Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,763
# 131
11-05-2012, 11:05 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by zer0niusrex View Post
I can't reproduce this, on Holodeck.
Can you give me steps on how to make this happen?

Thanks!
Ok, so, before I go over to school...

1. Create Foundry mission.

2. Create a map, an object, a dialog with at least 2 prompts (or if it doesn't let you select the first prompt of a dialog, which I think it doesn't, then 3 prompts).

3. Try to set the object to appear when both prompts are reached. If I remember correctly, it will CTD the moment you create the second option using "Add Component". If not, it'll CTD somewhere after that, possibly when you try to actually SELECT it.

Could it be possible that it was silently fixed with no patch notes? (or less likely, that I didn't notice it in the patch notes)
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Oh, lovely, I can't even requote the Douglas Adams quote I used to have here I WANT IT BACK!!!!
Dalo Lorn
DaloLorn, StarCraft 2 Roleplayer and proud of it.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 146
# 132
11-05-2012, 11:52 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by levi3 View Post
There is NO major change in the curve until after Tier 3 - then it goes vertical. So reducing 1-3 does not make sense.

"It was a dedicated experiment for me" - true - but under the current system if I was to start over it would take no more than 2 months doing the same - and I barely used the duty packs from the academy - so does not make sense again.

currently common doffs are 1/2 or 1/3 the price on the exchange that they were. Does not make sense to lower.

There was no fleet vendor when I started - now there is - does not make sense to lower.

Doff grinder cost is irrelevent when talking about commons - I did not usde it to upgride to green then down grind to common again - lowering does not make sense again.

Yes embassy is new but my fall back MAIN position:

Given ALL the harder inputs and less outputs of doffs that were availible to me - 1 person - one person - me and only me - numero uno - just 1 and only 1 could complete a TIER 3 t-i-e-r THREE starbase in 3 1/2 months!!

For a "fleet' which usually mean 5+ there is ZERO(no pun intended) that they could not do the same without any doff reductions in the same amout of time!

The system was built off 25 people - so that makes what I was able to accomplish is just over 3 months - PROVE that tier 0-3 is EXTREMELY EASY

Nothing can dispute that given my accomplishment and the data used to construct current starbase requirements.

No reduction below Tier 3 is needed.
dude idk wat u r smokin, my fleet JUST i repeat JUST made T2. and its not just the duty officers that the problem. its the dilithium too. that needs to be reduced or the cap needs to be increased one of the two. since now we have multipule things needing our resources. so YES the reduction was and still is needed to be improved upon.
*Me*Why don't you just step away from the weapons console. You and I both know that you couldn't hit that cube, even if it was right in front of us.
*Junior Tactical Officer* But sir the cube IS right in front of us.
*Me* EXACTLY! Its right in front of us and you still missed it! Just step away from the console.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 198
# 133
11-06-2012, 01:50 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by levi3 View Post
ranting
You sir, are by no means a casual player.

A casual player has one maybe two chars, most likely no cstore purchases besides fluff, and maybe an energy credit balance in the lower seven figures. Hell, I know dedicated players that still struggle with energy credits.

All the things you need to pull of larger starbase inputs are enhancements a casual player won't get. EC cap increase, doff roster increase, more character slots to refine more dilithium per day. Won't happen with a casual player.

From what I could see on tribble most (aka replicator, com array, shipyard and base) upgrade projects stayed exactly the same, 1k xp and buff projects profit from halfed doff costs, operational assets from 'normalizing' doff spec to department (amount stays the same). Equipment provisions stay the same too.

The biggest advantage you now have is that you no longer need to keep track of the various doff specs you get from your recruitments and have to store them somewhere for later use.

It doesn't change that you still pay more for 5 buffs each increasing tier and neither does it change that almost noone requisitions operational assets because of their very very limited use.

It was your choice how you achieved your tier 3 starbase, and it doesn't devaluate your achievement either. If at all it makes it more impressive because you managed it before it became easier.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 151
# 134
11-06-2012, 07:35 AM
You mean no more heart of targ that ive sunk over 30 million into so far for my fleet.

