing a file check... you can also try its safe mode. There are certain graphics options that causes crashes more frequently than others... but its very system dependent. Maybe you have something in the config set up thats causing problems on initialization, and stating STO in safe mode might get around that so you can at least get in?


Quote:
Originally Posted by thestargaze View Post
Every time I go to DS9 or station in Solsytem it collapses. Never done this before.. just updated to the latest version.

Something I can do to fix this?
This seems more common with nvidia GPUs than AMD/ATI, but it seems to happen on everything. Certain areas will cause crashes... I haven't ever figured out a fix for this, but it should work if you log back in after the crash. The lower your graphics settings the less likely it is to crash. I'm thinking there is some type of memory leak error in the game, but Windows is covering it up and handling it ok, but Wine is not... but the bug may also just be in Apples graphics drivers. I know when I used to play on my older machine it rarely crashed, but my newer one crashes a lot easier... kind of annoying. If it started for you for no reason on the same machine, I'm not sure what to tell you... maybe you turned up some graphics settings you used to have down?
Ensign
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 15
My problem is that I kept getting the "Oops! No executables found" message whenever I installed Wineskin and selected an executable file.

It keeps telling me to make sure I installed it in the C: drive. I don't even know what that means. I don't even know how to check and find out how to install it in any specific location. I know there's a C drive in the STO app, so I moved it into there, and that didn't work either. None of this was ever an issue on older versions of STO UMV.

I have the latest versions of everything; Wineskin 2.5.8 and STO UMV 1.5.1, and the correct .exe file, but it simply won't work no matter what I do. If I click on the Star Trek Online icon, nothing happens (it used to just launch right into the login screen on the game).

Now it's not even giving me the "Oops" anymore; when I click on Wineskin, it's just saying "Wineskin is busy" and hangs there and doesn't do anything else. I don't know what else to do; is there anything I need to do differently?
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 152
# 65
10-01-2012, 12:02 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaywest21 View Post
My problem is that I kept getting the "Oops! No executables found" message whenever I installed Wineskin and selected an executable file.

It keeps telling me to make sure I installed it in the C: drive. I don't even know what that means. I don't even know how to check and find out how to install it in any specific location. I know there's a C drive in the STO app, so I moved it into there, and that didn't work either. None of this was ever an issue on older versions of STO UMV.

I have the latest versions of everything; Wineskin 2.5.8 and STO UMV 1.5.1, and the correct .exe file, but it simply won't work no matter what I do. If I click on the Star Trek Online icon, nothing happens (it used to just launch right into the login screen on the game).

Now it's not even giving me the "Oops" anymore; when I click on Wineskin, it's just saying "Wineskin is busy" and hangs there and doesn't do anything else. I don't know what else to do; is there anything I need to do differently?
what exactly are your trying to do? Install the program, or its already installed and you want to run it? Your using the Installer to select an exe if your getting that error message... which doesn't let you do anything but run an installer... you need to go in Advanced to select an EXE for it to run.

What exe file are you trying to run?

If Wineskin is not able to initialize for some reason and gets stick on busy, then something is seriously screwed up in the wrapper and you should probably start with a clean one. If you have the game installed already in an old wrapper, you should just move it over into the new one and not trying to do anything with Installation.
Ensign
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 15
# 66
10-02-2012, 01:16 AM
Thanks a lot for all your help thus far. Yes, it was already installed; I was just trying to run it and get it to work.

I'm trying to run the StarTrekOnline_ST.20.20120705a.11_EN.exe file. I even went into Advanced to select it as my .exe to run it and it still doesn't work.

And yes, I started with a clean Wineskin wrapper. I deleted the old one as it wasn't working anymore since the Mountain Lion 10.8.2 update (I wish I had known about this issue, or I wouldn't have updated it). But even with a new, clean wrapper it still doesn't work.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 152
# 67
10-02-2012, 04:59 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaywest21 View Post
Thanks a lot for all your help thus far. Yes, it was already installed; I was just trying to run it and get it to work.

I'm trying to run the StarTrekOnline_ST.20.20120705a.11_EN.exe file. I even went into Advanced to select it as my .exe to run it and it still doesn't work.

And yes, I started with a clean Wineskin wrapper. I deleted the old one as it wasn't working anymore since the Mountain Lion 10.8.2 update (I wish I had known about this issue, or I wouldn't have updated it). But even with a new, clean wrapper it still doesn't work.
that is the downloader program... not the actual game... your right it doesn't work.

If its already installed there will be an exe file in the Cryptic Studios folder called Star Trek Online.exe which is what needs to be ran. Just make sure the Cryptic Studios folder is inside the wrapper in Program Files, and make sure thats the exe that is selected to run in Advanced Configuration tab. If you don't have the game installed, you need to download the actual full game and not use that downloader program.
Ensign
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
# 68
10-03-2012, 06:21 PM
(I'm Copying and Pasting this here, as I just posted this in the Original Thread about the Wineskin stuff - If anyone could give me a hand, It would mean a lot)

I need a hand, if anyone knows. Obviously, I run STO with Wineskin, and have done for almost a year, after finding this thread. I bought a new iMac three months ago, and had to reinstall it, which was the biggest nightmare i've EVER had - It took me weeks, of pulling me hair out to make it work correctly, or fit my screen, or suit my graphics. But after long enough, i got it to work and whatnot.

ANYWAY, the problem is, just this morning, straight away after clicking the icon on my Dock, after a couple of seconds, a small Error box comes up and states the following:

"Wineskin Error,

ERROR! Launching wineserver failed! No New winserver PID found!"

Can someone help me out? I'ma go nuts without STO, even if it's for a couple days.

Thanks in advance,
Jake.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 152
# 69
10-03-2012, 06:44 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaykehpuppeh View Post
(I'm Copying and Pasting this here, as I just posted this in the Original Thread about the Wineskin stuff - If anyone could give me a hand, It would mean a lot)

I need a hand, if anyone knows. Obviously, I run STO with Wineskin, and have done for almost a year, after finding this thread. I bought a new iMac three months ago, and had to reinstall it, which was the biggest nightmare i've EVER had - It took me weeks, of pulling me hair out to make it work correctly, or fit my screen, or suit my graphics. But after long enough, i got it to work and whatnot.

ANYWAY, the problem is, just this morning, straight away after clicking the icon on my Dock, after a couple of seconds, a small Error box comes up and states the following:

"Wineskin Error,

ERROR! Launching wineserver failed! No New winserver PID found!"

Can someone help me out? I'ma go nuts without STO, even if it's for a couple days.

Thanks in advance,
Jake.
if you have rebooted and it still happens... then you need to go in Wineskin.app to Advanced and use the Test Run button to get logs. That error message itself doesn't tell us why it couldn't start.
Ensign
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 5
# 70 Mountain Lion?
10-04-2012, 11:31 PM
Hey like a lot of people here, I want to thank you for making STO work on OS X. I'm a big Trekkie and a big gamer, and when I decided to switch to Mac I was dismayed that the game didn't run on Mac. I've just got a quick question. I recently upgraded to Mountain Lion and now the game isn't working anymore. This happened earlier when I upgraded to Lion but it worked okay afterwards. This time it wouldn't even turn on anymore. Should it work on ML?
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:01 AM.