THANK GOD!
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 510
# 135
11-06-2012, 07:40 AM
Quote:
neither does it change that almost noone requisitions operational assets because of their very very limited use.
Actually their quite useful in fleet events. IF you can afford them. I've seen one or two at work to devestating effect. but when it's 60 very spsecific doffs it's just too hard to get enough provishions to justify using them. It's not a total fix we realy need a 1 provishion to 1 doff ratio IMHO, but it's a huge boost.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 198
# 136
11-06-2012, 08:55 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by carl103 View Post
Actually their quite useful in fleet events. IF you can afford them. I've seen one or two at work to devestating effect. but when it's 60 very spsecific doffs it's just too hard to get enough provishions to justify using them. It's not a total fix we realy need a 1 provishion to 1 doff ratio IMHO, but it's a huge boost.
Let's do the math on the reduced military op assets 2:

600 FMs - count them as free for the time being.
120 White Doffs - let's say 15k EC each: 1.8 mil
250 Warp Coils - 200k EC
3.000 Provisions - 225k EC

Gets you 15 Op asset requisitions: ~150k EC per asset

For me 150k EC for a glorified one time use party popper still is too much.
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,763
# 137
11-06-2012, 11:12 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by dalolorn View Post
Ok, so, before I go over to school...

1. Create Foundry mission.

2. Create a map, an object, a dialog with at least 2 prompts (or if it doesn't let you select the first prompt of a dialog, which I think it doesn't, then 3 prompts).

3. Try to set the object to appear when both prompts are reached. If I remember correctly, it will CTD the moment you create the second option using "Add Component". If not, it'll CTD somewhere after that, possibly when you try to actually SELECT it.

Could it be possible that it was silently fixed with no patch notes? (or less likely, that I didn't notice it in the patch notes)
New issue I found: When making assignments spread throughout multiple Cryptic maps, the story refuses to progress unless I reset the map. Clearly, this is not an option outside Foundry testing, and my new KDF mission has been damaged by it.

Name: A Rescue in Time
ID: Don't know. I don't read the IDs
Review count: 0. It hasn't been completed by anybody, and I had to skip through that section of the mission due to the fact that I can't seem to warp through places. Meaning I'm stuck on Qo'noS.
Faction: KDF, as evidenced by above statement.

How to reproduce: Make several mission objectives throughout multiple Cryptic (social zone) maps. In my case, the original mission had you at Klingon Academy (moved to First City forge), then at First City - the council chamber, and finally on Drozana. While the updated version lets you progress as far as Drozana, the dialogue with Garlianto freezes the story.

Please don't tell me I have to move the whole thing to First City
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Oh, lovely, I can't even requote the Douglas Adams quote I used to have here I WANT IT BACK!!!!
Dalo Lorn
DaloLorn, StarCraft 2 Roleplayer and proud of it.
Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 379
So here's my suggestion - I think that if you are going to charge dilithium for the general recruitment at Starfleet Academy, then when a fleet enables the Personnel Officer for their starbase, they should be able to do the general recruitment from there for free.

If you enable the bartender on your starbase, then their menu should reflect the items that fleet members are able to replicate - for instance, if someone has a Cardassian bartender, the starbase bartender should be able to replicate Cardassian Kanar. Same with the Chef. At the very least, make the inputs as upgrades - so I could donate my Cardassian Chef to the starbase, and our starbase Chef then could replicate Cardassian Tasper Eggs for anyone in the fleet.

Same general theory for any of the other "special" officers - make it worthwhile to enable these things on the base.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Vice Admiral Moogie, U.S.S. Acquisition
Rule of Acquisition #57: Good customers are as rare as latinum. Treasure them.

Last edited by blackjackwidow; 11-07-2012 at 10:41 AM. Reason: corrected confusing mistypes of chef/bartender
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 510
# 139
11-06-2012, 02:14 PM
Quote:
For me 150k EC for a glorified one time use party popper still is too much.
Since their not glorified party poppers thats not actually too horribad. it's still way lower than i'd like as you just can't aquirre them anywhere enar as fast as your fleet is going to use them if they make serious use of them, (20hr missions and all that), but it's not an actually bad cost, even if i'd be happy to see it markedly lowred.
Cryptic Studios Team
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 347
# 140
11-06-2012, 02:53 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by dalolorn View Post
Name: A Rescue in Time
ID: Don't know. I don't read the IDs
Review count: 0. It hasn't been completed by anybody, and I had to skip through that section of the mission due to the fact that I can't seem to warp through places. Meaning I'm stuck on Qo'noS.
Faction: KDF, as evidenced by above statement.
Without the ID, we'll be unable to investigate this.

As to the other issue you reported, it doesn't occur for me. I did have a few patch notes for Foundry fixes on Tribble.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:00 PM.